We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay in Jo'burg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Bougain Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Bougain Villa
Ranked #133 of 288 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Jo'burg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband and I went to Jo'burg for 3 days to visit friends and we were looking for a place that was close to where they lived so they could meet us at restaurants and we could visit. La Bougain Villa is in a nice and quiet street, yet very conveniently located in Dunkeld, close to restaurants, shops and Santon/Rosebank area. The rooms are well appointed, very private and quiet surrounded by the beautiful garden and pool. Chris is a super host, very helpful and welcoming. Georgina spoiled us with delicious and breakfasts and Joe was always available to assist with whatever needed. Excellent value for money. Will certainly return, would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMA105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
5
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Much Hadham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 for ten nights. Our self contained rooms were well equipped and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and elegantly presented. Our visit coincided with a difficult time for the Richard's family but the welcome from them, from Georgina, the housekeeper and Joe the gardener could not have been warmer. The location in Dunkeld was convenient for Rosebank/Santon and if we return in the future we would definitely re- book.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

La Bougain Villa is a little Paradise in Sandton, Jo.burg. We stayed 10 days here and enjoyed great hospitality and excellent service. We can recommend La Bougain Villa to everybody and will return at the next occasion. Markus and Hans

Room Tip: An addres worthwhile to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stay at La Bougain Villa every time I visit Johannesburg... usually twice a year... and can thoroughly recommend it. Beautiful setting, centrally located, secure parking and friendly, helpful, welcoming staff and hosts... excellent value for money! A most private and peaceful haven.... just completed my 4th visit and i am already looking forward to the next!

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We love South African B&Bs in general - La Bougain Villa ranks with the top - lovely vintage home, beautiful grounds, gracious and beyond helpful hostess ... and host :-) Thanks Fay and Chris for our most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon - kitchentte area not been cleaned of crumbs, microwave dirty and sheets on bed not changed (hair on pillowcase, sheets dirty) - moved out without moving in - not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed at La Bougain Villa for 4 wonderful comfortable nights and were delighted with the warm hospitality of Fay and Chris. It was our (some of our party's ) first visit to Joburg and the very spacious accommodation of their beautiful manor was lovely. They were so helpful in giving us directions, answering questions, looking things up for us, lending us a map booklet, offering their help - Fay even drove down to where we called from when we first arrived in the city, to make it easy for us to just follow her home. We had daily room service, we had the most delicious breakfasts with so much variety of fruit, often served outside in the sunshine on their lovely patio, we had internet connection and we enjoyed quiet comfortable restful sleeps. The little fruit plate provided in our rooms was fresh and delicious, and I especially appreciated that. It was a joy to meet Georgina from the kitchen with her lovely smile. Fay and Chris both were so warm and personable and their kindness to us, their guests was wonderful. Our memories of our stay in their home are outstanding.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is very spacious and the bed is king-size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Parktonian All-Suite
0.1 mi away
The Bannister Hotel
The Bannister Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braamfontein
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Devonshire
Hotel Devonshire
#3 of 3 in Braamfontein
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
City Lodge Hotel Newtown
#35 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
1.0 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bougain Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bougain Villa

Property: La Bougain Villa
Address: 6 Smit Service Road | Dunkeld West, Johannesburg 2001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 288 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Bougain Villa is an elegant home offering friendly hospitality in gracious surroundings in the heart of Johannesburg's northern suburbs. Within easy reach of business and shopping centres of Hyde Park, Rosebank and Sandton. Each suite, stylishly appointed with meticulous attention to detail, includes a bedroom and private lounge; two have their own entrances and one suite has a kitchenette for the self-caterer. DSTV, MNet, wi-fi, internet connection and fax facilities. Tennis court, swimming pool and laundry. Secure parking. All credit cards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing