We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly & helpful”
Review of Margaret's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Margaret's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Margaret was very welcoming, friendly & helpful. She even provided needle and thread for a repair.
The rooms were clean, secure, & had a well equiped kitchen.
Comfortable bed.
This site demands more words, but I feel that I have said all that is needed so I am filling in.


  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

It was a pleasure having you here with us at Margaret's Place! We wish you well on your travels through South Africa and hope you get to see all that our beautiful country has to offer! Thank you for taking the time to write a review in and amongst your busy travelling schedule,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I would just like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay at your Place,

We were very comfortable and enjoyed it there, we will see you soon and I will definitely recommend your place to all my Friends and Families


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Afzal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Awesome words, thank you so much! We love having you here with us when you are in Johannesburg for meetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Within easy reach of airport and shopping centers Unit was clean and comfortable and self catering facilities made for convenient and affordable eating.
Lovely outside seating area around well maintained pool and garden.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! You have described exactly what we offer! Self-catering accommodation at an affordable rate per unit. Looking forward to having you staying with us again when you next pass through Johannesburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

very conveniently situated in relation to restaurants, shopping and corporate clients.
Spacious rooms with all amenities. Very clean and well supplied. Lovely garden with lapa to relax in after a day's work. Good security and caring owners.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your awesome review! We thrive on keeping our guests smiling and comfortable! Looking forward to seeing you again when you next visit Joburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wonderful accommodation, Wonderful People,Keep it up.Quinton and Margaret went all out to please us, even to the open fire at the pool at night. The rooms were spectacular,Serviced every day and very clean. Location was pefect, close to every need you may have Thank you again for making us feel very special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Well, well, well, what can we say, guests like you just make running/owning/managing a Guest House so worthwhile! We absolutely loved having you staying with us twice. Thank you for the lovely reviews that you have written for us not only here on TripAdvisor, words like yours make it so much easier for others to make good travel choices, especially during these competitive times we are experiencing here in South Africa. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Margaret's Place is a great option for those traveling to Johannesburg, and excellent value for money. It is close to the airport in a quiet safe neighborhood and is close to several major shopping centers. The studio apartment had everything we needed for our four days stay, was very clean and comfortable and had excellent security. Margaret and her various helpers were excellent hosts. We would definitely stay here on our next visit. The only change we would make and suggestion we would have for those staying is to avoid the front room as it is overlooked by the car park which means that you have to keep the blinds closed for privacy and that when people come and go you can be disturbed if it is late at night or early morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the front room as it I overlooks the car park and isn't very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such great words for us amidst your busy travelling schedule! We hope your travels are going well, wishing you everything of the best and a safe return back home in a few weeks time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My overnight stay at Margaret's Place was most enjoyable. I was made to feel welcome, the accommodation was secure, clean and had great facilities. If I go again I would like to spend time outside the pool and garden looked very inviting.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for spending the night at Margaret's Place, with the lovely weather we are having at the moment you would love to be at the pool side enjoying the birds and the garden! We look forward to having you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
7.2 mi away
Moonflower Cottages
Moonflower Cottages
#5 of 121 in Johannesburg
84 reviews
6.2 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#3 of 298 in Johannesburg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 121 in Johannesburg
78 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hunting Lehae Guesthouse
Hunting Lehae Guesthouse
#29 of 121 in Johannesburg
1 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret's Place

Address: 47 Nottingham Road | Kensington, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 121 Speciality Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range: £36 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Margaret's Place 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally positioned for easy convenience to the city centre, you can easily access the major highways, shopping centres and malls, and access the business hub of Johannesburg. Relax after a day's business in a safe and tranquil space. Restaurants and entertainment are within easy reach. Secure parking, get-up-and-go accommodation, specifically tailored for the business traveller on the move. Choose from any of the 5 units to meet your needs. King, Queen, double and single/twin beds available. Margaret's Place offers the "unit" which allows for more than one person to stay for this rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Margaret's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing