We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming, safe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malandela Guest Manor
Ranked #28 of 296 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Warm, welcoming, safe”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

When my sister and I (both in our early 20s) decided to travel to South Africa from Vancouver, Canada for adventure, almost everyone we told advised us against it because of its dangerous reputation. Our experience at Malandela was one that we will never forget. We arrived at Malandela after our Kruger Safari when our original hotel we had booked with told us they had no rooms available. With little knowledge of the surrounding area and how we were to get dinner, Marina and her husband went over the top to make us feel comfortable and safe. They invited us into their living room to watch a Springboks rugby match and later Marina drove us to a restaurant so we could grab a bite to eat. We had to fly out at 7am the following morning and just as we were packing up to leave Marina brought a tray of biscuits and tea to our room so we wouldn't be hungry for our flight. We were extremely touched by the family's story, how welcome we felt and their generosity. They went above and beyond and when we go back to South Africa we will book directly with Malandela.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    21
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
31
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After an 18 hour flight, a 3 hour delay at the airport, and then no rooms at the place we had reservation, we were located to Malandela! I'm so glad we were. Marina is an amazing woman with a heart for hospitality. She and her husband went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and rested. The accommodations were beautiful and inviting. She was not expecting us for dinner (11 of us), but ran into the kitchen to put something "together quickly" and she provided an amazing feast of lasagna, salad, and sides as well as ice cream for dessert! For this weary traveler, this was just what we needed. Everything about our stay was perfect and we were so grateful for the care and hospitality we received down to her making sure our bus arrived on time to get us to the airport the next morning!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a 14 hour flight from the U.S. to South Africa, Malandela manor is just what I needed to relax and wind down! The charming and inviting feel made it seem more like coming to a second home rather than a hotel. The owners are lovely and so hospitable and the rooms were so nice. The food was excellent as well as my overall all stay. I hope to visit Africa again along with the malandela manor!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A welcome clean friendly and reasonable lodge very well positioned for OR Tambo .
Swimming Pool food and very friendly staff help make this a desirable destination!
Marina and her husband and staff were extremely helpful in attending to my every need in preparing my vehicle and equipment for the forthcoming overland tour. especially lizzie in the kitchen...wow....

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very good. A weekend local wedding party was being celebrated whilst I was there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topnotchted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Me and my son stay in this beautiful accomodation twice . The owners are very friendly and helpfull. We stayed here because our booked place was full. Afterall we are lucky to stay in this place and i will come back and is highly recommended. Also very close to OR Tambo int Airport.
Thanks to Marina who is a wonderfull host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After being delayed in 2 other accommodation places we were relocated to this beautiful haven in the back blocks of JBurg. Totally safe, beautiful gardens and decor and homely welcoming accommodation. Well worth our wait. The most friendly hosts and owners plus their pets. Highly recommended. 4 Aussies

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie9591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ok, here is the truth, it is far from the center. But the more important truth is that Marina is the best host you could get in South Africa. I have not met such a helpful amazing woman, and i have traveled a lot! This guesthouse is actually the home of Marina and her family, and they host you in one of the few rooms they have here. They make you feel home, they worry about you and make sure to satisfy all the needs you have, they make phones to arrange staff related to your visit, they transport you from one place to another, they bring milk if you ask for it, or take you to buy food if you don't have the power for dining outside, whatever you want they will arrange for you! In this large house, you can find several corners, such as a billiard room, kitchen, big garden with places to sit and have coffee or just read a book, there is even a large swimming pool. In summary, it is a peaceful nice place.So, if you have a car, there is absolutely not issue in picking Marina's place as the place to stay around JNB, however, if you depend on public transportation, then Marina or her husband, or their sun will be happy to drop you off at the train station/ airport or anywhere else. I highly recommend this place as the service here is exquisite and you won't gonna get such service anywhere else in JNB.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rehber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
3.2 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,346 reviews
4.1 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
19.2 mi away
Villa Schreiner
Villa Schreiner
#38 of 296 in Johannesburg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
House on York
House on York
#46 of 296 in Johannesburg
70 reviews
18.6 mi away
Grand View B&B
Grand View B&B
#172 of 296 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
18.5 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 296 in Johannesburg
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malandela Guest Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malandela Guest Manor

Property: Malandela Guest Manor
Address: 177, East Road, Brentwood Park, Johannesburg 1630, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 296 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Malandela Guest Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Malandela Guest Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing