We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic home away from home”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
2 reviews
“Fantastic home away from home”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Staying at the Monarch - with its beautiful architecture and stunning interiors - was an absolute pleasure! the staff extremely attentive and the whole feel of the hotel exudes luxury, style and extreme attention to detail. the extra effort that was made - so truely appreciated and made us all feel special & spoiled. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Quintin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Quinton B

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    51
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
32
212
35
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Monarch Hotel on business and had a wonderful experience. After booking the hotel online dut to the strength of the previous reviews, I contacted the reception and booked a driver to collect us from the airport. Confirmation of collection was received very quickly and the driver met us at arrivals with a sign and consequently we felt very safe and secure.

We took a Royal Suite which was very large and had a big balcony. The room was very quiet due to extensive soundproofing double glazing and as the hotel is located by a fairly busy road this was invaluable as it was completely silent.

Breakfast was included in the rate and was of a very good standard indeed.

Wifi was included, was unlimited data and devices. It worked faultlessly which was excellent for business use and continuity. Many places we visit have small use vouchers or a limit to the number of devices, not the Monarch, which was wonderful in this respect.

All staff without exception were superb and could not do enough to help.

If you want an ultra sleek minimalist hotel, the Monarch is not for you, but if you value comfort and a large, spacious room where the staff work hard to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as it can be then you should stay here.

We have no negative comments whatsoever and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Whenever we go to Johannesburg, we will stay here again. 10/10, Excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms I saw were very large with a big bathroom and huge bed. Even if you took a small room I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LionheadMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear LionHeadMedia

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This boutique hotel is well worth considering if you are visiting Johannesburg. This refurbished post office is a fantastic building and the staff are extremely attentive and committed to guests' comfort. It is well located and their restaurant is well worth checking out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CharliLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear ChariLee

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We picked this hotel as we had one night and afternoon to shop before hopping on our flight back to Australia and the Rosebank shopping mall is right next door. Beautiful old building, furnished graciously, our room was more of a suite with separate lounge area, sumptuous bathroom with enormous bath, beautiful bath/gel products and a huge comfortable bed. Complimentary non alchoholic beverages. We were unsure if we should eat in the restaurant as it was empty and looked overly posh and pricey. But it was a real surprise our meal was delicious, the service attentive, and reasonably priced. breakfast was also great we had the full cooked english breakfast. Unfortunately the shopping was not great - the complex is mostly empty. we did find a good african craft market where we were able to stock up on souvenirs.

Room Tip: all rooms are suites and i'm guessing as luxurious as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Lolly 61

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinchilla, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had arranged a pick up from the airport, we were very impressed with the professional service of the driver. Johannesburg can be quite daunting but we felt safe and secure in the vehicle and on arrival to the Monarch we were met by more friendly faces. The hotel is quaint and inviting its small being a boutique hotel but the grandeur of the rooms for the price its well worth the 30 minute trip from the airport. From the King size beds to the spacious well appointed bathroom, and that bath is just the place to soak after 14 hours of flying or being on safari for 10 days. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Johannesburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienne E, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Hi Sharon
We are delighted to hear your positive feedback. The monarch staff is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we could help make your trip to Johannesburg a memorable one.

Safe future travels
The Monarch Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I drove past this place several times since it opened. We decided to go there for a relaxing, intimate weekend. The service, food and staff understand hospitality and deliver it elegantly. The food was above our expectation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Warren H

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Experienced a Royal Suite. This is like a small appartment with dinning section and lounge. The bathroom is very big with Shower and bath. The location is very convenient very close to the rosebank shopping mall (walking distace) with retaurant and cinémas. The restaurant is also very good at the hotel. Definitely one of the best for the value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Voyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear BarnSkyBeat

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#9 of 68 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing