We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Court Milpark

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Milpark
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The staff were freindly, helpful and professional in all regards. The revamp has definitely injected new life into this hotel. The new decor brings a clean fresh feel to the hotel and rooms which are clean and neat. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Chris F

We are most grateful and appreciative that you chose to come back and stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted to read that you found the Garden Court Milpark staff were friendly, helpful and professional in all regards, that the revamp has definitely injected new life into this hotel, that the new decor brings a clean fresh feel to the hotel and rooms are clean and neat resulting in an overall very pleasant stay!. We have shared this encouraging and motivating feedback with the staff, for which they were truly grateful and very happy about.

We thank you once again for your renewed patronage and support, it is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    120
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
64
41
14
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel looks clean and attractive to guests. I am a bit worrired about its location and visibility. The rooms are big enough and fitted with all required amenities that guests may need. The hotel staff members were helpful.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank TozamileL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear TozamileL,

Thank you most sincerely for staying at our hotel your toured in Johannesburg recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found it to be clean and attractive to guests, with helpful staff and found the overall experience at the hotel to be of a high standard. We are however a little confused about your comment that you are "worried about the location and visibility" and would therefore appreciate some further feedback and details so that we can understand what is meant about this comment in order to investigate and take further action, if appropriate.

We thank you once again for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

The staff at the Garden Court Milpark, deserve an award! They are friendly, professional and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Billy deserves a special mention, he really went out of his way to accommodate us! The room was spacious and tastefully decorated and the breakfast was really good I feel confident in recommending this hotel to my clients.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Family Room but for not much extra you could stay in an Executive Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Lee-Ann H

We are most grateful and appreciative that you chose to stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted to read that you found the Garden Court Milpark to be 'Absolutely Amazing' and that we deserve an Award, we are humbled by your compliment. We are especially encouraged about your comment that the staff are friendly, professional and go out of their way to make you feel welcome, Billy deserves a special mention, for really going out of his way to accommodate you, the room was spacious and tastefully decorated and the breakfast was really good, We are thrilled that you felt confident in recommending this hotel to your clients. We have shared this encouraging and motivating feedback with the staff, for which they were truly grateful and very happy about.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support, as well as your patience and understanding during our refurbishment period which is now completed, it is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Wow you will love to be there , if you haven’t visited Garden Court Milpark please do yourself a favour and pay them a visit you will feel like being at Home away from Home, What a feeling i will never stay in any other hotel in Johannesburg except Garden Court Milpark

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takalani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Takalani M,

We are most grateful and appreciative that you chose to stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted to read that you were 'Wowed' and loved the Garden Court Milpark and that you the staff's attitude and service delivery created the feeling of "home Away from Home'. We have shared this encouraging and motivating feedback with them for which they were truly grateful and very happy about.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support, as well as your patience and understanding during our refurbishment period, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadoma, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was at this hotel towards end of June and lovely is what it is....

The reception was excellent despite the construction taking place then.

The room was spacious and well air conditioned. The food and drinks were exceptional.

The shuttle cabbies to other restaurants and clubs were quite cooperative.

The only down side was the business centre with ridiculously priced with complicated pcs.

Their major strength is in their staff!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clement263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Clement263,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg in June and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you enjoy the location and overall services and found the reception excellent despite the construction taking place then, the room spacious and well air conditioned, the food and drinks exceptional and the shuttle cabbies to other restaurants and clubs to be quite cooperative.
We thank you for your patience and understanding during our refurbishment and improvement project, we promise it will be all worth it when completed in December 2013.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Even though construction work taking place at the entrance there was no disruption to check in - hotel good value for money - nice breakfast -lovely room. Staff friendly Close to all major shopping centers in Joburg. Parking across the way - safe and reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charms-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Charms-11,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you enjoy the services, lovely room. the breakfast and location of the Garden Court Milpark. We thank you for your patience and understanding during our refurbishment and improvement project, we promise it will be all worth it when completed in December 2013.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is always our favourite for location, service and just that warm feeling of welcome-ness. Although there had been almost a 2 year gap since we last visited, this hotel still boasts that serene welcoming feeling that it always has.
We were informed about construction in progress - but a jack hammer starting at 06h30 above my head is not my idea of a holiday sleep! Its all for a better hotel that we always enjoy staying at so we absorbed that inconvenience. Cant wait to stay again when its revamped!
We were accommodated with a breakfast box at 04:30 on request as we were observing a fast on two days - although on the first day the boxes contained a polony sandwich which we specifically requested no meat. The breakfast was good but the emphasis on HALAAL catering needs attention. The NON-HALAAL items were in the same proximity to the HALAAL items and therefore cross-contamination very possible. My HALAAL sausages were prepared separately in the kitchen as a gesture to avoid the cross-contamination. From Miriam, Billy and the rest of the gang at front desk to Franklyn and new staff member Patrick at breakfast, it was so pleasant to see the all familiar staff of Milpark fit into just that warm welcoming approach that makes Milpark stand out from the rest.

Room Tip: When we stayed they were jackhammering floors 4-6 and we were situation on floor 3 right below! Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naseem786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Naseem786,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to return and stay at our hotel when travelling to Johannesburg recently and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted that you enjoy the warmth, friendliness and the welcome-ness at the Garden Court Milpark and that you find the staff to be still pleasant and helpful. We have shared these encouraging and motivating feedback with them for which they were truly grateful and very happy about. We regret to hear that you were awakened at 06h30 by seemingly construction noise as normally there should not be any builders or construction activity at this time of the morning. I will investigate it with the relevant management. Your feedback about the Halaal friendly buffet is appreciated and please rest assured that we do try our utmost with the limited serving area to keep non-halaal food items separately from Halaal Friendly food items. Please note that during weekends when there is a high demand for Halaal Friendly food items, we do separate the 'charcuterie' items from the rest of the buffet.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support, as well as your patience and understanding during our refurbushment period, which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#31 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Milpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Milpark

Property: Garden Court Milpark
Address: Cnr Empire Road and Owl Street | Auckland Park, Johannesburg 2006, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Milpark 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both business and leisure travel the Garden Court Milpark Hotel is conveniently situated near the Johannesburg CBD. It offers everything that travellers expect from Garden Court hotels as well as that something extra that makes guests return time and again. Free High Speed WiFi Internet for Hotel Residents capped at 350MB per room, per day. In addition, it is the ideal destination for visitors needing access to the Universities of Witwatersrand and Johannesburg or the Milpark Hospital as well as the internationally renowned shopping complexes in Parktown, Rosebank and Sandton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garden Court Milpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Milpark Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing