We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, secluded accommodation close to shopping, restaurants, etc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Kuilen Country House
Ranked #142 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were offered every possible comfort in this beautiful timeless country house. We stayed in the Birdsong Cottage - we are a couple with a 13yo son - and had more than enough room to lounge, have coffee on the porch, enjoy the gardens and pool as well as get a wonderfully restful sleep - all right in the middle of Johannesburg. Even my son was impressed with the beautiful decor and four-poster beds. Breakfasts were delicious with everything fresh, served outside with garden views. We shopped and toured all day and were so glad to come home every evening to this beautiful respite from city life. De Kuilen Country House is a perfect pick for business or leisure travelers.

Room Tip: The cottages are so nice for families to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dekuilen, General Manager at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Dear Catherine
Many thanks for your very kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are only sorry that we picked up your response so late! We do hope to see you here again one day, quite soon, we hope!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

what sets De Kuilen apart is the kindness and care that the hosts extend to all their guests. Each person is made to feel special and nothing is too much of an effort. i loved the decor, the antiques and the little touches - homemade biscuits and sweets with tea! I felt truly special. Thank you to Anne, Charles and all the staff at De Kuilen...

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Fatima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dekuilen, General Manager at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

I do apologize for not having picked up your very nice response. It was truly a pleasure to have you to stay and we have not forgotten how much we enjoyed your company. M any thanks from me and all the staff at De Kuilen we really appreciate your complimentary review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

For people who love all things historical and beautiful this is the place for you. Anna-Marie and Charles are gracious hosts. From the books, to the silverware, to antique furniture every item is quality and has a story to tell. If our throw-away society bothers you then step back in time where things where made with pride and purpose and lasted generations. The food was delicious and plentiful too. The rooms and gardens spacious and delightful. Although this was business I would recommend for a honeymoon or even a family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dekuilen, General Manager at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

I was certain that I had written to you to thank you for the deep understanding that you showed in your kind review, of our feeling for our mission as a quality Guest House with our roots in all the cultures of this amazing country of ours. I do apologize as I see today that this was not done. Our good wishes for the wonderful work you are doing in
spreading the appreciation of our ecology and nature among all our people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

De Kuilen country house is definitely one of jhb best kept secrets. Hidden away and surrounded by modern housing developments that typify the once airy and breezy northern suburbs, this is definitely a little tranquil gem in a changing world. Hosts Anne -Marie and Charles go out of their way to make you feel truly at home in their cosy and spacious Cape Dutch style house and cottages in their vast forested garden. It is so easy to forget you are in a city. The attention to detail and comfort is quite something and i just loved the quaintness and charm of every room. Added to the wonderful setting, the breakfasts and dinners (which can be arranged on request) prepared by Chef Brighton is certainly some of the best and most affordable cuisine I have ever had in JHB!! Simply outstanding! If you are in jhb this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridget r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

It is amazing how De Kuilen Country House manages to retain a true country feel.
In the buzz and hustle of the city, tucked safely away is the tranquil of true country Guest house in surroundings of mature lavish vegetation, giving an impression of some tropical forest. The garden is beautiful and inviting.
Attention to detail, is in every space in the house. They go all out to ensure your comfort.
This was my first visit and there will be many more.

Experience genuine friendliness, warmth and down to earth hospitality.
Try this place when next in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: If you value your rest, and if food matters to you, then this is the place to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trust N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Being a nature-loving group from all over the country, having to stay in suburban Johannesburg can often be a daunting prospect! De Kuilen was a wonderfully refreshing escape from the hustle and bustle just minutes from the property. I loved the greenery, cosiness and charm of the rooms and buildings; and the generosity and attention to detail of Charles and Annemarie Molteno were unlike anything I've experienced staying at other establishments before. It truly felt like a home away from home, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else if ever in Johannesburg again. Thank you to Charles and Annemarie for creating a wonderful oasis for your guests, as well as for the great food and cakes!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Pomegranate cottage with my 6 year old son.The accommodation and service far exceeded my expectations.The owners,Anne -Marie and Charles ,were very hospitable,professional and impressed me with the caring manner they treated their guests and their attention to detail. In no time at all I was made to feel like I was a member of the family.The cottage was tastefully furnished.I appreciated the small touches such as the welcome plate of chocolates and biscuits and the fresh flowers.The comfy bed is a welcome relief for tired travelers and the bathroom had 5 star finishes -It even had a bidet!I enjoyed the delicious home cooked breakfast and appreciated the effort the staff took to accommodate the picky eating habits of my son.
The Guesthouse itself was located in a very safe boomed street ,very close to Fourways and Northgate mall as well as attractions such as Montecasino,The Lion Park and the Coca Cola Dome.Will definitely be staying here again.Thank you Anne

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamarOsmanHussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne_Marie312578, Owner at De Kuilen Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

All of us at De Kuilen would like to to thank our reviewer for this lovely review - we specialize in making the stays of our guests as pleasant as possible and in almost every case - certainly this one - we have enjoyed our guests' stay as much as they have! We look forward to future visits from you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
6.8 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.5 mi away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#41 of 66 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Kuilen Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Kuilen Country House

Address: 26 Glenluce Drive, Johannesburg 2004, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £57 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those seeking a uniquely South African experience - from food to décor to heritage: we offer the experience in Johannesburg - the most bustling and sophisticated city in Africa, of the peaceful re-creation of an old Cape Style farm house, with authentic detailing in the antiques, Art and Persian rugs, set on a hectare of green haven, bird-song and tranquil lifestyle. Our large and comfortable suites are, however, very much of the 21st Century and offer air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, International and local Television, as well as free and safe parking on the property. A traditional South African warm welcome with the support of our courteous and caring staff awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your De Kuilen Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing