We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat and more Meat”
Review of Karoo Cattle and Land - CLOSED

Karoo Cattle and Land
Cuisines: African
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Meat and more Meat”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Typical to South Africa, real good lamb chops and steaks are served here. Location is good with plenty parking. Has a real south africa feel and try the deserts the milk tart and mava pudding is delicious and proudly south africa.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yugz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    17
    14
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, huge servings and excellent taste”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have visited this restaurant many times and each time have experienced excellent service and food. The servings are generous and well plated. The atmosphere is also great - soft unobtrusive music. Definitely value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorna_gibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Food and service was as expected. Food didn't take much time to show up. Medium rare was actually medium rare. Ambience was nice. I'm glad we went there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adnan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shocking Advertising!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Karroo Cattle and Land have a "Buy 1 get 1 Free" special on Mondays, between 12 and 5. The blackboard at the entrance to the restaurant advertises this special all day on Monday's, except the time it is valid is written so small one would never notice it unless you really looking for it. It is also not clearly written, off to the side and slanted. Because of this, myself and friends were tricked into going to this restaurant for dinner on the 2 September 2013. We had only been informed that the special was no longer available after we have ordered drinks and starters.

We debated amongst ourselves if we should stay or go eat somewhere else as the person who saw the special couldn't remember seeing the time specification on the signs, when he went outside to check, he came back and told us of the extremely small writing and also that the sign was still outside, even though the special could not be redeemed anymore.

I am all for businesses to use advertising to their advantage but this method seems extremely dishonest. Why is the time specification so very small? Why is the sign still outside when the special is over? So that people will come in and be too embarrassed to leave when they realised they made a mistake and end up eating at the restaurant anyways.

We chose to leave the restaurant as we all felt that we had been tricked into dining there. When we told our waitress we would like our bill and that we were leaving as we came specifically for the special, her response was to scream at us “Are you serious!” The manager also had a comment on our way out, choosing to ask us in passing “how come you leaving?”

We may have felt slightly uncomfortable leaving at first but after we received these responses by the staff we were all extremely happy that we chose not to support such dishonest people.

Karroo Cattle and Land, you should really use more honest advertising methods as the shady one you currently employ does not only leave a bitter taste in your patrons mouths but not a single one of us will ever support your business and we all will be telling as many people as we can.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyTravelBugSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We went to Karoo Cattle and Land in Fourways for dinner last night, the food was very good, and the service was excellent! My husband's Salmon was very dry at first, but when we told the manager, he immediately removed the plate, and very quickly brought another, perfectly cooked serving of Salmon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMM0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karoo Cattle and Land also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing