We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than a normal airport hotel”
Review of Quills

Quills
Ranked #16 of 1,210 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Much better than a normal airport hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by Quills, given that it is not just in a hotel but an airport hotel. As other reviewers have said the standard of food is good and the surroundings are quite pleasant. I ordered the eggs Benedict at breakfast which was very nicely done and had the catalpana fish stew in the evening. Choice of wine was good and service ok. I have rated it as average against other restaurants but I think it is much better than most hotel restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Food and Beverage Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for giving us feedback with regards your resent dining experience with us. We strive to delver the best service and quality at all times. Service delivery will be looked at to ensure that we avoid any short falls that may occur.

Regards
Jacques Visagie
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    82
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The quality of food and exceptional service make this restaurant one of the best we have ever eaten at. Cannot praise highly enough. Also not expensive at all. If ever at Jo'burg airport or overnight at intercontinental and can fit in a meal, you must come here. Truly fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Food and Beverage Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to dine with us, we appreciate to fantastic feedback and look forward to serving you again.

Regards
Jacques
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

You just don't expect to get food as good as this in a chain hotel. Good menu, good food, good service. Very much worth walking out of the terminal for!

Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHH1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Food and Beverage Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good day

We value your support and positive feedback, please come and try Chef Trevor's new Lunch Menu.
We look forward serving you again.

Regards
Jacques
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“IHG restaurant”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The service was very good as was the food. The breakfast was AMAZING! The dining room was well designed and comfortable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hornsbyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Food and Beverage Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Good day

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on our Quills Restaurant. We look forward to serving you again in the near future, we are in the prepossess of launching our new lunch menu and we look forward on your feedback on your next visit.

Regards
Jacques Visagie
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food for a Hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Chef Trevor does a great job of combining cultures into delicious food. I had an authentic African meal of Bobotie that had a great spice kick. Great hotel eating.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OpinionsRMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit to Quills. As a restaurant we strive to exceed your expectations at all times.

I will convey your feedback to Chef Trevor.

Hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quills also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Quills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing