We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience - Great Service”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 3 day business trip. From the moment we arrived at this little gem to when we left, we received exceptional service. Prior to our arrival the GM, Jan, and staff responded promptly to queries. The pre-arrival experience was just as wonderful & personalised as the actual arrival & stay - Jan's welcome, readiness of friendly staff to help with requests etc. Room was lovely and though it faced the road, we were never disturbed by noise. The hotel is still doing some renovations but these were not intrusive with the staff on hand to guide in a seamless manner. Good breakfast selection and lunch in the picturesque garden was excellent. It is also located close to a mall with a top jazz club and a train station. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be given a special 5 star experience while on business or pleasure- top marks for quality, a fast internet for work, efficient response to business and personal requirements. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden would be nicer if you dont want to see people whilst having a drink on the b...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beautifulplaces2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Beautiful places 20

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Monarch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great hotel. Great rooms. Everyone I came into contact with were not only very pleasant but very helpful. Special kudos to tumi who was terrific. Location is right next to gautrain. Can't get any better than that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Semelg

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Monarch Hotel. We stayed in a beautiful luxury sweet with a nice window overlooking the courtyard. The staff were exceptional, all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The secure parking is perfect. The location is nearly at the Rosebank mall, but is in a quiet nook away from the crowds. We loved this hotel and hope to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadictravelers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Nomadic travelers 44

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I've stayed at hotels all over the world, and this is the nicest. Every person I meet on the staff makes an extra effort to make sure every detail is taken care of. For example, I had breakfast (which is superb, by the way) and when I got back to my room, the maid(s) had already finished. A chocolate, a note from the GM, and subtle adjustments to service (stocking double of the drinks I liked) are among the little things that make the Monarch a first-rate hotel!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. The luxury suite is very nice, with a well-appointed bathroom and sitting a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badge500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Badge500

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Monarch is a brand new hotel in Rosebank Johannesburg. It's a small luxury hotel with only 12 rooms. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed. In the restaurant they serve a delicious breakfast and a very tasty diner.
I can recommend this 5 star hotel in the centre of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Tania M

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just about the finest experience I've had in any city in the world, in fact. From the moment I was met with "Welcome to Monarch, sir. You deserve this", to the moment I left, the experience was simply perfect. The location is simply unbeatable, right next to the mall and the restaurant quarter and the Gautrain. I'm not really a fan of Johannesburg, but thanks to the Monarch I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: They were all amazing!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littledutchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Littledutchboy

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Monarch is a very beautiful boutique Hotel which feels more like a private home. Another of the fantastic Hotels managed by the Mantis Collection. It is opposite the Gaultrain Station in Rosebank train station if you come by train from the airport. We didn't but we know locals that use it always. Jan & his team made us feel incredibly welcome. Look forward to staying at the Monarch when we are next in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Double glazed windows so zero street noise. The rooms are enormous with their own sitting room and h...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyF240741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear SallyF240741

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £138 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing