We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class in the heart of Johannesburg North” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
penang
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top class in the heart of Johannesburg North”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night,and then booked a further 7 nights after realizing that it was the perfect johannesburg hotel for a traveller likely myself.
Perfectly situated opposite the Gautrain,and Zine shopping mall,the hotel oozes class.
The general manager Mr Jan,is warm,welcoming and very flexible with guests which suited me well.
The room is what really makes this hotel special.every piece of furniture and amenity are A-grade.the breakfast was world class,fresh and professionally done.
All in all,if the price stays competitive I will definately be booking my stays in Johannesburg here.a very surprising,unassuming experience.to all the staff especially Lindiwe,you made my stay very welcome,thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mojay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mojay_9

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    47
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
198
32
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Due to little options me and my friends ended up in Johannesburg in our planned trip to Cape town for our holiday. After some persuasion I got my will through for a pitstop and started to research hotels and found Monarch. It definetely met my expectations in regards to comfort and service. Only thing I can remark on is that some trashbins was not emptied in my room and I would have expected that but the contents was not of any concern for me personally. The breakfest was superb.

The location has not that much to offer except smaller mall but with a top notch restaurant called Grillhouse that made the stay even better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear hOly

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 3 day business trip. From the moment we arrived at this little gem to when we left, we received exceptional service. Prior to our arrival the GM, Jan, and staff responded promptly to queries. The pre-arrival experience was just as wonderful & personalised as the actual arrival & stay - Jan's welcome, readiness of friendly staff to help with requests etc. Room was lovely and though it faced the road, we were never disturbed by noise. The hotel is still doing some renovations but these were not intrusive with the staff on hand to guide in a seamless manner. Good breakfast selection and lunch in the picturesque garden was excellent. It is also located close to a mall with a top jazz club and a train station. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be given a special 5 star experience while on business or pleasure- top marks for quality, a fast internet for work, efficient response to business and personal requirements. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden would be nicer if you dont want to see people whilst having a drink on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beautifulplaces2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Beautiful places 20

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great hotel. Great rooms. Everyone I came into contact with were not only very pleasant but very helpful. Special kudos to tumi who was terrific. Location is right next to gautrain. Can't get any better than that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Semelg

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Monarch Hotel. We stayed in a beautiful luxury sweet with a nice window overlooking the courtyard. The staff were exceptional, all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The secure parking is perfect. The location is nearly at the Rosebank mall, but is in a quiet nook away from the crowds. We loved this hotel and hope to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadictravelers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Nomadic travelers 44

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I've stayed at hotels all over the world, and this is the nicest. Every person I meet on the staff makes an extra effort to make sure every detail is taken care of. For example, I had breakfast (which is superb, by the way) and when I got back to my room, the maid(s) had already finished. A chocolate, a note from the GM, and subtle adjustments to service (stocking double of the drinks I liked) are among the little things that make the Monarch a first-rate hotel!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. The luxury suite is very nice, with a well-appointed bathroom and sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badge500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Badge500

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willebroek, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Monarch is a brand new hotel in Rosebank Johannesburg. It's a small luxury hotel with only 12 rooms. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed. In the restaurant they serve a delicious breakfast and a very tasty diner.
I can recommend this 5 star hotel in the centre of Johannesburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Tania M

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing