We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small scale, lovely setting, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Small scale, lovely setting, great service”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly, shown to sizeable and very well kept rooms, and soon were seated at their open air bar near the small pool, looking across perfectly maintained grounds and listening to the abundant songbirds. The meals we had at the hotel were excellent. Well situated for this business trip in being close to main roads but otherwise a serene oasis. Agreed with other reviewers that it is worth requesting a garden view room or one with an upper balcony; however it should be noted that there is a charge added for those. A wholly pleasant stay, would be delighted to return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuneseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you very much for the time you have taken to complete the Tripadvisor questionaire.
It is always a pleasure to communicate these positive comments to the staff.
We look forward to welcome you back to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate to enjoy our "Gracious Living in Luxury".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    37
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
18
45
9
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Houghton estate is perfectly manicured and the rooms are beautiful. The staff, especially Freddy, Professor, Matthew and Luke were so hospitable and friendly. The breakfast overlooking the garden was perfect. The only area of improvement is with the daytime receptionists - they could have been more knowledgeable on what to do around Johannesburg.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
On behalf of the entire team here at 10 2nd Avenue, and in particular those members of our team which you have indicated as having made your stay particularly delightful, I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor response.

We have noted your comments with regard to the receptionists, and will certainly take the necessary steps to ensure they are up to date with the latest information with regards to assisting in events and happenings in and around Johannesburg.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel with its "Gracious Living in Luxury" in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We only spent one night at the Houghton Estate. It was to be our last night in South Africa so much time was spent packing and preparing for our long trip home. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time sitting by the lovely pool area. We had two rooms, both spacious, immaculate, and with all the necessities. The staff were all gracious. We forgot to ask in advance for a later check out, as our transportation back to the airport wasn't going to arrive until 14:45. They were very accommodating, and let us stay in our rooms until 1PM (check out is at 10AM).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete and send your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.
We were delighted that you chose our hotel for you and your family's last night's stay here in South Africa, and indeed that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We do strive at all times to ensure the utmost comfort of our guests, and were delighted to hear that our staff and services met and exceeded your expectations.

It would be a delight and a privilege to host you and your family during your next trip to sunny South Africa.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in early December, arriving mid-morning on Sunday - shown to my room immediately and offered complimentary guava juice. All the staff were delightful. Hotel was full but somehow it never felt crowded or busy. Breakfast outside overlooking the gardens was a great start to the day - lots of cooked options and sumptuous continental spread (champagne available). Wifi reception good on the verandah, which was a lovely place to relax with a beer and catch up on email etc. Checked out late on Wednesday evening, incurring a ZAR500 late checkout fee - which was reasonable given I had the room til 6pm. The hotel is a few blocks from Nelson Mandela's house in the lovely Houghton suburb, very green. Hotel arranged for airport pick up and drop off in Mercedes, reasonable at around ZAR400 taking 30 minutes. Very happy with the entire experience (colleagues stayed at Sunny Side, nearby, and were very disappointed, with one moving to 10 2nd Avenue after a couple of nights!)

Room Tip: I stayed in room 4 on the ground floor with a garden fountain at the front and doors out the back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much indeed for your very kind and positive comments after your stay here in December.

We do strive to always delight our guests, and it is indeed a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed all the wonderful services and amenities of our lovely hotel here in Houghton.

I will pass on your comments to our staff, and this will certainly motivate them to continue to strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel was a joy! Wonderful staff, enjoyable surroundings, relaxing atmosphere, great food. The garden is very pleasant. The rooms are spacious, bright, and luxurious. Room service was particularly good, with the full dinner menu available! The pool is small but relaxing. I would highly recommend the 10 2nd Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colmtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
On behalf of the entire team at 10 2nd Avenue, I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback with regards to your stay with us, and that our "Gracious Living in Luxury" has met and exceeded your expectations.

We all here at 10 2nd Avenue would be delighted to host you in the very near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malelane, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here recently and was thrilled with the experience. I travel to Johannesburg often for business and have stayed at so many places where I paid a lot, but was never happy. 10 2nd Avenue is everything I ever wanted in a hotel! The staff are wonderful and nothing is too muh trouble. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. At last I found comfortable pillows which I battle with at most hotels. The garden is so lovely and the birdlife incredible. I slept well at night, as it is so peaceful, cannot find that anywhere else in Johannesburg. It is close to the airport and Houghton is a lovely suburb. It is truly a Hidden gem and at a reasonable price too!! Dinner was so romantic outside amongst the beautiful rose garden. The food was outstanding, the wine list excellent. Room service was great too. Having DSTV in your room which enables you to change to so many chanels makes such a difference. The wireless signal needs to be stronger though so please sort this out. Well done and I will always stay there when in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are a must, or the ones overlooking the next door property's garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your detailed and extremely positive comments with regard to your stay at our beautiful hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and this will certainly motivate the entire team to strive even more to ensure that each and every one of our valued guests are served and hosted to our five star standards.

We look forward very much indeed to welcome you back to our haven of luxury in Houghton Estate, during your next trip to Johannesburg.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botswana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed at 10 2nd Avenue earlier this month as I was keen to use this hotel for our clients travelling through Johannesburg to Botswana on safari. I have tried so many Johannesburg hotels within easy reach of the airport and most are disappointing (within the an affordable overnight price bracket).
I was very happy with this hotel. I stayed in an executive room which was spacious, had a superb view of the manicured gardens and the attention to detail was much appreciated: the gowns, the slippers, thew DSTV, the fruit bowl, the well stocked tea and coffee station. The furnishings are of a high standard and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only downside was that the hot water was only warm (both in the evening and in the morning) and this was brought to the attention of the management.
The service was good from reception staff to waiters. inner was also very good and well presented - though the wine list is a little thin and the prices do not reflect the quality of the wines. Breakfast was excellent (though there was no sign of the advertised "champagne breakfast").
The transfer service back to the airport was good (25 minutes on a weekday morning at 08.30).
Overall, the location an comfort are great - and Rosebank is a few minutes away by taxi so close to shopping an restaurants/cinemas etc.

Room Tip: Room upstairs for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoughtonEstate, General Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
My team and I are most delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you chose our hotel to bring your valued clients, and in particular the amenities and services which we provide to ensure our guests utmost comfort. We do always strive to ensure our guests experience is one of “Gracious Living” and that they have a most memorable experience.

With regards to the “Champagne Breakfast” this is served every morning. We have noted your observation and will ensure that this is indeed offered and served to our guestss, by the waitron staff.

I do hope to welcome you and your guests back again very soon to spend more time with us.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
742 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
2.2 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

Property: 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Address: 10, 2nd Avenue | Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 12 Luxury Rooms, of which 1 is a Family Room, 2 Executive Suites, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include Continental & Hot to-order Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool, set adjacent to the juice & non-alcoholic cocktail bar. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambience of the veranda, overlooking lush landscaped gardens or indulging in a pre-dinner non-alcoholic drink beside a cosy fire prior to savouring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE's renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing