We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet hotel in the heart of Rosebank, incredible staff, lovely stay”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet hotel in the heart of Rosebank, incredible staff, lovely stay”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Monarch Hotel. We stayed in a beautiful luxury sweet with a nice window overlooking the courtyard. The staff were exceptional, all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The secure parking is perfect. The location is nearly at the Rosebank mall, but is in a quiet nook away from the crowds. We loved this hotel and hope to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadictravelers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Nomadic travelers 44

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    54
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
38
219
36
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I've stayed at hotels all over the world, and this is the nicest. Every person I meet on the staff makes an extra effort to make sure every detail is taken care of. For example, I had breakfast (which is superb, by the way) and when I got back to my room, the maid(s) had already finished. A chocolate, a note from the GM, and subtle adjustments to service (stocking double of the drinks I liked) are among the little things that make the Monarch a first-rate hotel!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. The luxury suite is very nice, with a well-appointed bathroom and sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badge500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Badge500

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willebroek, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Monarch is a brand new hotel in Rosebank Johannesburg. It's a small luxury hotel with only 12 rooms. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed. In the restaurant they serve a delicious breakfast and a very tasty diner.
I can recommend this 5 star hotel in the centre of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Tania M

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just about the finest experience I've had in any city in the world, in fact. From the moment I was met with "Welcome to Monarch, sir. You deserve this", to the moment I left, the experience was simply perfect. The location is simply unbeatable, right next to the mall and the restaurant quarter and the Gautrain. I'm not really a fan of Johannesburg, but thanks to the Monarch I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: They were all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littledutchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Littledutchboy

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Monarch is a very beautiful boutique Hotel which feels more like a private home. Another of the fantastic Hotels managed by the Mantis Collection. It is opposite the Gaultrain Station in Rosebank train station if you come by train from the airport. We didn't but we know locals that use it always. Jan & his team made us feel incredibly welcome. Look forward to staying at the Monarch when we are next in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Double glazed windows so zero street noise. The rooms are enormous with their own sitting room and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyF240741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear SallyF240741

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

It was wonderful to be whisked out of the Johannesburg traffic into secure parking and then shown by the friendly and attentive staff to our exquisite and comfortable suite.
The amazing thing about this little hotel is that although it is incredibly conveniently situated near the Gautrain station, once inside you feel completely sheltered from all the noise of the city. The courtyard is like a little oasis. We loved having our meals at the window(double glazed) in the dining room watching the people and traffic go by without a sound. The staff, from the quirky concierge, to the General Manager were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Trish S

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Monarch Hotel is not just another cookie cutter accommodation. With a dozen individually designed rooms, we felt more like we were in a private home than a hotel. Antiques, burrowed wood furniture, parquet floors and marble make this former 1930s Saxonwold Post Office luxurious. The hotel’s friendly staff makes it homey. The chic, quiet restaurant serves good food while recordings of Frank Sinatra and Barbra Streisand provide easy listening background music. Part of the Mantis Hotel Group, the Monarch is located in Johannesburg’s Rosebank suburb.

Room Tip: Not a place for young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rads_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear rads_10 thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
740 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 66 in Johannesburg
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing