We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capital on Bath(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peech Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
269
81
28
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
81
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelrosebank mallsmall buffetrooms are spaciousthe entire hotellovely hoteli highly recommend this hotellovely poolcommon areasgautrain stationsmall poolwonderful stayvisit johannesburglocation is excellentspecial thankslong flightsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

A luxury boutique hotel, hidden a block behind bustling Oxford Road, Rosebank. Secure parking on-site. Spacious, eclectic indoor and outdoor public areas with well-appointed, large rooms. Excellent service throughout, including a superb meal at THE restaurant. Local Jo'bergers who visited us here for a drink or meal were amazed at this hidden gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SfromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a gem of a boutique hotel, timeless eclectic decor with a touch of ecentricity, large rooms, comfy beds, and generous happy staff. I stayed here for a week while having medical treatment in Joburg, I cannot fault this place. The food is excellent, the coffee is superb, I cant believe what a perk that is to the spirits, after enduring bad coffee at hotels all over the world one just expects it, not here, one of the best capps I have ever had.
The position was perfect for me situated in the leafy and quiet suburb of Rosebank, only a couple of minutes walk from Rosebank Gautrain station which links you to the rest of Joburg and one stop from Sandton where you will find Joburgs biggest shopping complex. There is also a large shopping center close to the hotel with a supermarket and boutiques.
But mostly, during a time when I was feeling a little vulnerable and lonely, the staff and the atmosphere made me feel at home
Its not often I stay in a hotel I have no complaints about, this is one of them

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Good value! Friendly atmosphere, helpful staff. Nicely decorated, not dated. The food and cocktails are really good! We stayed for 2 nights and were happy with our choice! Location is nice. Lovely district near the center of town. We rented a car at the airport and were very well received. They have their own gated parking spots in the hotel grounds.However the hotel is also only a 5 min walk from the nearest railway station. Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

What an evening to remember- perfect to say the least. We decided to have a 60th birthday party at the Winston. The location is brilliant. The staff went way beyond to make this evening so special. The Winston has a private dinning room that was set for the 14 people that were invited to this special occasion. Nothing was too much hassle and the 3 course meal was delicious and well presented. Not one complaint. Well done to all at the Winston and thank you for making this such a memorable occasion for all.

Room Tip: Excellent Location and easy access to malls, gautrain and other areas of interest.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had two nights to recover from a long filght and get our ground legs for the rest of our trip. This place was perfect. It is located near the huge African Crafts Market in the Rosebank area for souvenir shopping and convenient to the airport. Has a residential feeling and a gracious management team. The beds were wonderful and the dining staff went out of their way to stay open for us when our plane was delayed. Only downside was there were some problems with the internet access. I would heartily recommend it and woudl stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews