We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monarch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chinchilla, Australia
1 review
“Monarch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had arranged a pick up from the airport, we were very impressed with the professional service of the driver. Johannesburg can be quite daunting but we felt safe and secure in the vehicle and on arrival to the Monarch we were met by more friendly faces. The hotel is quaint and inviting its small being a boutique hotel but the grandeur of the rooms for the price its well worth the 30 minute trip from the airport. From the King size beds to the spacious well appointed bathroom, and that bath is just the place to soak after 14 hours of flying or being on safari for 10 days. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienne E, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Sharon
We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. The monarch staff is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we could help make your trip to Johannesburg a memorable one.

Safe future travels
The Monarch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    47
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
198
32
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I drove past this place several times since it opened. We decided to go there for a relaxing, intimate weekend. The service, food and staff understand hospitality and deliver it elegantly. The food was above our expectation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Warren H

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Experienced a Royal Suite. This is like a small appartment with dinning section and lounge. The bathroom is very big with Shower and bath. The location is very convenient very close to the rosebank shopping mall (walking distace) with retaurant and cinémas. The restaurant is also very good at the hotel. Definitely one of the best for the value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Voyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear BarnSkyBeat

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
352 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Service is excellent as is the breakfast. Location is also good, metro is next door. Definitely value for money even though the place is extremely gentrified and we did somehow not feel that this was "our" place. The hotel has access to reliable drivers and tour operations. Booked a USD 200 tour for one day which was definitely worth it. We had our own car and driver and covered the whole town. However, we felt quite off driving in a new flashy Mercedes through Soweto....

Room Tip: Ask for a large room rather than 2-room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear BarnSkyBeat

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Small boutique hotel with outstanding service. Jan, the GM, runs an excellent hotel & he, along with his staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Nothing is too much trouble. It is our 3rd stay at the Monarch & we would highly recommend it for anyone coming to Johannessburg.

Room Tip: The windows are triple glazed. No road noise at all. Best nights sleep you will have in Jo'berg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyF240741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear SallyF240271

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very nice hotel, locations is great - very close to lots of restaurants and shopping. Parking is well protected. Hotel was very clean and service was excellent. Breakfast was great with cold buffet and warm to order options (they even included chocolate easter eggs as it was easter monday!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear EmilyC234

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This is truly and honestly the best hotel in Johannesburg giving 5 star services. A small hotel that looks after its guests in every sense.Very well located close to the Gautrain station and Rosebank shopping centres.Are the three types of rooms,with the smallest being the luxury room measuring 51 sq metres! The rooms were well furnished for casual as well as business stays offering under carpet,under-tile bathroom heating as well as an air con system. Breakfast was good offering a a variety of cold and hot snacks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mohamed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Mohamed V

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing