We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Outing for Kids”

Sci-Bono Discovery Centre
Ranked #17 of 174 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Outing for Kids”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Informative and user friendly. If you want a day out with kids then look no further that this. Ample parking and secure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    101
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun in Jozi”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Even if you don't have any kids of your own, I suggest you offer to baby-sit your friends kids for the day, or even go on your own. What a fun day to spend in the middle of Jozi. Diarise an entire day as a few hours does not suffice. The centre is filled with interactive displays involving hands-on Science. What better way to learn, then to do! Don't be mistaken into thinking Sci-Bono is only for children, as you will be transported back to your childhood of learning and discovering.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johberg_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“A very worthwhile outing”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I was a bit wary of taking my 4 year old (just turned 4) expecting he might be too young. I was a bit underwhelmed at first, there didn't seem to be too much on offer.
However once you start going around and trying out all the displays and reading about the science behind what is going on it is really interesting.
We ended up spending 4 hours walking around and still didn't get to try all the stations. (Dad felt very stupid and will have to brush up on science and maths)
It was a lot of fun and we intend on going back soon to see the things we missed and probably revisit everything else.

The entrance fee for the two of us was R55 ($5). The food is nothing fantastic but the prices are reasonable - R30 ($3) for a hot dog or hamburger.

My GPS took me through Joburg city centre, which I wouldn't recommend unless you know the city or are with a guide. Rather use the highway and come off near Newtown. If you like beer then the SAB world of beer is right next door and definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Cheekywena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you have an afternoon to fill with kids in Joburg, then this is a great option. Definitely plan on the interactive shows in the auditorium (attend multiple). Quality time together is the key here. You will get to experience learning together while laughing and learning.

So that you are aware of the staff...we lost our iPhone while here and the staff looked for it for over an hour (we had given up). Someone found it and they called us to the desk to get it. Amazing really. We were only using it as a camera since it had no signal (not using Int'l roaming).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank InternationalCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Educational fun”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

An excelent outing for primary and high school kids. A very good way of having fun and learning at the same time. Also for parents an oportunity to review known facts and to guide the children in their discovery. It's a cheap outing that will keep the whole family occupied for a long time. Start your day early and also discover the long forgotten city of Johannesburg. Parking is secure and the place is neat. You can also combine the visit with the JHB sightseeing bus. Fee for a family of four = R 110 (cheapper than a movie and popcorn outing). Great for grandparents outing with the granchildren. Lots of easy ramps to move around and lifts. They also have seasonal themes so check on the website to see what is going on to have the most of it. We attended the Shark show and the Science show.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvitaP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sci-Bono Discovery Centre also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sci-Bono Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing