We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cozumel, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This is a woman who has thought of everything down to the last detail and it really makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms were immaculate and the price is very reasonable. Liz has even made a lovely book explaining different things to do in JHB, which was perfect for people like us who haven't a clue. We chose Liz purely by coincidence as it was close to Sandton City but we were not disappointed at all. The breakfast is delicious and they serve REAL coffee :-)
I can highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you for coming to stay and for writing of your experience here at Liz at Lancaster. Also delighted that you found us conveniently located for Sandton City. Craighall Park is such a central suburb in Joburg that it is only 10 minutes from the 2 main business and leisure hubs of both Sandton and Rosebank. I'm also pleased that you found our information booklet so useful. There is so much to see and do in Joburg that it really does help if you have an insider's view of what to do and see in terms of tourist attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc as well as practical info to orientate you to a new city. Having lived in Joburg all my life and being involved in researching aspects of Joburg's heritage, I love 'spreading the word' about what Jozi has to offer. And as for REAL coffee at breakfast - good ground coffee is one of life's essential luxuries ! And we stock all the room kitchenettes with it as well. So thanks again for your feedback. All the best from the team at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Elaine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
92
106
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

As highly spontaneous trip planners we were fortunate to get in on a last minute cancellation into this wonderful and conveniently located GH. Every imaginable need is considered in the tastefully decorated and well equipped unit, from map books, written directions to the airport, recommendations for where to get a hair cut and the well stocked kitchen and bar.... the list goes on endlessly...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoelseKhartoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write of your experiences here at Liz at Lancaster. We were delighted that we had 'room at the inn' with a last minute cancellation. We really enjoyed meeting you and hearing about your work in Karthoum. The hospitality industry has many wonderful advantages but meeting so many interesting people from all over the world is one that we particularly value. Good that you found all the 'concierge' information we provide so useful. Thanks for coming to stay and we hope that if ever you are down in this part of the world again, you'll come back and stay at Liz at Lancaster. All the best from the Liz at Lancaster team - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Hard to find somewhere providing 2 single beds & Earth Room was perfect, as was our stay there for 2 nights at beginning of 5 weeks stint through Africa. Couldn't fault Liz and staff - breakfast was great. Zac & Abey were both great in driving us to where we wanted to go. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear Anne,
Thanks so much for coming to stay and thank you for taking the time on your return to Australia to write about your stay at Liz at Lancaster. Although it was only a short stay before you started on the rest of your travel adventures, we're pleased that it all worked out well. And very glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts so much. We are in the process of adding variations to the menu, although most guests still seem to prefer either the fresh fruit in season with our special home-made muesli or go for a traditional full cooked breakfast .. or both!!
All the best from Liz and all the team at Liz at Lancaster - Catherine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipata
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We were in JHB from Zambia, and chose Liz based on TripAdvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed at all; from pre-arrival prompt email replies and planning for our first day with Zac (LatL's brilliant driver). Our room was perfect for us - being able to lock the security door to our room and leave the outer door open throughout the night to enjoy the breeze, kitchen amenities and the honesty bar ... also, the ability to go and raid a bookshelf when out of books and someone always being available to answer queries, into the evening and on, organised delivery for take-aways etc.. Breakfast always lovely and we would highly recommend using Zac over taxis where possible; far kinder cost wise and very reliable. If we were to come to JHB again, would come back here again as first option. There are so many small touches that come together to make staying here a pleasure - thanks!

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you Sarah for taking the time and trouble to write about your stay at Liz at Lancaster. We were delighted to have you to stay. We're really pleased that all the transport worked out well and that getting to all your appointments and commitments was made easier by having Zac on call. Good too that you were able to sleep with your doors open at night and enjoy our Highveld evenings with that wonderful cool night breeze that we often have (when of course there isn't a night storm). Guests have often commented on how much they prefer being able to open windows and doors and have fresh air rather than have to rely on air conditioning in a room where the windows can't open. So thank you for feedback about this. We look forward to welcoming back when you are next in Joburg.
All the best to you both from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I visit JHB for business quite often and I opt to stay at Liz's every time because I know that the room is going to be beautiful, clean and well-equipped. I also know that the staff, Zac and Catherine, are going to have their big beautiful smiles on their faces willing to help at every point. And I also know that Liz herself would be as friendly and accomodating as always.

I just love staying at Liz's because the rooms are really nice, comfy beds, great linen, beautiful gardens, great staff, wireless, great TV channels and if that's not enough, there's always the small things that add so much.

The breakfasts are heavenly. Nothing like fresh fruit to get the appetite going, and then having whatever you choose thereafter. Marlie, the resident doggy, is also a sheer gem.

I honestly just love staying at Liz's and I wish them all the best in the future.

Love
Adel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adel_van_Rooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Adel, Thanks so much for your review and all the wonderful things you have to say about us. We really try to keep up service standards and are pleased that it shows. Local South Africans seem not to use Tripadvisor as much as international guests so it's great to get a local person's feedback on your experience at Liz at Lancaster. Business travellers love staying here because of the private courtyards where they can relax after a long day as well as the facility of the kitchenette which means being able to prepare a light meal at home rather than always having to go out. Thanks again for your loyal support and repeat business.
From all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Thank you Liz for a wonderful experience! Great privacy, professional service, eco friendly and safe. The location is quiet and there is a lovely garden with a pool. Fantastic breakfast, Wifi and desktop available. We cannot say enough good things about this accommodation. We love your Guest House and we will be back!
Marie and Antoine

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Marie and Antoine,
Thanks so much for your review. It was really good to meet you both and the rest of your party, and thank you Antoine for the great photos of the garden. But you should see it now -it is really beautiful with all the spring flowers in full bloom and the lawn emerald green. So that really does mean that you have to come back again ... even if it's just to take more photos!! Thanks again for taking the time and trouble to write on Tripadvisor- it really does make a difference to fellow travellers. Hope to see you again when you are back in SA. All the best
Liz and all the team at Liz at Lancaster: Catherine,Zac, Thandie and Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We just stayed one night after flying in from Victoria Falls, but wish we could have stayed longer. Our flight was 7 hours delayed but the driver was there in just a few minutes after we got our luggage, must have been confusing for him because they even changed our flight number at some point, so it was 10 at night instead of 3 in the afternoon. He was great and works for Liz at the property. Our accomodation was spotless, even had a kitchenette, lovely shower and gorgeous gardens, nice pool. We relaxed in the gardens the next day, then strolled down to "AMI", a lovely restaurant close by where we had a fabulous lunch before heading back to the airport to fly home. The hotel our tour had us in cost 5 times what Liz's cost per night, and this was much more relaxing, not as quiet due to the squawking birds at sun up, but a great spot.

Room Tip: Our room was completely detached, no common walls, only drawback was the loud birds in the morning f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thanks Donna for taking the time to write a review of your very brief stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We are so happy that you made it for the one night even though you had such flight delays. We appreciate your feedback about pricing which endorses what other travelers say. Last month we were recognized at the 2012 AA Quality Assured Accommodation Awards with a special Travelers Value award. This award is based on guest feedback to the AA which rated us as giving excellent value for money for the type of service and facilities we offer. We have a repeat international guest who on a recent visit traveled to SA with colleagues. They got quite irritated with him as, although they were put up in a 5 star hotel in Sandton, he chose to stay here at Liz at Lancaster because of the privacy, ambience and personal service. We also worked out that they pay 9 times (once breakfast is included) what he pays here at Liz at Lancaster. We apologize for our raucous Hadeda Ibises who can often be very noisy in the mornings and evenings ... but some things are out of our control !! Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
1.8 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
398 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 68 in Johannesburg
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.6 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 68 in Johannesburg
588 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Property: Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing