We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fine dining experience in Africa!”
Review of Five Hundred - CLOSED

Five Hundred
Price range: US$85 - US$450
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The ultimate in experiential dining, five hundred celebrates the synergy between food, wine and art.
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best fine dining experience in Africa!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have dined at all the famous gourmet restaurants in South Africa, but NOTHING can come close to Five Hundred at the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa! David Higgs has finally found the perfect place for his signature restaurant and the result is absolutely fabulous!

The restaurant is "city elegant" and intimate with only 8 tables and a chef's table. The culinary art is created of only the freshest produce, with most vegetables and herbs harvested the same day from the roof top garden of the hotel. The wine list is thick as a bible with wines from all over the world and in all price categories. And when it comes to the food - ahhh, there is just nothing like it! Taste, texture and presentation is world class, and when Guide Michelin finally arrives in Africa in 2015 this will be well appreciated. We enjoyed the six course tasting menu with matching wines by the glass, and will never forget the divine ”Ndabele salmon, sour cream, asietra caviar”, ”The quail circle of life” and ”Lychee and liquorice macaroon massacre” among other lovely dishes. Price for the six course menu with matching wines is R1550. Service is also absolute first class, which is not always the case in South Africa. The attention to detail is unique, such as a small pedestal for my handbag and a tray full of reading glasses of different strength.

This is the perfect place for a romantic gourmet experience for you and your loved one!
Bravo, David and staff!! Keep up the excellent work!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamiraWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    21
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Five Hundred is one to add to the Bucket List.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I first experienced Five Hundred in September 2013, for our 5 year wedding anniversary. I booked our table a couple of weeks in advance, mentioning that we were celebrating our anniversary.

On arrival, we were personally escorted to our table by the hostess, Memory, and we were presented with a gorgeous bouquet of flowers, including South Africa's national flower, the Protea as well as a card, wishing us well on our anniversary. Such a wonderful surprise!

What followed was an experience I will never forget. We opted for the 4 course with wine paring and we were treated to dishes and wines that completely blew our minds. The flavours, the combinations, the innovative use of textures and tastes, together with the perfectly paired local and international wines, presented to us by sommelier extraordinaire, Lloyd. Every bite, sip and scent blew us away.

One of the highlights of the evening was the personal chat we had with Executive Chef David Higgs, where we talked about the licorice macaron desert and the restaurant in general.

I cannot recommend the Five Hundred enough. As a local, it must be experienced and as a tourist, it MUST be added to the list of things to do in Johannesburg.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Service, sommelier, ambiance”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I love this place. From the moment you drive into the gates at Saxon you feel special. In May I had dinner at 500 twice ( it is my 4 th visit to 500). The first night there was a problem as we were not placed at the chefs table despite written confirmation of this but we had a pleasant evening nonetheless. The second evening was great. The sommelier needs special mention as he is absolutely brilliant. The service was very attentive and the ambiance always good. I am a big David Higgs fan but have to admit that the food was not as good as previous seasons. However, can promise that I will be back there soon. It's one of those things... If you like a place you'll just always go back.....

Helpful?
1 Thank Reenwoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most amazing fine dining”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a six course meal paired with the most wonderful wines. Service was excellent, decor classy and very private. Excellent place to have a romantic dinner or to really impress your business clients.

Just be warned, book at least two months in advance and make sure your wallet it fat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saonainai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best meal in Johannesburg!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We enjoyed the 6 course menu and it was superb. The staff were very talented and passionate about their food and described each course. The wine waiter was very knowledgeable and had great recommendations. I cant say enough about the food quality, it was simply divine!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ukmorrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Hundred also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing