We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Lunch”

KCC - La Vie en Rose
Ranked #10 of 54 Coffee & Tea in Johannesburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful Lunch”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

An intimate tranquil venue set in Illovo. Safe parking. Friendly welcome received and warm hospitality extended throughout our lunch by all staff. While we were pondering what to try from the intriguing menu, we were served a board of tasteful assorted breads, dips and olives. Karen, our wonderful waitress, recommended great choices for our lunch - my "Chic" pasta dish, a mix of penne & wild mushrooms pan-fried in garlic & crème fraiche with crushed walnuts was perfectly prepared and well seasoned. My friend's "Fame" salad was a generous portion of chicken breast with crunchy green broccoli & corn kernels on greens with marinated artichokes, rosa tomatoes, mixed seeds & dried cranberries. We chose to round off our meal with 2 medium freshly baked scones with preserves and cream (well worth the 20 minute wait as they are baked from scratch). Looking forward to working my way through their breakfast, lunch and dinner menus!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finesse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    14
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for a kitchen tea”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hidden gem! La Vie en Rose is perfect for a kitchen tea, bachelorette party, birthday party, special event etc (definitely geared towards the ladies). The outdoor seating area is a beautiful garden and very picturesque. If you are having an event here, I would recommend requesting the upper-patio area because it is a bit more private and the noise level is lower. We hosted my cousin's kitchen tea here and had a spread of delicious tea, coffee, hors d'oeuvres, & desserts. Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabriellamelnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
178 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great venue for girls-night-out, romantic evenings, bachelorettes”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What an experience. Quite unique, very 'girly' with pink everywhere. Great for bachelorette parties. Menu: very unique selection, from the cocktails to the main-course and desserts. Everything has a feminine twist. Service was excellent, waitrons were properly trained and knowledgeable, with Miles the manager being very attentive and accommodating. First time ever I've seen a tuna burger on a menu, and had to have it, turned out great. Wild mushroom pasta was equally amazing. Dessert: "Careless Love", as suggested by Miles, was one of the best desserts I've ever had - Toblerone chocolate wrapped in phyllo pastry!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JacquesMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great that they now offer supper!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great venue with nice outside and inside areas in the heart of Illovo. Recently started offering evening meals.

Simple but good menu. Service good, warm and friendly.

Very safe parking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisvz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great setting, middling food”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

La Vie En Rose, situated in a converted garden in leafy Hyde Park makes for an incredibly romantic setting. The outdoor area is beautiful - rose gardens and leafy paths and beautiful table settings. We went for Valentine's Night and with live music, soft lighting and a glass of wine, it truly was a perfect setting.

The food was also very good, mostly. The starters and main meals were tasty and well prepared, although the dessert of deep-fried Oreos was somewhat incongruous with the setting and the rest of the meal.

So why the middling score? La Vie En Rose is expensive, and the food, while nice, isn't amazing. Our Valentine's Dinner was R1500 all-in, which even considering the usual Valentine's evening price gouging, is firmly in gourmet food territory. While you could debate the value with the live entertainment, in terms of value for money, you can probably do better.

Having not gone in the day, I can't speak for this, but it seems like a great place for a light lunch or a cappuccino with friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kousies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KCC - La Vie en Rose also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to KCC - La Vie en Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing