We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat with your hands”

Fong Mei Restaurant
Ranked #542 of 1,184 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eat with your hands”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Food was ok, needed salt. Got no serviettes nor anything to eat my food with (since I am staying in a hotel which doesn't have a restaurant). Literally just the box with food (portion was slightly small)

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller98125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“delicious authentic asian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Looking for good quality authentic chinese? Found it! Everything is well prepared and well presented. They take much pride in their restaurant. When westerner patrons are out numbered by locals, then you know thst you are at the right place. Our waitress speak limited english, but we managed to understand each other. Tip! The soup comes in a big bowl and to be shared among 4x people easily. We also enjoyed crisp vegetarian springrolls. Not oily and 3x for R21. Peking duck, crispy beef and black peppered steak was also delicious. They bring fruit for a pallette cleanser end of evening.
We visited the branch at rivonia boulevard. The menu is diverse and there is sure to be something for everyones taste

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarikavanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fong Mei in Rivonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent Chinese meal at Fong Mei, in Rivonia, Sandton, on Friday night. Excellent food, good and fast service and a great ambience. It is not quite the same as Cyrildene in it's surroundings but the food was on a par, if not better. Try the Crispy Beef, the Sweet and Sour Soup and the Sizzling Prawns and Chicken. The Bow Ties with the Green Tea were large and delicious. We shall go back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie-Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese/Mandarin Food at last!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

A wonderful experience of the genuine thing!! Even the bill was written in Mandarin!!

The food tasty, well prepared and more than sufficient!! Not the normal small little bowls we get elsewhere. We where too full for dessert!!

The menu has a large variety and we will be back to try the other dishes.

A definite recommendation, do not let the area put you off!! It adds to the experience and we felt safe the whole time.

A word of warning - watch out for the offer a Chinese Rum/Brandy - it is a mule in liquid form that kicks!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisvz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of Johannesburg's best kept secrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have been coming to Fong Mei for the better part of 8 years and will continue to do so. The Crispy Beef, sizzling chicken with Chinese sauce, sizzling beef with pepper sauce and salt & pepper calamari are firm favorites. We are always made to feel welcome by Lu and his daughter Fiona when she is there.

The restaurant is small with only 6 or 7 tables so booking is essential!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohannesburgBretski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fong Mei Restaurant also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fong Mei Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing