We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peech Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Sandton I(Sandton)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Premiere Classe Suites(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capital on Bath(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
100
40
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
40
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolother guestswelcoming oasislocal greek restaurantgautrain buspoor wifihaven of peacepeaceful retreatbreakfast roommajor attractionshour securityhome away from homechain hotelbreakfast and dinnerrecommend this guest housegarden settingrosebank mall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a pleasant suprise! not a Hotel, not a guest house, but a warm welcoming place in a concrete jungle.
Melrose place has 30 rooms/suites and a large friendly breakfast room next to the the pool.
almost every kind of tree can be found in the the grounds and the stall are friendly and keen to help. this oasis is run by Sue who will organise everything during your stay from a private taxi to collect you from the airport and run you around during your stay, to tours of places of interest, to organising drinks and snacks when you find yourslf suddenly back at the lodge early. An evening meal is available, book before 3pm.
Johannesburg has a fearsome reputation for crime and so a trip there was a little worring but we walked down to Rosebank, where there are many restaurants and shops and on sunday a fascinating rooftop African market. We walked back and fore to work daily and eat out locally each evening and did not see anything untoward or disturbing, but a purchase of the local paper on the fourth day really did open our eyes and made us a little more cautious.
Johannesburg has a bad reputation and it would be foolish to ignore it but we travelled safely and eat well.
A lodge like Melrose Place makes a lot of difference and I think is probally more secure than most mainstream hotels, it certainly makes you feel a lot more comfortable.

Room Tip: There is a small thatched cottage at the edge of the pool. It is so attractive and tempting that I am sure it is booked months in advance. but hey! go for it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taffemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
426sue, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Melrose Place and that you felt well looked after and comfortable. We strive to make a home for every guest and always look forward to your return on another trip. As you saw during your stay there are so many visitors from all over the world doing business or vacationing here in Johannesburg and there is no need to be fearful at all as long as you are sensible. We are very pleased that nothing was as daunting as you were led to believe and that you felt secure at all times.
best wishes sue and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Sue and the staff at Melrose Place Guest Lodge are fantastic! They went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable when visitng Jo'burg and when our baby was sick and made us feel at home. The accommodation is comfortable, clean and the grounds are beautiful and relaxing. We will definitely stay again when we return to SA!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unhappyinnamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I've just come back from a week in Johannesburgh for work. Melrose guest house felt like home from home! Sue (the owner) and her staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The whole place had a relaxed, warm, cosy feel.

So much nicer than staying in yet another hotel chain!

My room was large, elegantly furnished and spotless. Breakfast and dinner you eat with the other guests and it was lovely opportunity to meet new people, do some networking and swap travel tips! I was travelling with a colleague, but it would be an ideal place to stay as a single traveller. The food was proper home cooking, delicious - again so much nicer than most large hotels (I've stayed in a few).

A couple of things to mention - the wifi was a little up and down and you don't get an iron and ironing board in your room (one was available in the laundry room but as i was out all day it would have been really help to have one in my room). They also don't serve food on a Sunday (apart from breakfast) but there are some lovely restaurants within walking distance (quite safe to walk too). I can recommend the Greek restaurant - sorry can't remember the name.

None of these things should put you off - the pros completely outway the cons, those points just stopped me giving it 5 stars! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed here last week for a few days. Excellent accommodation and service and very well located if you have business across town. Also handy for Melrose arch restaurants. Also found very interesting range of guests from around the world. Also one of best breakfasts had in an SA guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just attended a 4 day workshop there and everything was handled very well. Meals and refreshments were great - very generous. Security good with ample parking. Some of the group stayed at the Lodge and found it very pleasant and good value and location. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews