We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite coffee spot to get work done from”

MOTHERLAND Coffee Co.
Ranked #13 of 41 Coffee & Tea in Johannesburg
Restaurant details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My favourite coffee spot to get work done from”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I own and run my own business, so I frequently pop up and work from coffee shops, and among them all, Motherland at Rosebank is my favourite. The vibe and atmosphere is fantastic whether you're looking to get work done or to meet clients for a brainstorm or status update. Free wifi is a winner. Their coffee is great, but they also make a mean kiwi and apple smoothie in summer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place to chill for hot beverages.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I absolutely love the white hot chocolate. Always done just right. Our entire department loves your menu :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarrysM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good coffee and great sandwiches”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly service with great tasting coffee. Get a sandwich to accompany your coffee. Interesting and tasty choices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Park
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best coffee in joburg”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I am a regular at the Dunkeld branch. The baristas are excellent: great coffee and very friendly. The cafe has a great vibe, deservedly busy, always a good tune playing and there are plenty of options for non coffee drinkers (drinks or eats). I have to disagree that this is South Africa's take on Starbucks.... The coffee and atmosphere is way way better. Coffee lovers must visit: along with bean there coffee (at 44SA), perhaps the best coffee in joburg.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teirrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“great little coffee shop”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

just around the corner from the Hyatt, great spot to have a coffee and talk with friends. Great selection of small cakes and snacks, coffee has always been good

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Good_time_Ahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MOTHERLAND Coffee Co. also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Greater Johannesburg, Gauteng
 

Been to MOTHERLAND Coffee Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing