We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent weekend in this Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent weekend in this Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

l spent three nights in this stunning boutique hotel, in the heart of Houghton Estate. My choice of this boutique hotel as a getaway was certainly the right one. The staff all round are friendly, attentive and most welcoming. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious, with the most wonderful amenities provided to make your stay even more special. lt was these special touches that made me feel truly at home. The wonderful garden setting certainly added to my experience of total relaxation. Dining at the hotel was an experience of true five star standards with a small but tasty menu being provided. l will return as soon as l have the opportunity to travel to Johannesburg again. Thank you to all who made this a special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia May F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
On behalf of the entire team here at 10 2nd Avenue, I would like to thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our valued guests have enjoyed their stay with us, and that we are your destination of choice on your next visit to Johannesburg. We do take care to make our guests feel at home at all times, by providing excellent service, comfort and gracious style in all areas of our hotel.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    37
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
45
9
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed at this boutique hotel and we were disappointed. We found the service was not what it should have been. When we booked, we specifically requested a room with its own balcony and this was confirmed by the hotel in my reservation, the room we were given had no balcony and we actually shared a courtyard with other rooms. We didn't complain as the room was spacious and clean and we did not want to make a scene as we were having a night away from it all and didn't want to ruin it.

We decided to go downstairs in the evening for cocktails and dinner, however no one was around when we got downstairs and after 10 mins waiting someone did arrive, but they did not actually tell us where to go for dinner, so we decided to go back to our room and have room service. We ordered room service which arrived an hour and a half later (we ordered toasted sandwiches). When the food arrived it was cold and was not what we ordered. By this time we were starving so ate what we could and left the rest.

The champagne breakfast in the morning was also a let down as we weren't offered a glass of champagne and their wasn't a large selection of food out, also there was nothing to cut the cheese with. The food was ok, but our table was dirty and had no side plates.

All in all, we had an ok stay. The hotel itself could do with some fixing up and was a bit dirty in places (not our room, this was clean). When staying in a boutique hotel, I expect top service and sadly this wasn't the case. We won't be returning and I won't be recommending this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanniAds80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you very much for your response regarding your observation during your visit to our hotel.

First of all I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience we may have caused during your stay with us. It is certainly not our usual high standards you have experienced during your stay. We are aware of the various shortcomings over this specific weekend, as we were experiencing a serious shortage of staff and had to replace them on short notice with casual and inexperienced staff members.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Beautiful facility, enormous rooms and bathrooms, fabulous service. Great breakfast selection as well. Eating dinner there feels like you're in someone's fabulous colonial dining room, and the staff really sets things up nicely so the different groups have their own space. The hotel is out of the way so may be better if you have transport of your own so you don't have to always get a cab everywhere.

Room Tip: There is work going on on the house next door; if early morning noise bothers you you may wish to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel on the Tripadvisor website.
It is always a great pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We were also delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the meals and the service. We do pride ourselves on our fine cuisine and delicious Champagne Breakfasts.

With regards to the construction going on next door, we would like to apologise most sincerely for any inconvenience caused to you by this. The building is now complete and therefore these interruptions are no longer affecting us.

We look forward to hosting you at our beautiful hotel once again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We absolutely loved staying at this hotel. It is like staying in a grand house. All the people working there are very friendly. The rooms have a gas fireplace, nice bathrooms, very comfortable bed. The breakfast is very nice. We also ate dinner in their restaurant on two evenings -- the food was very good but the menu understandably tends to stay the same with perhaps the soup and dessert rotating. Maybe we were lucky but both those nights we were the only people eating dinner. So it felt like we were royalty but for a reasonable price. We used their service from and to the airport and all that was very satisfactory and seemed like a reasonable price (about $40 each way). They had parking for people who were self-driving, which also looked like a fine option. I hope to be so lucky as to stay in as nice a hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor.

We were most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us here at this wonderful hotel, not only the hotel facilities, but also and in particular the service provided by our excellent team of staff.
We do strive to always meet and exceed our guest’s expectations by providing them with every luxury and comfort.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This Hotel had terrific big spacious rooms with big bathrooms, tub and shower. Very comfortable beds and space with all the extra touches to make you feel at home. Restaurant was just average though, food nothing special and drinks were way over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor. We are very grateful for all comments related to the services and products of our Hotel, and most particularly the well being and comfort of our valued guests.
We were most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us here at this wonderful hotel.
We have noted your comments with regards to the food, and the beverage prices, and we will most certainly address these observations immediately.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My family and I stayed at 10 2nd Avenue for one night between our flight from London and flight out to Kruger Park. They collected us at the airport with a very friendly driver who took us to the property telling us about Johannesburg on the way. On arrival we were met by the staff and duty manager at the door and invited to have coffee and tea. The rooms are very spacious with both of our rooms having a fire place. All the staff were very friendly and the property gardens are stunning. Nearby there is a shopping centre even though I wouldn't advise walking because the roads are a bit lonely and all houses have very high walls. All in all, a fantastic property.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for your response on Tripadvisor.
We were most delighted to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay here at our beautiful hotel, its surroundings and the service of our friendly and exceptional staff. We continually strive to provide a haven of luxury and elegance for our guests, by providing exceptional service at all times.
We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I made a change from my usual home away from home (City Lodge Morningside) to try something different. The Hotel was quiet and well located for my business needs. The free wifi was a big plus as were the short bread biscuits left in the room each night.

We had a few hiccups with regards to the DSTV, but these were resolved quickly and efficiently as the duty manager relocated me to a neighbouring room.

I will be back.... hopefully so will others so the hotel won't be like a ghost town

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Eberlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback via Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at our beautiful hotel.
We are always delighted to hear that our guests expectations have been met, and even exceeded.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, to experience "Gracious Living in Luxury"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
740 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Property: 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#17 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 12 Luxury Rooms, of which 1 is a Family Room, 2 Executive Suites, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include Continental & Hot to-order Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the juice & non-alcoholic cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambience of the veranda, overlooking lush landscaped gardens or indulging in a pre-dinner non-alcoholic drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE's renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing