We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and great location”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice hotel, locations is great - very close to lots of restaurants and shopping. Parking is well protected. Hotel was very clean and service was excellent. Breakfast was great with cold buffet and warm to order options (they even included chocolate easter eggs as it was easter monday!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear EmilyC234

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Monarch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is truly and honestly the best hotel in Johannesburg giving 5 star services. A small hotel that looks after its guests in every sense.Very well located close to the Gautrain station and Rosebank shopping centres.Are the three types of rooms,with the smallest being the luxury room measuring 51 sq metres! The rooms were well furnished for casual as well as business stays offering under carpet,under-tile bathroom heating as well as an air con system. Breakfast was good offering a a variety of cold and hot snacks.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mohamed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Mohamed V

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Set in one of the busiest streets of Johannesburg, the moment you enter The Monarch Hotel, you walk into an oasis of peace and tranquillity. Surely one of the finest small hotels in South Africa, the Monarch offers the perfect relaxing getaway in the midst of a vibrant African city. Understated elegance and charming and sincerely friendly staff. Pure magic. Thank you to everyone involved in creating such a special, unique and memorable experience. Ilzebet O., Stellenbosch

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilzebet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Ilzebet123

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel in the heart of rosebank. Beautiful rooms and a great location close to shopping and restaurants. Stanford is amazing at problem solving. They made a mistake with our second reservation and reception was not too helpful but Stanford got it all sorted out. We will stay there again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lalaw5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear LaLaw5000

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel in Rosebank
The rooms are finished to a very high standard.
The service is second to none and the meal that was served to me at dinner would grace any restaurant worldwide.
The hotel is well located with good transport links.
I cannot recommennd this establishment too highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alistairbarnwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear AlistiarBarnwell

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night,and then booked a further 7 nights after realizing that it was the perfect johannesburg hotel for a traveller likely myself.
Perfectly situated opposite the Gautrain,and Zine shopping mall,the hotel oozes class.
The general manager Mr Jan,is warm,welcoming and very flexible with guests which suited me well.
The room is what really makes this hotel special.every piece of furniture and amenity are A-grade.the breakfast was world class,fresh and professionally done.
All in all,if the price stays competitive I will definately be booking my stays in Johannesburg here.a very surprising,unassuming experience.to all the staff especially Lindiwe,you made my stay very welcome,thank you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank mojay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Mojay_9

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Due to little options me and my friends ended up in Johannesburg in our planned trip to Cape town for our holiday. After some persuasion I got my will through for a pitstop and started to research hotels and found Monarch. It definetely met my expectations in regards to comfort and service. Only thing I can remark on is that some trashbins was not emptied in my room and I would have expected that but the contents was not of any concern for me personally. The breakfest was superb.

The location has not that much to offer except smaller mall but with a top notch restaurant called Grillhouse that made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear hOly

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
760 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
357 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range: £138 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing