We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT AND CLOSE TO CENTRAL JOBURG”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Milpark
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kadoma, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT AND CLOSE TO CENTRAL JOBURG”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was at this hotel towards end of June and lovely is what it is....

The reception was excellent despite the construction taking place then.

The room was spacious and well air conditioned. The food and drinks were exceptional.

The shuttle cabbies to other restaurants and clubs were quite cooperative.

The only down side was the business centre with ridiculously priced with complicated pcs.

Their major strength is in their staff!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clement263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Clement263,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg in June and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you enjoy the location and overall services and found the reception excellent despite the construction taking place then, the room spacious and well air conditioned, the food and drinks exceptional and the shuttle cabbies to other restaurants and clubs to be quite cooperative.
We thank you for your patience and understanding during our refurbishment and improvement project, we promise it will be all worth it when completed in December 2013.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    122
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
69
41
14
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Even though construction work taking place at the entrance there was no disruption to check in - hotel good value for money - nice breakfast -lovely room. Staff friendly Close to all major shopping centers in Joburg. Parking across the way - safe and reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charms-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Charms-11,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you enjoy the services, lovely room. the breakfast and location of the Garden Court Milpark. We thank you for your patience and understanding during our refurbishment and improvement project, we promise it will be all worth it when completed in December 2013.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is always our favourite for location, service and just that warm feeling of welcome-ness. Although there had been almost a 2 year gap since we last visited, this hotel still boasts that serene welcoming feeling that it always has.
We were informed about construction in progress - but a jack hammer starting at 06h30 above my head is not my idea of a holiday sleep! Its all for a better hotel that we always enjoy staying at so we absorbed that inconvenience. Cant wait to stay again when its revamped!
We were accommodated with a breakfast box at 04:30 on request as we were observing a fast on two days - although on the first day the boxes contained a polony sandwich which we specifically requested no meat. The breakfast was good but the emphasis on HALAAL catering needs attention. The NON-HALAAL items were in the same proximity to the HALAAL items and therefore cross-contamination very possible. My HALAAL sausages were prepared separately in the kitchen as a gesture to avoid the cross-contamination. From Miriam, Billy and the rest of the gang at front desk to Franklyn and new staff member Patrick at breakfast, it was so pleasant to see the all familiar staff of Milpark fit into just that warm welcoming approach that makes Milpark stand out from the rest.

Room Tip: When we stayed they were jackhammering floors 4-6 and we were situation on floor 3 right below! Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naseem786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Naseem786,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to return and stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you enjoy the warmth, friendliness and the welcome-ness at the Garden Court Milpark and that you find the staff to be still pleasant and helpful. We have shared these encouraging and motivating feedback with them for which they were truly grateful and very happy about. We regret to hear that you were awakened at 06h30 by seemingly construction noise as normally there should not be any builders or construction activity at this time of the morning. I will investigate it with the relevant management. Your feedback about the Halaal friendly buffet is appreciated and please rest assured that we do try our utmost with the limited serving area to keep non-halaal food items separately from Halaal Friendly food items. Please note that during weekends when there is a high demand for Halaal Friendly food items, we do separate the 'charcuterie' items from the rest of the buffet.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support, as well as your patience and understanding during our refurbushment period, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Besides the construction of the Hotel everything was super, and I dont want to comment on the carpets that there are old because you already said you are constructing the rooms hoping you will even change the headboards of the beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoliswa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Yoliswa S,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you experienced 'Great Service' at the Garden Court Milpark. We have shared these encouraging and motivating feedback with the team for which they were truly grateful and happy about. Please note that we are refurbishing and replacing with new, the entire bedroom (including carpets and all furniture), bathrooms, corridors and lift lobbies. We are delighted to be receiving the first of the new floors as soon as next week and hope to have the opportunity to have you back in the near future to experience it personally.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support, as well as your patience and understanding during our refurbushment period, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Despite currently undergoing renovation - which promises an updated look and feel for this Auckland Park landmark - the staff are still pleasant, helpful and deliver good service. The secret I think is in the hotel having retaining the same people on its staff for a reasonable length of time - apart from the odd promotional movements now and then.
I enjoy the warmth, friendliness and the familiarity of visiting the Milpark. I think it is a jewel in the Tsogo Sun crown. If you want to be close to the inner city of Johannesburg "but not really inside it" - the Milpark should be your first choice.

Keith Hector (Business Traveller)

Room Tip: My favourite rooms are usually on the passage corners - so ask for floor numbers and include rooms n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Mr Hector,

Thank you most sincerely for always choosing to stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your ongoing patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you enjoy the warmth, friendliness and the familiarity of visiting the Garden Court Milpark and that you find the staff to be still pleasant, helpful and deliver good service. We have shared these encouraging and motivating feedback with them for which they were truly grateful and very happy about. We are especially honoured, proud and feel very privilege indeed that you consider us as 'a jewel in the Tsogo Sun crown'.

We thank you once again for your ongoing patronage and support, as well as your patience and understanding duering our refurbushment period, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We booked into the hotel as part of a wedding group (including the bride and groom) The bride, my sister, went to see the hotel a few days before the wedding to confirm arrangements. She returned disappointed with the attitude and outdated look but as it was close to the date, could not find other accommodation for a large party at short notice. My husband and I took it upon ourselves to make the best of the situation and arranged for the bridal room to be made up. Management had the best intentions and gladly assisted with this request, for which we are grateful, but sadly the check in staff were not briefed and the couple got checked into an ordinary room and never got to see the effort.

The rooms and passages smelt of smoke. We woke up on Sunday morning to the noise of cunstruction work on the floor above us. Breakfast was disasterous as we had to wait in line over 30 min to get served. The noise levels in the breakfast room was deafening. Staff were rude and we witnessed cleaning staff stretching over customers to clean up and grabbing food by hand, with no gloves on.

The festive attitude of the wedding party was ruined and we all left the hotel feeling very disappointed. We made our feelings clear to management hoping they could salvage the situation but received a half-hearted disinterested response.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear JacquiNV,

Thank you for assisting your sister in choosing to stay at our hotel on their honeymoon as well as some of the wedding guests due to the proximity to the wedding venue. Thank you also for taking the time to do a review of your experience at the hotel on TripAdvisor. All feedback is most welcomed and valued.

In regards to your valuable comments, we would like to give you some feedback in return, if we may. Please rest assured that customer feedback is the corner stone of our business and a critical part of our industry therefore we have gone to great lengths to ensure that we encoutrage and facilitate as much guest feedback as possible through all relevant avenues available to us, including our own Electrnic Guest Survey, TripAdvisor and others, without imposition or being a burden to our valued guest, as such, the following-up process and replying to all feedback consistantly, sincerely and genuinely to all our valued guests are just as important to our business as receiving the feedback. We regret that you found our reply to be 'half hearted' and apologies if we created this unintended and inaccurate impression.
As per our various communcations with Adrian, both face to face during the weekend and via email afterwards, we are most disappointed and regretful indeed that all the efforts that our team put in to create a special experience for the Groom and Bride, which was intiated once I had a conversation with a colleague who is also friends of the bridal party, did have the desired and intended effect as a result of a technical glitch on our room system that resulted in their assigned and beautifully prepared room being disallocated on their reservation and became available for reallocation to other guests. Furthermore, we would have gladly correct this regrettable system error should we have known what had happened at the time given the late arrival of the bride and groom, however the other guest in the 'Bridal Room' regretfully did not inform us that it semmed they were in a room that was clearly set-up for someone else, especially given the personal welcome letter from myself, with the Bride and Groom's name on it.

As for the breakfast issues, over weekends we do have a high numbers of leisure guests inhouse and therefore most come down for breakfast from 10h00 onwards, more or less at the same time, therefore the breakfast room becomes extremely busy over that time resulting in some queues, especially at the hot buffet (Fried eggs and Omelettes) and at the doors depending on the availability of free tables, from time to time. Please rest assured also that all of your feedback above has been thuroughly investigated by Senior Management, through interviews and reviewing camera footage, with corrective action taken and implemented where appropriate.

We once again do apologies for any shortcomings and inconvenience caused, especially for having created an unfavourable impression of our hotel to you and your bridal party.

We will be operating our newly refurbished rooms as of mid July 2013 through to mid December 2013 and truly hope that you will afford us another opportunity to make amends and demonstrate the true Garden Court hospitalily and great experience to you.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support, which is always greatly.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Don't you hate it when you aren't informed when you make your reservation that the hotel is undergoing major renovation, and that there'll be jackhammers two floors above you rattling away from 8:30am until 6pm every day? That the wifi isn't working in the rooms as a result?
The reception staff are really pleasant, the breakfast waiting staff, enthusiastic, and the security staff, very helpful. But living through the dust, noise, crashing of demolition materials below your window, and inconvenience of renovation shouldn't be the chore of your guests. This will go on from April to December 2013. Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere during this period. Your money is best spent elsewhere for now.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear KarenB77,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated and so is your feedback which is also most welcomed and valued.

We are very disappointed to read your comment about the inconvenienced caused as a result of our refurbishment project that is currently underway at the property as part of our ongoing quest to constantly strive to create great experiences for our valued guest. We regret and apologise if you were not told about the current refurbishment project at the hotel whe you made your reservation as we did take great care to deciminate this important information through all our booking channels which includes our website. travel partners and the various posters displayed at strategic locations at the hotel itself, which mentions the following:
"We begin an exciting refurbishment project from April 2013 to bring a fresh urban renewal to
Garden Court Milpark. All bedrooms, corridors and lift lobbies will have a complete makeover creating the feel of city loft living depicted by bold graphic elements and strong geometric patterns. We invite you to rediscover a relaxed space in the vibrant city of Johannesburg.
Completion expected by December 2013.
We apologize for any inconvenience that may be caused during our refurbishment programme.
We assure you of our commitment to do our utmost to keep the impact to a minimum and therefore have planned for most of the work to be carried out between 09h00 and 15h30 weekdays"

Please rest reassured of our continued commitment to do our utmost to keep the impact to a minimum, where ever at all possible and hence the time limitation on our contractors to carry out work that may have a certain amount of noise associated with them during times when most, if not all, our guests are normally out of the property and conducting their business.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which is always greatly valued.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future, for a much better and improved experience.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Milpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Milpark

Property: Garden Court Milpark
Address: Cnr Empire Road and Owl Street | Auckland Park, Johannesburg 2006, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Milpark 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both business and leisure travel the Garden Court Milpark Hotel is conveniently situated near the Johannesburg CBD. It offers everything that travellers expect from Garden Court hotels as well as that something extra that makes guests return time and again. Free High Speed WiFi Internet for Hotel Residents capped at 350MB per room, per day. In addition, it is the ideal destination for visitors needing access to the Universities of Witwatersrand and Johannesburg or the Milpark Hospital as well as the internationally renowned shopping complexes in Parktown, Rosebank and Sandton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garden Court Milpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Milpark Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing