We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a very relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Quills

Quills
Ranked #18 of 1,207 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food in a very relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I had dinner at Quills while on a stopover on a recent holiday and we thought it was terrific.
The menu was varied, the food was excellent and the and the staff were very efficient and friendly.
They kept the drinks flowing which is sometimes a struggle in Africa.
We were actually staying at another hotel but Quills was recommended to us by our travel agent and it didn't disappoint.
Overall a very good meal in a nice relaxing atmosphere and prices were about average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mybludog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your dining experience. I'm happy to hear that our staff met your expectations. We look forward to your next visit with us, especially to enjoy our Quills restaurant.

Regards

Jacques
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    77
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good grub in transit”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well, if you find yourself with an unexpected stop over at Jo'berg airport as I did, the Intercon is a surprisingly well appointed and well serviced hotel just across the road from the concourse, beating other such hostelries that I have experienced hands down. On the ground floor is Quills restaurant. Whilst the room is not that promising, being rather long and narrow with a high ceiling, it is nicely decorated with a collage of African masks on the wall and an 18 metre porcupine quill mobile overhead (all individually hand crafted and painted).

The service is prompt and attentive, the menu interesting and the short wine list well chosen. My oysters were excellent even though the restaurant is not exactly at the seaside, but the Caesar salad was even better, indeed, historic for a couple of reasons. In the first place, instead of a sprinkling of croutons on the salad (which usually results in their losing crunch) a single, long crouton is served to one side. Magic to have the bite every time ! The star of the show however is the egg which is simmered at a low temperature for an hour, poached for a minute and then deep fried. Quite an extraordinary colour, taste and texture.

The one let down of my meal was the cheese course. The South African cheeses and chutney were fine but the Camembert was hard even when I sent I back. I made a comment on this point to the maitre and I was very impressed the next day when the chef, who had not been in the restaurant when I was there the night before, introduced himself to me, apologised and explained what had gone wrong. That's real customer service in my book - things don't always go well so it's how management responds subsequently that counts (the Front Desk also aplogised when I checked out).

All in all a most enjoyable meal (with one memorable course) was marred at the end but then rescued the next day by reactions that exceeded expectations. So, if you're stuck at Jo'berg airport there is a convivial watering hole nearby (and if you stay at the hotel but would like a change of scene you can always hop on the train for the short ride to Sandton).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the detailed review. It is always good to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us.

Hoping to serve you again soon.

Jacques
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Much better than a normal airport hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by Quills, given that it is not just in a hotel but an airport hotel. As other reviewers have said the standard of food is good and the surroundings are quite pleasant. I ordered the eggs Benedict at breakfast which was very nicely done and had the catalpana fish stew in the evening. Choice of wine was good and service ok. I have rated it as average against other restaurants but I think it is much better than most hotel restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Segaria226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Food and Beverage Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for giving us feedback with regards your resent dining experience with us. We strive to delver the best service and quality at all times. Service delivery will be looked at to ensure that we avoid any short falls that may occur.

Regards
Jacques Visagie
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The quality of food and exceptional service make this restaurant one of the best we have ever eaten at. Cannot praise highly enough. Also not expensive at all. If ever at Jo'burg airport or overnight at intercontinental and can fit in a meal, you must come here. Truly fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Food and Beverage Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to dine with us, we appreciate to fantastic feedback and look forward to serving you again.

Regards
Jacques
Food and Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

You just don't expect to get food as good as this in a chain hotel. Good menu, good food, good service. Very much worth walking out of the terminal for!

Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHH1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Food and Beverage Manager at Quills, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Good day

We value your support and positive feedback, please come and try Chef Trevor's new Lunch Menu.
We look forward serving you again.

Regards
Jacques
F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quills also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Quills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing