We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodge, ideally located to visit Jo'Burg or after a flight before visiting SA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose Place Guest Lodge
Ranked #26 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed with friends for one night after our return flight from Botswana.
It was the perfect choice.
It is a big lodge with many rooms but you don't have that feeling.
The friendly personnel was very helpfull.
The rooms are very spacious and clean.
We decided to have dinner at Melrose and this was a good decision.
Definitely a place to come back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank filip_rosselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Our family stayed at Melrose Lodge for several nights in april and the whole stay was just perfect from the beginning to the end. We stayed in rooms 307 and 308 which were perfectly close to one another. Breakfast room was cosy and the food was fresh. The owner took good care of us and made us feel at home. The location is good and there is good parking at the lodge (you need a car in Joburg to get anywhere). The lodge is perfect if you are looking for a cosy homelike feeling instead of a big hotel. There is a small relaxing pool area where you can read and sit in the sun for a while. Would definately stay again at Melrose Lodge if we come back to Joburg.

Room Tip: 307 and 308 are good if you need two rooms that feel private and are close together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Melrose Place continues to be our favorite place to stay in Johannesburg. It is well run and efficiently staffed. Highly recommended! The garden is beautiful, rooms are spacious. Breakfast buffet provides all we wanted.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Many thanks to Sue and her staff for going out there way to make our stay in Jhb a very memorable!!!! Coming home from work to our little oasis in the concrete jungle really made it possible for us to unwind and get ready for another long day at work. By far the best option for accommodation in Jhb!!!! Very close some of the most amazing restaurants and shopping malls! thank you and see you again Warren!!!

Room Tip: 309 is pretty gangsta... but all the rooms I saw were amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warren e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Away from the bustle of a big city, Melrose Place feels like you are in a garden of Eden. I fell in love with the inviting pool and the lush vegetation. Even enjoyed the raucous cries of the ibis. Room was so comfortable and the food was excellent. As noted by others all the staff were welcoming.
It is accommodating for a small group, we were 10.

Room Tip: There are 3 first floor rooms convenient if one has mobility issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

There is nothing better than arriving at this place to be welcomed by a friendly staff who cater to your every need, making you feel like the most important person in the world. It is set in an old Johannesburg suburban home with swimming pool in the front amongst the trees, a large thatch rondavel as a pool house residence, two verandas, and a number of guest rooms in the main building or in small 'chalet's adjacent amongst the old trees.
But, what is even better is the incredible conversation at dinner or breakfast as you sit with an array of unique people from all over the world, passing through. And you can order virtually any type of breakfast you want, made to your specifications.
The owner is there all the time, as is her daughter, and a warm staff that does not seem to change.
I cant wait to go back for my fifth time.

Room Tip: I like the poolside big thatched 'rondavel'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our trip through South Africa dedicated little time to Johannesburg -- just two day, and those just before a flight to Victoria Falls, and the return before flying out the next day to Ethiopia. But for us, and from what we observed for others intending to spend much more time in Jo'burg, Melrose Place Guest House was perfect, due to the wonderful engagement of Sue, the hands-on manager who resides on the property. We were driving our rental car into the city from Kruger NP, and she gave us perfect, simple directions to navigate the city's tangle of expressways. On arrival, we were lodged in an upgraded room as a business group had filled the standard rooms we had booked. Knowing our predilection for good food, she directed us to a nearby seafood eatery that was outstanding -- the understated dessert being the best on our trip. Secure, on property parking and easy ingress and egress back to the airport, made our morning flight far easier than I could have imagined. On our return, the Gautrain from the airport, and a short taxi ride, gave us plenty of time to relax before again heading out to sample great cuisine at another complex with several restaurants, one of which (for beef) was nearly as good as our first dinner in Jo'burg. Sue also allowed us to leave half our luggage at the hotel while we went to Victoria Falls, and held cash and valuables for our return. The breakfasts were also to the same fine standard as the rest of the service -- attentive staff and delicious. When we next return to Johannesburg, we will surely be found lodging at Melrose Place Guest House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melroseplacejhb, Owner at Melrose Place Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you very much for your review of Melrose Place, we greatly appreciate it and are so pleased to know that you were comfortable and well looked after during your stays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here another time when you return to Johannesburg. With very best wishes Sue and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#29 of 66 in Johannesburg
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 298 in Johannesburg
181 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#10 of 298 in Johannesburg
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
#13 of 298 in Johannesburg
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Place Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Place Guest Lodge

Address: 12A North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £61 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melrose Place Guest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Home in the heart of Johannesburg. Centrally situated between Rosebank and Sandton. Melrose Place offers luxurious en-suite accommodation and has earned its reputation by providing warm hospitality and excellent service, making it a true home from home for the discerning guest. The wonderful garden shaded by many trees sets off the swimming pool where guests can take time out to relax from the pace of their travels. Secure parking. Complimentary gym access, complimentary Wi-Fi. Perfect base for the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Melrose Place Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing