We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monarch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Beautiful suite. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast-quiet and private. The whole experience made us feel special. Good value for money. Rosebank area interesting and trendy. Will be fabulous when the mall's revamp is finished.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fanus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Fanus K

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    52
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
214
35
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel is outstanding in terms of location, furnishings, cleanliness and comfort, BUT what spoiled everything is the attitude - it seems like if you're not dressed in high heels, low-back dress, diamonds with Lui Vuitton bag in your hands, you will not be treated with respect in this hotel. We just came back from safari and high heels or tuxedo somewhat dissonate with our understanding of a safari outfit. The doorman instead of opening the door asked me "hi can I help you?", the receptionists were instantly checking on us by telephone trying to establish, which room we are staying and re-confirm that the person in khaki, who just placed an order for breakfast, is actually living in the room. On every step we were followed by silent disapproval of our jeans, hoodies and sneakers. The staff was very confused that we dared to disturb sacred space of the royal hotel with our safari boots. It's like coming to the business meeting in pajamas. I felt very unwelcome and uncomfortable. Monarch's hospitality holds no comparison with other Mantis hotel (Oceana in Port Alfred), which we've stayed earlier during the same week. I will never return to Monarch.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Galina_Molchanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etienne E, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Hi Galina
Apologies for the much delayed response. We as Monarch management welcome all guests from all walks of life. That is what makes The Monarch unique, I was very upset when I read your review and can assure you that this matter was addressed with all of our staff members. We welcome guests in Lui Vuitton on business travel and the ones in jeans and sneakers coming back from a long safari.

We would really like an opportunity to possibly change your opinion with your future travels to Johannesburg. Please be in contact and we would like to offer you a complimentary meal when you are in town again. Even if you choose accommodation elsewhere

We pride our self’s in turning first time guests into return guests and we welcome our return guests back like family. The Monarch team would really appreciate if you will afford us the opportunity to change your opinion.

Go Well – Safe future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

So what do you do when the iconic old Post Office in Johannesburg's upmarket suburb of Rosebank isn't needed any more? You turn it into a five-star hotel, create enormous, well-furnished luxury suites around a beautiful courtyard, staff it with cheery helpful people, provide excellent breakfasts in a sunny, well-appointed dining room, and deliver faultless service to your guests. And you don't charge them the earth for the privilege.

The Monarch Hotel is Johannesburg's best-kept secret. Excellently located right next door the Rosebank Mall with its shops and restaurants, secure guest parking round the back, and a stone's throw from the Gautrain connection to the airport, this boutique hotel should be first on your list. (Which means it may well be full when next I try to book, but no matter - something this good should be shared).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TILIS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear TILIS2013

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel.
Our initial room was not appropriate for our needs so we were moved immediately to a far grander room at no extra charge.
Staff were very gentle and understanding.
We did notice the plumbing was faulty in our grand room but otherwise, we felt like princesses - the amount of space and the sense of luxury.
We would also like to extend our thanks to the chef because the breakfast was outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFl0wer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Miss Flower

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Monarch hotel is the perfect destination for the first time visitor to Johannesburg. Mr. Jan, the hotel and staff are welcoming and give you the added assurance that you are safe under their hospitality. "Mosa" received us at the airport and had the perfect smile to welcome us to S. Africa. She also provided us with a one day tour of the city that was simply perfect and safe! "Richard" greeted us every morning and made us feel Presidentail as we had an amazing breakfast to get the day started. Thank you very much Richard!

Room Tip: Personal one on one service .... Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharief F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear ShariefF

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto Richard and the team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

In all respects, the Monarch Hotel is an excellent example of what makes a boutique hotel great. Personalized attention; beautiful, large rooms; a great atmosphere that sets it worlds apart from nearby large, institutional hotels. The only (small) shortcomings are forgivable: no electrical outlet in the bathroom and no pool or gym on premises. (Apparently, there is an agreement with a nearby gym, but didn't have a chance to use it. )
The location across from the Rosebank train station also makes it very easy to reach from the airport - from the time I stepped off the plan to entering the door of the Monarch took 30-35 minutes. The breakfast and dinner are also excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithinbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Keithinbrazil

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Monarch on our wedding night. The staff were extremely accomodating to our every need. I checked in early and got ready for my wedding in the room, I also had bride photos and bridesmaids photos in the hotel grounds. It was all very beautiful, and the staff were so so friendly, helpful and supportive. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you are using this hotel to get ready for your wedding - ask for the special rooms where there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shayne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Shayne9

Thank you for your wonderful review and images on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back to The Monarch time and again. I will pass your comments onto my team; they will be delighted to hear your feedback.

For your next stay please do not hesitate to contact us on reservations@monarchhotel.co.za as we would like to make your stay even more memorable, We look forward to welcoming you back to The Monarch very soon.

Best regards
Jan van As
General Manager, Monarch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Property: Monarch Hotel
Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing