We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and bad attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Court Milpark
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We booked into the hotel as part of a wedding group (including the bride and groom) The bride, my sister, went to see the hotel a few days before the wedding to confirm arrangements. She returned disappointed with the attitude and outdated look but as it was close to the date, could not find other accommodation for a large party at short notice. My husband and I took it upon ourselves to make the best of the situation and arranged for the bridal room to be made up. Management had the best intentions and gladly assisted with this request, for which we are grateful, but sadly the check in staff were not briefed and the couple got checked into an ordinary room and never got to see the effort.

The rooms and passages smelt of smoke. We woke up on Sunday morning to the noise of cunstruction work on the floor above us. Breakfast was disasterous as we had to wait in line over 30 min to get served. The noise levels in the breakfast room was deafening. Staff were rude and we witnessed cleaning staff stretching over customers to clean up and grabbing food by hand, with no gloves on.

The festive attitude of the wedding party was ruined and we all left the hotel feeling very disappointed. We made our feelings clear to management hoping they could salvage the situation but received a half-hearted disinterested response.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear JacquiNV,

Thank you for assisting your sister in choosing to stay at our hotel on their honeymoon as well as some of the wedding guests due to the proximity to the wedding venue. Thank you also for taking the time to do a review of your experience at the hotel on TripAdvisor. All feedback is most welcomed and valued.

In regards to your valuable comments, we would like to give you some feedback in return, if we may. Please rest assured that customer feedback is the corner stone of our business and a critical part of our industry therefore we have gone to great lengths to ensure that we encoutrage and facilitate as much guest feedback as possible through all relevant avenues available to us, including our own Electrnic Guest Survey, TripAdvisor and others, without imposition or being a burden to our valued guest, as such, the following-up process and replying to all feedback consistantly, sincerely and genuinely to all our valued guests are just as important to our business as receiving the feedback. We regret that you found our reply to be 'half hearted' and apologies if we created this unintended and inaccurate impression.
As per our various communcations with Adrian, both face to face during the weekend and via email afterwards, we are most disappointed and regretful indeed that all the efforts that our team put in to create a special experience for the Groom and Bride, which was intiated once I had a conversation with a colleague who is also friends of the bridal party, did have the desired and intended effect as a result of a technical glitch on our room system that resulted in their assigned and beautifully prepared room being disallocated on their reservation and became available for reallocation to other guests. Furthermore, we would have gladly correct this regrettable system error should we have known what had happened at the time given the late arrival of the bride and groom, however the other guest in the 'Bridal Room' regretfully did not inform us that it semmed they were in a room that was clearly set-up for someone else, especially given the personal welcome letter from myself, with the Bride and Groom's name on it.

As for the breakfast issues, over weekends we do have a high numbers of leisure guests inhouse and therefore most come down for breakfast from 10h00 onwards, more or less at the same time, therefore the breakfast room becomes extremely busy over that time resulting in some queues, especially at the hot buffet (Fried eggs and Omelettes) and at the doors depending on the availability of free tables, from time to time. Please rest assured also that all of your feedback above has been thuroughly investigated by Senior Management, through interviews and reviewing camera footage, with corrective action taken and implemented where appropriate.

We once again do apologies for any shortcomings and inconvenience caused, especially for having created an unfavourable impression of our hotel to you and your bridal party.

We will be operating our newly refurbished rooms as of mid July 2013 through to mid December 2013 and truly hope that you will afford us another opportunity to make amends and demonstrate the true Garden Court hospitalily and great experience to you.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support, which is always greatly.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

Don't you hate it when you aren't informed when you make your reservation that the hotel is undergoing major renovation, and that there'll be jackhammers two floors above you rattling away from 8:30am until 6pm every day? That the wifi isn't working in the rooms as a result?
The reception staff are really pleasant, the breakfast waiting staff, enthusiastic, and the security staff, very helpful. But living through the dust, noise, crashing of demolition materials below your window, and inconvenience of renovation shouldn't be the chore of your guests. This will go on from April to December 2013. Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere during this period. Your money is best spent elsewhere for now.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear KarenB77,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated and so is your feedback which is also most welcomed and valued.

We are very disappointed to read your comment about the inconvenienced caused as a result of our refurbishment project that is currently underway at the property as part of our ongoing quest to constantly strive to create great experiences for our valued guest. We regret and apologise if you were not told about the current refurbishment project at the hotel whe you made your reservation as we did take great care to deciminate this important information through all our booking channels which includes our website. travel partners and the various posters displayed at strategic locations at the hotel itself, which mentions the following:
"We begin an exciting refurbishment project from April 2013 to bring a fresh urban renewal to
Garden Court Milpark. All bedrooms, corridors and lift lobbies will have a complete makeover creating the feel of city loft living depicted by bold graphic elements and strong geometric patterns. We invite you to rediscover a relaxed space in the vibrant city of Johannesburg.
Completion expected by December 2013.
We apologize for any inconvenience that may be caused during our refurbishment programme.
We assure you of our commitment to do our utmost to keep the impact to a minimum and therefore have planned for most of the work to be carried out between 09h00 and 15h30 weekdays"

Please rest reassured of our continued commitment to do our utmost to keep the impact to a minimum, where ever at all possible and hence the time limitation on our contractors to carry out work that may have a certain amount of noise associated with them during times when most, if not all, our guests are normally out of the property and conducting their business.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which is always greatly valued.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future, for a much better and improved experience.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

PROS: Very friendly staff, pleasant rooms

CONS: Room service was revolting - cold, raw, bleeding chicken served. While the management apologised and offered to substitute the meal, by then it was too late and I didn't want to risk anything else out of that kitchen. Ruined the entire stay for me. I won't be back.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Tony L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated and so is your feedback which is also most welcomed and valued.

We are very disappointed to read your comment about the chicken that was not cooked properly and regret most sincerely that this was indeed served to you by MacRib, our Outsourced Restaurant Operator. I will personally be taking this up with the Owner/Manager as it is unacceptable to us and will be take up on teh strongest term possible with them in order to avoid a reoccurence of teh same in the future.

Please rest assured that what you have experienced is most definitely a regrettable isolated incident and not the usual high standard of Garden Court Hotels and specifically this hotel, which our valued guests such as yourself, as a Frequent Guest member, are acustomed to.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which is always greatly valued and we truly hope that you will afford us an apportunity to make amends and reconsider your comment about 'not being back' based on the 'pros' that you mentioned (very friendly staff and pleasant rooms). We therefore do look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future, for a much better and improved experience.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

What a pleasure staying at this hotel. The staff are fantastic. I have stayed at this hotel for a number of years. The revamp was much appreciated but a bit more could/should be done with the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Chris F,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is also most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you found The Garden Court Milpark staff to be fantastic. We have shared these encouraging and motivating feedback with them for which they were truly grateful and very happy about.

We thank you once again for your ongoing patronage and support, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Milpark Garden Court is truly a Home away from home. The staff are extremely friendly and professional. Their attention to detail is commendable. Their consistent familiarity during welcoming of past patrons demonstrates their hospitality.
The Milpark used to in the not too distant past cater for its extensive muslim clientele by having a halaal-friendly breakfast buffet. This has recently been changed - a fact for which i am quite disappointed (I have raised this with management and requested they review their decision).
The Milpark is quite centrally situated with easy access to the major highways leading to the North and South of Johannesburg as well as a very accessible route into the CBD.

Room Tip: Ice machines are located on 2nd and 5th floor. Some Corner suites do not have inter-locking rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FErnestCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear FErnest,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is also most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that The Garden Court Milpark is truly a Home away from home, that you find the staff to be extremely friendly and professional, as well as their attention to detail is commendable and their consistent familiarity during welcoming of past patrons demonstrates their hospitality in your opinion. We have shared these encouraging and motivating feedback with them for which they were truly grateful and very happy about.

As for the comment about having a halaal-friendly breakfast buffet, as per our conversation during your last stay, we do have a halaal-friendly breakfast buffet on Saturdays and Sundays to cater for our leisure clientele over this period. At the begining of the year we did try-out this buffet during the week, however as the majority of our guests over this period are Corporates, there were not much take-up for it and it was therefore stopped in April 2012.

We thank you once again for your ongoing patronage and support, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

I am currently staying at this hotel as part of a corporate group booking. A good number of us (over fourty of us) were checked into the hotel's smoking rooms by default, I had to specifically request a non-smoking room.

The bed spread had a huge stain on it and the throw on the bed was worn. The room is a bit dated. At least the latest Dstv channels are available.

The Macrib on the ground floor is terrible with service non existing. Our waitress was unfriendly, as if we were inconveniencing her by eating there.

Overall very disappointing!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinK2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear Mkoeleman7,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly valued as it assist us to constant improve our product and service delivery to our guests.

I was most disappointed to read about your experience and apologise most sincerely for us having create an unfavourable impression of our hotel. I have personally investigated your comments with the relevant management of staff at the hotel and please rest assured that corrective action has been taken where appropriate as to ensure that a re-occurance of the same is avoided where at all possible. It would seem that at the time of reservation, there were no request made for non-smoking rooms and therefore smoking rooms were allocated based on availability. We have since rectified that with the relevant bookers and have made a note in the system to ensure that it does not occur again. I was also disappointed to hear of the damaged and dirty bedspread in your room, which is unacceptable and should not have happened at all. However, it is with great pleasure that I inform you of our refurbishment which is planned for warly 2013 where all our bedrooms, bathrooms and corridors will be totally renovated, including both 'softs' (bedspread, carpets, curtains and so on) and furniture in the bedrooms.

I have also discuss your experience at the MacRib Restaurant with the owner (as it is operated and managed by an outsourced company) who has also taken the appropriate corrective action. It is desappointing that you had to experience unfriendly and disinterested service from MacRib as generally service is very friendly and of a good quality.

Please rest assured that what you have experienced is definitely regrettable and isolated shortcoming and not the usual standard of Garden Court Hotels and this hotel, which our valued guests are acustomed to.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I checked into Garden Court Milpark on Friday 5/10/12 at 15h00 - my room was not available as it had not been cleaned. On Saturday morning I called reception and spoke to Christine to extend my stay to include Sunday night. I went down to reception to confirm it with Christine and Thato. On Monday morning at about 00h45 in the morning 2 men entered our room - they had apparently knocked but we were fast asleep. We woke up to be confronted by a security guard and another man IN OUR BEDROOM. We tried to remain calm and were informed that they were just checking if the room was occupied. For obvious reasons we did not sleep for the rest of the night - reception also did not answer their phones for me to find out what had happened. The next morning I informed the duty manager who informed me that the night staff did not know if the room was booked or not and that they then went together with a security guard to check if there were people in the room. (Why they did not register my extension or call on the phone or come and check at an earlier time I am not sure) I find this very scary and unsettling and together with the area in which Milpark Garden Court is situated I will really think twice before going there again - If you check my previous bookings you would see that in the past I have preferred to stay in this hotel as it is so central but I will think twice from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afrroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Dear afrroots,

Thank you most sincerely for your previous patronage of our hotel taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is always welcomed and greatly valued as it assist us to constant improve our product and service delivery to our guests.

I was most disappointed to read about your experience and apologise most sincerely for us having create an unfavourable impression of our hotel. I have personally investigated your comments with the relevant management of staff at the hotel and please rest assured that corrective action has been taken where appropriate as to ensure that a re-occurance of the same is avoided where at all possible.

It is with great pleasure that I inform you of our refurbishment which is planned for warly 2013 where all our bedrooms, bathrooms and corridors will be totally renovated, including both 'softs' (bedspread, carpets, curtains and so on) and furniture in the bedrooms.

Please rest assured that what you have experienced is definitely regrettable and isolated shortcomings and not the usual standard of Garden Court Hotels and this hotel, which our valued guests are acustomed to.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
450 reviews
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
5.6 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Milpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Milpark

Address: Cnr Empire Road and Owl Street | Auckland Park, Johannesburg 2006, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#14 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Milpark 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both business and leisure travel the Garden Court Milpark Hotel is conveniently situated near the Johannesburg CBD. It offers everything that travellers expect from Garden Court hotels as well as that something extra that makes guests return time and again. Free High Speed WiFi Internet for Hotel Residents capped at 350MB per room, per day. In addition, it is the ideal destination for visitors needing access to the Universities of Witwatersrand (Wits) and Johannesburg (UJ) or the Netcare Milpark Hospital as well as the internationally renowned shopping complexes in Parktown, Rosebank and Sandton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Milpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Milpark Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing