We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Milpark
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kalulushi Zambia
1 review
“hotel tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

the hotel is excellent,the room I was was of high standard with no noise from cars in the morning has a fridge to keep my drinks cool ,microwave for warming my food, service was very good, the locaton of the hotel is agood one with the spar next door ,the hospital a walking distance, gim available for rhose who like exercises, swimming pool ,and lodge to relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mwangala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mwangala M

We are most grateful and appreciative that you to the time to stay and experience our hotel in May 2014 and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted to read that you found that your stay was excellent with the room was of high standard with no noise from cars in the morning, the convenience of having a fridge to keep drinks cool ,microwave for warming food, the service was very good, the locaton of the hotel was good with the added convenience of having a Spar Supermarket next door, the Milpark Hospital was walking distance, gym available, swimming pool and sitting areas to relax at.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    123
    45
    20
    14
See reviews for
70
41
14
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The room are clean, fresh and welcoming. The service one received is outstanding on my arrival, request of assistance when one is in the room. I even commented at the reception about the changed environment. Hope Garden Court in Milpark will continue with prfessionalism one experienced

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Juliet S

We are most grateful and appreciative that you to the time to stay and experience our hotel in May 2014 and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted to read that you found that the room are clean, fresh and welcoming, the service received was outstanding on your arrival and request of assistance when in the room. Thank you again for commenting at reception about the changed environment. We appreciate your kind wishes for Garden Court in Milpark to continue with the professionalism experienced.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support which is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Problems during our stay at the hotel.
1. Toilets were used and not flushed properly by previous guest and not cleaned by house keeping after they left and was not cleaned.
2. The lights were not working on the 6th floor on the day of our arrival. It was in total darkness.
3. The Fire Alarm Siren was activated non stop btwn 23:00 to 01:00.am
4. Reception telephone was not answered at night, even during problem number 3.
5. Breakfast serving was poor on all mornings. No service at all actually. Tables were missing cutlery. No staff willing to assist.
6 Random female sex worker is let up to the 6th floor at 03:00 and proceeds to bang on the door demanding access.
7 The lifts were not operational. We had to walk up, 6 flights of stairs.
8 House keeping tries to gain access at 8-9am on the day of checkout, when generally they clean after the guest has checked out.
9 We are denied access to the hotel parking lot. Who is parking there, that guests are denied access, and advised to "park at the mall"?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOVANKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear MOVANKER,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated and so is your feedback which is also most welcomed and valued.

We are very disappointed to read your various comments about your recent experience at the hotel on your last stay. I understand that the Assistant General Manager, Mbo, did make contact with you regarding your comments and discussed them with you, offering explanations and feedback where appropriate. We do apologies for having created an unfavourable impression of our hotel and for any inconvenience that may have been caused as a result.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which is always greatly valued.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future, for a much better and improved experience at our newly renovated property.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were up in JHB over the long weekend for a wedding. We had 6 rooms booked.The hotel is newly renovated and looks good, but the service is terrible.

1)Before we went, I requested all the rooms on the same floor and was told to do it when I arrive. When we checked in, the receptionist didn't want to, and kept shaking her head at me. I had to tell her, 'dont shake your head at me, Im your client'.

2) When we came in, Saturday evening- the lifts weren't working. This was a major issue as we had 80 year old and 85 year old ladies with us, who were both heart patients and could hardly walk. Once again, the receptionsist just shrugged his shoulders and said the lifts are not working! No solution was presented, or even an apology. It took 30 minutes to get them up the stairs, and then they sat outside the lift drinking water and saying, 'my heart my heart my heart'. This is terrible and unacceptable from Southern Sun.

3) On the Sunday morning the doors were actually locked at breakfast- saying 'its too full, only 1 lady to make eggs'.

4) The cupboards are short- my suit didn't fit in nor did my wife's dresses fit in. Dumb cupboards?
How are any of these scenarios acceptable? Totally terrible service and none of my family will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yunus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Yanus M,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated and so is your feedback which is also most welcomed and valued.

We are very disappointed to read your various comments about your recent experience at the hotel on your last stay. I understand that the Assistant General Manager, Mbo, did make contact with you regarding your comments and discussed them with you. I would like to confirm your discussion with Mbo where he explained that we unfortunately cannot allocate a certain room number in advance due to operational and practicality reasons and therefore can only accept request and try our utmost to accommodate these requests where we can do so. We regret and apologise if you the receptionist may have come across as disrespectful in anyway as I can assure you that it is definitely not intentional nor a normal occurrence at this hotel. Unfortunately we had an incident on Saturday evening where someone broke one of the fire glass on the 5th floor resulting in the fire evacuation system being activated, hence why the lifts were un-operational as they are designed to do in such instances. regrettably it took longer than expected to resolve this issue for which we apologise for. As for the breakfast queues, regrettably over weekends when the hotel is full, like it was then, we restaurant cannot accommodate every resident at the same time and therefore we have to manage the access appropriately to ensure the best operational efficiency as possible and avoid having guests standing around in the restaurant with no place to sit. With regards to the cupboards being too short, unfortunately as you were upgraded and therefore not in our standard rooms, the cupboards are designed differently to the ones in the standard rooms where provision is made for long dresses or garments to be hung.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which is always greatly valued.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future, for a much better and improved experience at our newly renovated property.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
255 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights due to work in the area. The hotel is located on busy Empire Road, which in the morning can be quite daunting and time consuming to get places.
The staff were wonderful from the kind lady who checked me in to the restaurant staff.

The rooms and hotel have been recently refurbished and are looking good and really comfortable to stay in.

Across the road behind the hotel is Stanley Road with all it's creative shops and lovely cafés. A must see when in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Jason leg

We are most grateful and appreciative that you chose to come and stay at our newly refurbished hotel during your recent travels to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted to read that you found the staff wonderful and the newly renovated hotel to be 'good looking' and the rooms really comfortable. We are glad that you enjoyed 44 on Stanley, just behind the hotel as it is indeed a unique experience.

We thank you once again for your patronage and support and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Situated centrally which makes it an ideal location. Friendly staff and halaal breakfast makes this hotel convenient for us. Recently renovated rooms, bathroom not the most practical especially when traveling with a baby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fatima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Fatima A

We are most grateful and appreciative that you chose to come back and stay at our newly refurbished hotel during your recent travels to Johannesburg and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated always and so is your feedback which is most welcomed and valued.

We are delighted to read that you found the hotel to be situated centrally making it an ideal location, Friendly staff and halaal friendly breakfast makes this hotel convenient for you. We have shared this encouraging and motivating feedback with the staff, for which they were truly grateful and very happy about.

As for your comment about the new bathrooms not being 'Baby Friendly, I would like to mention that we do have family rooms that have a bath and shower instead of the shower only in our King bedded room.

We thank you once again for your renewed patronage and support, it is always greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' again at the hotel in the near future.

With renewed appreciation and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Hotel was booked by local brunch of company. Mostly due to location – close to hospital I need to work. Arrival experience – very bad, I waited in airport for “organized” shuttle more than 1 hour. In addition – hotel under renovation, with dust in many places (and this awful smell). But the worst still to come – around 11pm banging to the door.. some “easy” ladies running from door to door having fun… Called to front-desk.. no reaction, “ladies” gone… but couldn’t sleep, even if had a lot of different experiences during my 12 years of flying around world, I was not feeling safe… Moved in the morning, even I had longer reservation. Very bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krzysioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noël A M, General Manager at Garden Court Milpark, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Krzysioc,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and especially for taking the time to do a review of your experience on TripAdvisor. Your patronage and support is greatly appreciated and so is your feedback which is also most welcomed and valued.

We are very disappointed to read your comment about the inconvenienced caused as a result of our refurbishment project that was underway at the property as part of our ongoing quest to constantly strive to create great experiences for our valued guest, when you stayed back in July 2013. We regret and apologise if you were not told about the current refurbishment project at the hotel when your company made your reservation as we did take great care to deciminate this important information through all our booking channels which includes our website. travel partners, our hotel reservation confirmations and the various posters displayed at strategic locations at the hotel itself, which mentions the following:
"We begin an exciting refurbishment project from April 2013 to bring a fresh urban renewal to
Garden Court Milpark. All bedrooms, corridors and lift lobbies will have a complete makeover creating the feel of city loft living depicted by bold graphic elements and strong geometric patterns. We invite you to rediscover a relaxed space in the vibrant city of Johannesburg.
Completion expected by December 2013.
We apologize for any inconvenience that may be caused during our refurbishment programme.
We assure you of our commitment to do our utmost to keep the impact to a minimum and therefore have planned for most of the work to be carried out between 09h00 and 15h30 weekdays"

In regards to your comment about a certain lady that was going door to door knocking at 23h00 was definitely an isolated incident as we do not normally have this type of occurrences at this hotel. Furthermore, once informed, we normally investigate such reports and take immediate corrective action, where appropriate, hence why the 'ladies' were gone. I do apologise also if the front desk may have not displayed any reaction at the time of the report.

We thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which is always greatly valued.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again at the hotel in the near future, for a much better and improved experience at our newly renovated property.

With renewed apologies and kind regards

Noël A. Macquet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.2 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.6 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
4.4 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#30 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Milpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Milpark

Property: Garden Court Milpark
Address: Cnr Empire Road and Owl Street | Auckland Park, Johannesburg 2006, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#15 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Milpark 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for both business and leisure travel the Garden Court Milpark Hotel is conveniently situated near the Johannesburg CBD. It offers everything that travellers expect from Garden Court hotels as well as that something extra that makes guests return time and again. Free High Speed WiFi Internet for Hotel Residents capped at 350MB per room, per day. In addition, it is the ideal destination for visitors needing access to the Universities of Witwatersrand and Johannesburg or the Milpark Hospital as well as the internationally renowned shopping complexes in Parktown, Rosebank and Sandton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Garden Court Milpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Milpark Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing