We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food”
Review of Giovanni Pane Vino - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Giovanni Pane Vino
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“delicious food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

very generous and delicious portions. great pizza and pasta. at lunch time they have half time lunch time specials with a free glass of wine.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank abobrinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After an afternoon spent exploring Cyrildene, we popped into Norwood for some sushi. In the end though, after taking a stroll up and down Grant avenue, we decided to check out Giovanni Pane Vino, because the pavement seating and quaint, almost rundown charm appealed to us. We were glad to have done so.

The service from our waiter ranks among the best we've ever had, 5-star dining experiences included. He was attentive, unobtrusive and consummately professional. He attended on us with a sort of experience, passion and diligence that we seldom see.

The food was great as well. We ended up having pizzas, and they were great: thin, crispy base, with quality mozzarella and fresh toppings. Nothing tasted tinned, which is rare. The vegetables were expertly cooked (so often, vegetable toppings on pizzas are outright overcooked) and the meat (chicken in my case) was deliciously tender. The balance of toppings was also excellent - they didn't overwhelm or dominate the taste in any way.

An entirely unexpected, but surprising find.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kousies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A firm favourite”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Mounds of great-tasting food with good value-for-money, in an intimate atmosphere. We go back again and again, taking all our visiting family and friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FellsideTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I often go back to this restaurant for good pizzas and pasta. The pastas are huge (easily enough for two people) and served in a pan from which you spoon onto your plate yourself, so it is ideal for sharing. Their pizzas and salads are also tops.

The service is always average (not great, but adequate). The decor and atmosphere is below par, but the food is more than capable of making up for that.

I'd recommend it if you're hungry and want some good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food most of the time”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Pastas are generally served in pans and are easily enough for two people which makes them very good value for money.

Pizzas are a bit hit and miss - sometimes they are simply the best but on other occasions quite poor. I think you need to be lucky as to who is on pizza duty.

I keep going back so that says enough :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni Pane Vino also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing