We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star home away from home”
Review of The Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Winston Hotel
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Five star home away from home”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is my third time staying at The Winston Hotel. I stayed for 1 week and once again my stay was excellent. The staff are helpful and attentive, David, the driver, so helpful and friendly, picked me up from the airport in a spotless Mercedes. when i arrived at the hotel, as usual i was welcomed by staff who made me feel comfortable.The rooms are spacious and luxurious and i slept like a baby. The food at the restaurant is delicious -i ate dinner there every night, i am quite a fussy eater, so even when i ordered things that were not exactly on the menu it was no problem, this personal attention to guests is an example of level of service that earned this exquisite hotel its five stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Clair

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    68
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
115
36
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Decided to get out of home for the night and surprised my girlfriend with a stay at the Winston hotel. Even though I like 10 minutes away, it felt as though I was out of town. Beautiful decor, relaxing environment and super friendly and helpful staff made my stay really memorable.
Highly advised for anyone arriving in Johannesburg for the first time, who wants a well located base to plan the rest of your travels. It's only a 2 minute walk from the Gautrain station.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Greg R

Thank you for your very positive review and for your support. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Winston Hotel and we appreciate your noticing the extra touches. The Winston Hotel team pride themselves in the detail and in providing personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winston Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed 3 days for business meetings- and ejoied very much the atmosphere, the kind service and great room.
The restaurant serves very special and tasty courses ...
It was a pleasure to finish the day with a drink overlooking the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoli-bendavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Yoli-bendvid,

Your review has truly brightened a chilly Tuesday morning here at the Winston Hotel and I was excited to share it with my team. To hear that you had a wonderful stay and that we met every one of your expectations, and more, brings me so much joy. Our employees are dedicated to our guests and this is apparent in their personalised and attentive service which has earned them this splendid review. At the Winston Hotel, each and every one of our employees share a common objective to provide our esteemed guests with the finest service daily.

Please do let us know when you will be returning by emailing reservations@thewinstonhotel.co.za so that we can try echo the experience you had with us recently.

Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Absolutely loved my stay at the Winston hotel. The rooms are simply beautiful, the hotel staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant food is delicious! I will definitely return for another stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Jame R

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent experience at The Winston Hotel but more importantly are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

At the Winston Hotel we endeavor to create our own standards and every detail is considered, from the quality of the cuisine to the finer points of our warm hospitality.

I will pass your comments onto our Staff and the Chef, it always brightens our days when we know we succeeded in our goals to make your stay a memorable one.

Once again thank you for the kind words and i look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please contact our reservations team on reservations@thewinstonhotel.co.za when you next travel to Johannesburg.

Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel says all the right things but cold water on the coldest night of the year, leaves much to be desired. Problems happens, but how you resolve them sets you apart. Sadly not this hotel, where the airconditioning needs a leg-up too.

Room Tip: One with hot water and an operating air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Owner at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on tripadvisor.

The Winston Hotel has a very sophisticated hot water system that is monitored 24/7.
The water temperature readings during your staying period at the Winston hotel were above 54° C.
In very cold weather it may take a few second the hot water to reach the tap.
We can only assume that you may not have waited for the hot water to reach the tap or turned the Mixer tap to the opposite side in the direction of the cold water. (Our housekeeper found the mixer tap on the cold water after your departure). We regret that you did not give us the opportunity to come and assist at the time you called with regards to your room not having hot water as this could have alleviated any discomfort you experienced during your stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Winston Hotel is situated right within the Rosebank shopping area and 5 minutes walk to the Gautrain connecting Joburg to Pretoria. The hotel is situated on a quietish street yet within walking distance |(5 minutes or less) to the Rosebank Shopping mall. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom and bedroom very elegant and plush beddings geared to a Very good nights sleep. Staff are courteous and environment serene and relaxing. Only missing is a kettle for your private cuppa in the room which is a shame. Still the hotel provides 24 hours free tea delivery to your room. A little pricey but sure worth those special occasions or business visits where peace and quiet in a plush and conveniently located hotel means everything. Hope to have another experience at Winston, thanks to the staff and the great chef of course! Loved the chicken salad!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwangati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mwangati

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor about your experience at the Winston Hotel. Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

I have taken your comments with regards to the tea & coffee making facilities into consideration and would like to explain our philosophy at the hotel. We like to offer a more personal service for our guests, where we offer a complimentary coffee and tea room service 24 hours a day.

Please contact our reservations team on reservations@thewinstonhotel.co.za when you next travel to Johannesburg as it will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to the Winston Hotel

Warm Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First of all, I have to admit that initially I was reluctant to stay in this small-ish "boutique" hotel in Johannesburg. Now, I must tell you that I wish I could live there! I can't decide if the hotel staff or the hotel restaurant food or the furnishings/well-appointed rooms were my favorite, but it definitely starts with the people. From the front desk, to the restaurant, bar, housekeeping, maintenance, and Management: all are dedicated individuals with extremely lovely disposition and professional guest services skills. Truly - that means a lot when you're staying in a hotel for a week. My daughter and I dined in the hotel restaurant each day for breakfast and 3 nights for dinner. Each meal was better than the first! My compliments to the chefs, who make many of the ingredients (including the house-made Harissa - my daughter's favorite) from scratch. The secure garden area with pool is like a mini-paradise to relax in. But, when you want to venture out, the hotel driver, David, provides the highest quality chauffeur service including his knowledge of the area. There is so much to do and see, but it was certainly hard to leave the room with an effective "business area/desk" and the most lovely bed/linens and sitting area. The marble bathroom with tub and shower and window had excellent fixtures. Bottom line: business travelers and family holiday travelers will be most happy with every aspect of the Winston Hotel. I hope to return with my entire family (when we do our next "safari excursion" which was 2 hours away).

Room Tip: Great idea to upgrade to a balcony overlooking the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesliefreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Lesliefreda

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your recent experience at The Winston Hotel but more importantly are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

At the Winston Hotel we endeavor to create our own standards and every detail is considered, from the quality of the cuisine to the finer points of our warm hospitality.

My team's attention to detail, seamless planning and implementation makes the Winston Hotel, your home away from home and it is the goal of our entire team that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship with you.

Once again thank you for the kind words and i look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please contact our reservations team on reservations@thewinstonhotel.co.za when you next travel to Johannesburg.

Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
715 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winston Hotel

Property: The Winston Hotel
Address: No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Winston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winston Hotel is an elegant and exclusive luxury boutique hotel located in the vibrant commercial and financial district of Rosebank.We offer hyper-speed internet connectivity, free secure parking and exeptional personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing