We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Review of The Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Winston Hotel
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Really enjoyed our nights stay at The Winston, lovely rooms and staff and very close to the Gautrain which meant we didn't have to rent a car. I would highly recommend this Hotel, if your looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Kate M

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    74
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
121
38
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Delighted to be back in my home town after some years in the USA and I treated myself to a hotel stay near my old street. It was quite a surreal experience being so close to home again. I loved the hotel, it was stunning and so comfortable. Decor and styling were wonderful. Food was fantastic and waiting staff were very attentive. I stayed for ten days so was costly but well worth it. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bbee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Bbee C

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joburg
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This special boutique hotel is a must try and just a block away in a quite leafy street a block away from the Rosebank Station.

We hosted a event for 40 work colleagues which turned out to be just perfect.

Personalized service and a quality meal made the evening very special.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EONJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear EONJoburg

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your event.

Kind regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great little find in the heart of Rosebank, superbly done up rooms, spacious, well appointed, tasteful. Very friendly and helpful staff, the free all day room service on tea and coffee is great as well especially as you can book a wakeup call and mornign coffee the night before. The areas of improvement are minor but just in case Winston wants to get even better:
1. Bathroom floors are really cold in winter, any way to heat them orr have rugs?
2. Also the basin tap takes ages for the hot water to come through, anyway to improve that plumbing?
3. Check-in staff while very friendly and well-meaning was quite perplexed and unprapered in the billing area and took ages to prepare check-out bill and explain the money they had held on ym carrd,. then cancelled plus the actual charges. Made me look silly and suspicious to ask for explanation mutliple times
4. Food is good but really tiny menu that risks getting repetiive for medium stay guests, definitely needs more variety
5. Curtains around the work space window in the room since the sun shines really brightly and makes it impossible to sit at the desk during the day to work. Despite the lovely alcove I had to work on my bed coz I couldnt sit at the desk and take the sun in my eyes

Room Tip: I'd say anything on the first floor since the groun floor rooms look directly out into the court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeblinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear DeblinaC

Thank you for your very positive review and for your support. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Winston Hotel and we appreciate your noticing the extra touches. The Winston Hotel team pride themselves in the detail and in providing personalized service.

I have taken your suggestions and comments to heart and will address them at our next management meeting to find the best possible solution to make our guests stay a more pleasant and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winston Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I live on Johannesburg and we wanted to have one night at a hotel ( a Staycation;) and we chose this hotel. Number one it's gorgeous.. Very stylishly put together. What really impresses me is how a place handles a complaint (our aircon was loud) & they really handled it well. They give 24hrs free tea and coffee and it's delivered to your room. Breakfast amazing. Bar v nice. Enjoy! It's a great hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sirensash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Sirensash

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is my third time staying at The Winston Hotel. I stayed for 1 week and once again my stay was excellent. The staff are helpful and attentive, David, the driver, so helpful and friendly, picked me up from the airport in a spotless Mercedes. when i arrived at the hotel, as usual i was welcomed by staff who made me feel comfortable.The rooms are spacious and luxurious and i slept like a baby. The food at the restaurant is delicious -i ate dinner there every night, i am quite a fussy eater, so even when i ordered things that were not exactly on the menu it was no problem, this personal attention to guests is an example of level of service that earned this exquisite hotel its five stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Clair

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Decided to get out of home for the night and surprised my girlfriend with a stay at the Winston hotel. Even though I like 10 minutes away, it felt as though I was out of town. Beautiful decor, relaxing environment and super friendly and helpful staff made my stay really memorable.
Highly advised for anyone arriving in Johannesburg for the first time, who wants a well located base to plan the rest of your travels. It's only a 2 minute walk from the Gautrain station.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WinstonHotel342, Manager at The Winston Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Greg R

Thank you for your very positive review and for your support. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Winston Hotel and we appreciate your noticing the extra touches. The Winston Hotel team pride themselves in the detail and in providing personalized service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Winston Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Donovan Britz
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.4 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
741 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
0.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
600 reviews
1.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winston Hotel

Property: The Winston Hotel
Address: No 6 Tottenham Avenue | Melrose Estate, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Winston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winston Hotel is an elegant and exclusive luxury boutique hotel located in the vibrant commercial and financial district of Rosebank.We offer hyper-speed internet connectivity, free secure parking and exeptional personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing