We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply exquisite !”
Review of The Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Winston Hotel
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply exquisite !”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Returning to South Africa a second time on a business trip I felt compelled to return to this amazing hotel. Yet again, the service was impeccable, the rooms and restaurant were outstanding. I highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be returning on my next visit to South Africa. Thank you for another great and enjoyable stay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    71
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
117
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Could not fault this impeccable hotel, stayed here on a business trip and loved every moment! Truly a world class boutique hotel! Rooms were stylish and spacious. Restaurant was superb and the bar a happening hot spot! Highly recommended and will definitely return - thank you for the great experience

Room Tip: Courtyard suite was fantastic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Unfortunately for us, we only stayed at the Winston for one night. The hotel is a beautiful boutique-style hotel with a lovely central courtyard containing pool, small garden and outdoor dining areas for the restaurant. The rooms have high ceilings, a separate shower and tub, tall windows and a very comfortable bed (my fiancée insisted I take a photograph of the mattress tag so that we could find it later!). Near our room at the top of the stairs, there was a sitting area with a nice selection of books on Africa and South Africa; I wish that we had stayed another few nights if only to spend some time perusing them!

The included breakfast is in the very nice hotel restaurant and was as good a menu selection as I've seen in an included hotel breakfast.

We chose the Winston due to its proximity to the Gautrain to the airport and to Park Station, as we were enroute to take the train to Cape Town and had no need for a rental car. We also received a very good rate for this style of property, and as I was not familiar with Jo'burg felt that the property and neighborhood would be a good place to spend the night. The Winston is located a short two-block walk from the Rosebank Gautrain station in a pleasant neighborhood. The Mall of Rosebank is also only a couple of blocks away, with its many shops and restaurants. That being said, when we arrived in the early evening and wanted to walk around to find a little place to eat, the manager on duty strongly recommended we did not as it was growing dark. (He said that he'd lived in the area for many years and would not hesitate himself, but as we were new to Jo'burg it would be best not to...being an experienced enough traveler I poked my head around and didn't find anything within walking distance, since the mall was closed!) We ended up eating at the hotel bar, and the food was fine.

Room Tip: Our room faced out into the car park (which is actually a cobbled, leafy area within the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roadbear67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Winston Hotel, located just behind the Rosebank Gautrain is a stunning boutique hotel with a standard of excellence that catered and provided a beautiful setting for our ideal intimate wedding.

The events manager, Lana, was very accommodating with our requests. She even sourced an arch and blue carpet for the ceremony we had on the outside terrace.
The rooms all have personal character and truly boutique with exquisite furnishes such as the Winsor chairs, tasteful art work, mirrors and special touches. The food is excellent with a crumptious selection available for a set menu. The salmon starter, springbok shank and cheesecake were our personal favourite.
The waiters are friendly, experienced and provided an excellent service to our guests.

We would recommend the Winston Hotel based on their outstanding 5 star offering

Room Tip: We had a balcony room which overlooked the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

The Winston Hotel lived up to all of my expectations (and they were high!). The welcome was warm and efficient and my room was spacious with everything I needed. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath and L'Occitane products. Air conditioning in the room was very welcome!

I enjoyed dinner in the restaurant and the staff were polite and friendly.

Nothing was too much trouble - the hotel arranged transfers for me and double-checked them for me.

I just wish I'd had longer to stay at the hotel. But I'd definitely stay again when next in Jo'Burg.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PruS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is my first review of a hotel on TripAdvisor. I confess that I am a TripAdvisor "stalker" who reads reviews, but never posts them. That being said, I decided that the service I have received at this hotel was worth breaking my long-standing silence.

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Johannesburg over the years at a range of prices and ratings. However, regardless of price, I have never had better service than I have had at the Winston. The hotel is small (30 rooms) and elegant with beautifully decorated and spacious rooms. The common areas make me feel like I am at home. Every meal I had in the restaurant was excellent. The location is convenient to the Rosebank Gautrain station, but a block off the main streets.

Most of all, the service has been outstanding. I cannot speak to those who have posted otherwise, but I have never had better service at any hotel, anywhere. For someone who travels far too much, this kind of service cannot be undervalued. My only hesitation in posting this review is that I fear there may not be a room available for me on my next trip to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I often spend time relaxing at the pool . The Winston has a personal touch which is missing in so many Joburg hotels . Every detail is tasteful and personalised . A great place for functions and weddings ... location is central just across from the Gautrain and Sunday fleamarket .. Great food

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancientsecrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.4 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
589 reviews
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winston Hotel

Property: The Winston Hotel
Address: No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Winston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winston Hotel is an elegant and exclusive luxury boutique hotel located in the vibrant commercial and financial district of Rosebank.We offer hyper-speed internet connectivity, free secure parking and exeptional personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing