We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Winston Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$340
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
273
81
28
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
81
28
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelrosebank mallsmall buffetrooms are spaciousthe entire hotellovely hoteli highly recommend this hotellovely poolcommon areasgautrain stationsmall poolwonderful stayvisit johannesburglocation is excellentspecial thankslong flightsmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I booked the February Special for my 4th wedding anniversary, it was the first night we would be sleeping away from our 1 year old son too. The location of the hotel was excellent as it was only 5 minutes from our house. I informed the receptionist on two occasions that it was my anniversary and I would like a special dinner setting. Not only was I disappointed that none of the staff seemed to care about our occasion, the food was sub standard. I could have cracked a tooth with the creme brule topping. I did not receive the complimentary bottle of house wine as advertised. As an experienced traveler and someone who appreciates boutique hotels, this was a big let down as far as service an attention to detail goes.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Mr DCM
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor about your experience at the Winston Hotel.
I have taken all our comments to heart and we will address all the points raised and this will assist us in
Improving our level of service to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

Please contact our reservations team on reservations@thewinstonhotel.co.za when you next travel to Johannesburg as it will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Winston Hotel


Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is our first stay at the Winston Hotel, and we can't believe we never knew about this hotel before now!! It is now the only hotel we would stay when we are in Johannesburg. I had the pleasure of meeting the owner; a charming lady who made it her mission to be sure we were happy with our accommodations.
Lovely staff, delightful outdoor spaces to enjoy breakfast or a coffee. Our room was fantastic, very comfortable and spacious.
A definite gem!!
Nancy H., San Diego, CA

Room Tip: To trip advisor--Don't know about spa or fitness center, but could not change my ratings above of those 2 categories.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor about your experience at the Winston Hotel. It is always wonderful to hear when our guests had enjoyed there stay at the Winston Hotel. We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

Please contact our reserations team on reservations@thewinstonhotel.co.za when you next travel to Johannesburg as it will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Winston Hotel

Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here with some friends for 3 nights, during a 14 day trip. The rooms are great, large size, best beds, everything you need is there for you. Its very classy and elegant and a must see.

The pool area is fantastic and in a great area, which is very safe. Close to all you need to enjoy Joburg and get back safely. A great breakfast each day included.

Rooms are very quiet and had fantastic sleep.

Really good service from all staff, no complaints and would stay there again for sure

Room Tip: A room facing inner courtyard and pool are nice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haidee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Haidee23

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor about your experience at the Winston Hotel. It is always wonderful to hear when our guests had enjoyed there stay at the Winston Hotel. We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

Please contact our reserations team on reservations@thewinstonhotel.co.za when you next travel to Johannesburg as it will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Winston Hotel

Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Far from the global and standardized hotel chains this place is charming and is a mix of comfort , old fashioned and classy Decoration. Professional team and appropriate service . Large rooms . Very quiet. Breakfeast as expected .
It is a pleasure to vsit the various lounges and take a book from the bibliotheque.
This place will stay in my memories for a long time and we recommed it to every visitor in johannesburg

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gillesMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Gilles Mauritius

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor about your experience at the Winston Hotel. It is always wonderful to hear when our guests had enjoyed there stay at the Winston Hotel. We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

Please contact our reserations team on reservations@thewinstonhotel.co.za when you next travel to Johannesburg as it will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Winston Hotel

Kind Regards


Donovan Britz
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Winston Hotel in Rosebank for 3 nights in room No. 18 ( upstairs corner ) it is a gated hotel, with a gard and very safe. Rosebank is a very safe neighborhood.

Our first impressions were that this hotel was most likely an old private home, the inside is very elegent and well decorated, maintaining its colonial state.

The service was swift and efficient - we never waited for any of our needs or questions. We had asked for an early checkin which was provided without charge.

The most impressive feature was how quiet our room was and we were in town.

An emphasis on African curios and feel was very well incorporated into the modern and spacious room design. The room had a very cleana nd modern bathroom, a balcony facing the courtyard parking lot. Some rooms face the interior courtyard. Our room was also equipment with our own modem,

The breakfast was included and very good. It consisted of a buffet containining cold items and a menu with hot items that you could order such as eggs, toast, potatoes, etc...

To be improved:

1. The internet speed did not allow for much online streaming such as you tube. It would need to wait for a large percentage to download prior to being able to watch lets say a movie without it stopping to download.

2. The pool itself was a little run down with the cement discolored or chipped ( hopefully not dirty )

Would would certainly recommend this hotel as the price point is great for the value.

3. The tiles on the balcony (black) turned our bare feet black in seconds - caution should you have white socks....

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the back of the hotel are very quiet
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISAandCHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews