We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
Ranked #22 of 297 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was a business trip for me and my wife,we stayed 11 nights in March 2013.
Beautiful house and gardens, room was lovely,. we ate out on a couple of occasions but I really liked the cooking at the guest house.. Sue is a great host and she makes sure that everybody is introduced at the table.
Membership to Planet fitness, which is just down the road, is included, and this was the best gym I have ever been too.
The location is ideal just tucked away on a private estate, round the corner from shops and restaurants and a short distance to the main motorway routes.
Staff are friendly and the rooms were always cleaned to a high standard.
Big plus for us was meeting a celebrity who was staying there,he signed the guest book saying great breakfast, so right.
he was An idiot Abroad, but knows a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    36
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
36
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

A unique place with very nice staff and very beautiful rooms. Looks like a little paradise in the big city. Location is perfect, with nice restaurants and good shoppingcenters nearby. A perfect place to stay in Joburg.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in Melrose Place while visiting family in Johannesburg recently. We were fortunate to get the Rondavel with the thatched roof. The only negative is that being a Rondavel, there was a musty smell and the shower could use a bit of an agressive cleaning, but that won't stop us from going back there. The pool was right outside our door. The staff were amazing. Our hostess introduced us each day to people who had just arrived and the conversations that went around the table were great. Everyone was from somewhere else around the world. As you can imagine Johannesburg is not the safest place to be but at this little oasis in the middle of the city, there is no sense of insecurity. Our Sue Truter (owner) also arranged our tours. Don't miss Soweto. You will get the real tour not the CNN view. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranThornhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Melrose beat my expectations by a yard! We stayed there only for two days at the tail end of our honeymoon, and given that we had already spent over a week travelling around SA, this hotel was just what we needed to relax and unwind before travelling back home. The reception was warm and our room very comfortable. They accorded us an extremely late check out (we really should have been charged for an extra day!) and also helped us with lots of information about conveniences around the Melrose area. I would return and recommend it to everyone, especially if large impersonal hotels are not your cup of tea. Didn't see a gym or fitness centre but the pool is lovely!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We had a lovely and very comfortable stay at Melrose Place. It is a great location...easy to get pretty much everywhere. The beds were SO comfortable. The size of the place was perfect also, its not tiny (so you don't feel like you are being watched all the time) but small enough to feel comfortable and enjoy the surroundings. It was such a lovely place to return to after being in the hustle and bustle (and traffic) of Jo'Burg. The best part of this guest house was the staff!!! They were all warm and inviting...

We will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Melrose Place Guest Lodge is this wonderful, tranquil surprise in Johannesburg. You couldn't get a more welcoming reception on arrival from Sue (owner) and her friendly staff. Our room was beautifully furnished and the bed was so, so comfy. The garden and pool were attractive and lovely to look out on from the large friendly breakfast room. Although a little apprehensive when we first arrived, we felt very safe walking locally in the Melrose area and found a wonderful bistro cafe, Voodoo Lily, at the Birdhaven shops about 5 minutes walk away. Sue organised a day tour of Johannesburg & Soweto for us using a private taxi, which included a visit to the Apartheid museum, a not to be missed experience. We much preferred staying here than to a hotel and will be back very soon! If you have the same misfortune as I did and require emergency dental treatment, Sue can point you in the direction of her superb dentist in Birdhaven!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICTFCAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What a pleasant suprise! not a Hotel, not a guest house, but a warm welcoming place in a concrete jungle.
Melrose place has 30 rooms/suites and a large friendly breakfast room next to the the pool.
almost every kind of tree can be found in the the grounds and the stall are friendly and keen to help. this oasis is run by Sue who will organise everything during your stay from a private taxi to collect you from the airport and run you around during your stay, to tours of places of interest, to organising drinks and snacks when you find yourslf suddenly back at the lodge early. An evening meal is available, book before 3pm.
Johannesburg has a fearsome reputation for crime and so a trip there was a little worring but we walked down to Rosebank, where there are many restaurants and shops and on sunday a fascinating rooftop African market. We walked back and fore to work daily and eat out locally each evening and did not see anything untoward or disturbing, but a purchase of the local paper on the fourth day really did open our eyes and made us a little more cautious.
Johannesburg has a bad reputation and it would be foolish to ignore it but we travelled safely and eat well.
A lodge like Melrose Place makes a lot of difference and I think is probally more secure than most mainstream hotels, it certainly makes you feel a lot more comfortable.

Room Tip: There is a small thatched cottage at the edge of the pool. It is so attractive and tempting that I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
426sue, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Melrose Place and that you felt well looked after and comfortable. We strive to make a home for every guest and always look forward to your return on another trip. As you saw during your stay there are so many visitors from all over the world doing business or vacationing here in Johannesburg and there is no need to be fearful at all as long as you are sensible. We are very pleased that nothing was as daunting as you were led to believe and that you felt secure at all times.
best wishes sue and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.8 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
0.8 mi away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#26 of 66 in Johannesburg
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.2 mi away
Leighwood Lodge
Leighwood Lodge
#20 of 297 in Johannesburg
90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandton Lodge Inanda
Sandton Lodge Inanda
#9 of 115 in Johannesburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Place Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Property: Melrose Place Guest Lodge
Address: 12A North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Place Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Home in the heart of Johannesburg. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton. Melrose Place offers luxurious en-suite accommodation and has earned its reputation by providing warm hospitality and excellent service, making it a true home from home for the discerning guest. The wonderful garden shaded by many trees sets off the swimming pool where guests can take time out to relax from the pace of their travels. Secure parking. Complimentary gym access, complimentary Wi-Fi. Perfect base for the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melrose Place Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing