We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B and perfect service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 293 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great B&B and perfect service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in Rutland House for our last night in South Africa. The place has a lovely garden full of birds in a quiet area of Johannesburg with malls and parks a few blocks away. The best thing here is the service. Delia is absolutely wonderful, sweet and welcoming. She even drove us herself to the restaurant for our dinner and made sure that the restaurant will organize our way back to the B&B. Breakfast was like at home and we had a great time talking with her as if we knew each other for a long time.
I definitely recommend this B&B if you visit Johannesburg!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwidexav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delia12014, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Xavier, Thank you both for staying at Rutland House. You are the sort of guests who make me love my work. I equally enjoyed our interesting conversations and I was sorry you were gone so soon. Thank you for your lovely review it was a great pleasure to have you both to stay. I hope you return to South Africa in the near future. All the best.
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
54
22
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I must take my hat off to Delia and her team, stayed there for a week and the stay was so relaxed hardly realised that I was down in Johannesburg on business. The rooms were extremely comfortable, even the environment and surroundings were so relaxed. The home cooked meals were a great welcome, what a big change from having to live on takeaways. anyone traveling be it on pleasure or business Rutland Guest House is the place to stay. I know I will be making as many stops there as I can be it business or pleasure. Thanks Delia see you soon. Norris C

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorrisCGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
True to your word you were back before I could thank you for your lovely review.
It was great to have you to stay again and I look forward to the next time.
All the best and thank you.
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Welcome to Rutland House! It was with these warm words I was received on the evening of April the 5th, in Craighall Park Johannesburg. The next morning, I was simply amazed at the verdant heavenly, beauty, idyllic place. Additionally to its beauty, it is a quiet, safe place with all modern requirements for a business or family trip . It is with great pleasure that I'll schedule my next stay in Johannesburg Rutland House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
It was such a pleasure to have you to stay and your enthusiasm for my B&B was most refreshing.
I enjoyed our interesting chats at breakfast before you went to work and I really look forward to your promised next visit when I will show your the results of the renovations in the other rooms that were being done during your visit. Keep well till then and thank you for the great review. Best regards
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We are a family of 4 and have recently returned from a most fantastic trip to Jo'Burg, RSA. We were lucky enough to stay at Rutland House B&B where we were made so welcome. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with all mod cons, and the gardens were a picture with the most charming swimming pool which looked so inviting, but we didn't use as the weather wasn't warm enough. Delia was incredibly friendly and accommodating and we would definitely stay again when in Jo'Burg in the future. In fact, she made us so welcome and comfortable that we wouldn't dream of looking for anywhere else to stay. Thank you Delia for such happy memories of your beautiful B&B - we will be back!

Fiona and Alan Palacci and family

Room Tip: Delia replied very promptly to our specific requests and managed to satisfy all our requirements. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Fiona, Thank you for your super review. I am sorry it was such a fleeting visit but I felt we had known each other for years by the time you left. I am so pleased I could have you and your delightful family to stay and I could accommodate all the various sleeping arrangements for you so successfully. I look forward to your next trip so keep well till then.
Best regards
Delia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Rutland House is a quiet haven with lovely rooms and wonderful personal service. I first stayed there several years ago, and had forgotten how charming it is. My recent visit more than lived up to my expectations. The gardens are beautiful and the whole place is relaxing and welcoming. Delia was very friendly and helpful and organised trips for me, all of which worked beautifully. I certainly look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review Doreen. I look forward to having you to stay again at Rutland House on your annual South African holiday. I always enjoy your visits and our chats, you have become a good friend over the many years and one of my treasured guests. I look forward to showing you my new renovations next January .
Keep well till next time. Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at Rutland House several times over the years, up until last year. I am now planning another trip to Jo'burg, but will stay somewhere else. In spite of the good reviews on Tripadvisor, I have watched the accommodations at Rutland House slowly become more and more worn out each time I visit, and the bathrooms are 1980s style. Yes, Delia is a charming hostess, but there is much better, and cheaper, accommodation available in Jo'burg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-CDup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for your honest review. I completely agree with you that 2 of the bathrooms needed upgrading. 1 has been done already and we are busy with the next as I write.
Every year I budget approximately R1000,00.00 for upgrading and maintenance. Last year it was trees, garden, TV's and beds. Next year it is replacing carpets with wooden floors.
As I am still educating my daughter at university I have to budget carefully.
I do however feel it was a little harsh to write off my entire Guest House due to an old fashioned bathroom which worked perfectly. This is an old property with loads of character and was not custom built as a B&B which is why many of my regular guests come back for years on end and my new guests love it.
I do hope you have an enjoyable stay wherever you are on your next trip to Johannesburg.
regards
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

From the moment we arrived from our overnight flight from Singapore we really loved staying at Rutland House and Delia is such a good hostess, somehow finding time to chat and fill us in. The property is most attractive and well looked after and is in a very secure and safe area. Delia also organises safe collection and delivery to the airport. Delicious breakfasts cooked in front of us and a firstclass restaurant for dinner close by. We think South African B&Bs are as good as we have ever found, and this was certainly one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxdfarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutlandhouse, Owner at Rutland House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and I am pleased I could give you a good welcome to South Africa for the first few nights on your holiday at Rutland House. I trust the rest of your holiday was as successful and enjoyable.
With very best regards
Delia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Craighall Garden Guest House
Craighall Garden Guest House
#63 of 293 in Johannesburg
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hamilton
The Hamilton
#34 of 293 in Johannesburg
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
#1 of 293 in Johannesburg
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leighwood Lodge
Leighwood Lodge
#20 of 293 in Johannesburg
87 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Parkwood
The Parkwood
#11 of 293 in Johannesburg
130 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blackheath Manor Guest House
Blackheath Manor Guest House
#6 of 293 in Johannesburg
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Rutland House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 48 Rutland Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 293 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delia Ferguson has been extending a warm welcome to her guests since 1995. Rutland House is centrally situated in a lush half acre garden between Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and Randburg. All the suites and cottages are set away from the main house, each with it's own private patio or garden. The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for families or long stays. The one bedroom cottage is perfect for the business traveller on a contract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rutland House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland House Bed And Breakfast
Rutland House Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing