We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...also known as Soweto” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Western Townships

South Western Townships
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.30*
and up
Soweto Half-Day Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #4 of 170 things to do in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
352 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“...also known as Soweto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I guess visiting Soweto has become a standard element of any visit to JoBurg. There are plenty of organized tours which take you into Soweto to visit the township itself as well as the Mandela House and a few other sights. Definitely a must.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barnskybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    245
    66
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not what I had expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had expected slumps. Soweto is REALLY NOT ANYTHING LIKE SLUMPS.
It is really touristy and there's not much to do around other than the touristy places.

I went bungee jumping in orlando towers, and it was great.

I think the atmosphere from soweto reminded me of home (brazil) and this is why i thought it was really nice. People smile and are polite.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank svetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Get a driver to tour so I told, because the commentary from a and educated tour guide really assists in the visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank crjmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Return visit to Soweto after 15 years was revealing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I first visited Soweto in 1999, five years after the end of apartheid and was amazed at the difference upon visiting again 15 years later. My first visit was revealing of the way of life of the Black population in the townships with the countless makeshift houses constructed by the poor among which were found a few clusters of well constructed modern homes. Today Soweto has many more modern houses, churches and public buildings in addition to becoming a tourist attraction. An impressive monument of the uprising that led to the overthrow of apartheid has been constructed among a cluster of modern buildings including a large hotel. Elsewhere in Soweto are museums and other sites telling the history of oppression and the Black resistance that led to the overthrow of apartheid. Don't miss seeing Nelson Mandella's modest house where he raised his
family.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We went as part of our trade mission and had the most fabulous afternoon. We visited Mandela's house, the Hector Pieterson memorial and ended off at one of the local restaurants. Its a whole different way of life in SOWETO and its really worth going and having a look at - even if you are a South African. I've realised that just because you were born in South Africa doesn't mean you automatically know what life is like for everyone. It's good to go and see some of these sites, if for no other reason than to appreciate what you have in life.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Western Townships also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to South Western Townships? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing