We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection - if in Jo'burg, stay at Liz at Lancaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 305 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in South Africa, which began with 3 nights staying with Liz at Lancaster. I booked at 'Liz' based on the terrific TA reviews and the rave reviews were certainly well justified. The 'Earth Room' we stayed in was large, VERY comfortable with a large comfy bed and extremely well equipped with a sofa, table, kitchenette and well stocked honesty bar. No detail is overlooked. The en-suite bathroom has a free standing shower as well as bath and is complete with an assortment of toiletries. There are grab rails above the bath and next to the toilet for anyone with balance problems. Breakfast was fantastic - a large and varied choice in a light and airy room overlooking the gardens. Probably the best omelette I've ever eaten! The garden is well kept with an attractive, clean pool. It may have been cool by SA standards, but hubby still went for a swim (as Liz said, he IS English!). If you are looking for somewhere in Jo'burg that is quiet, comfortable, and very friendly with a fantastic breakfast then book at Liz at Lancaster. One of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in and a wonderful start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okeydokeIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Wow Okeydoke, thank you so much for such positive feedback. We so love it when we 'set the scene' for visitors to South Africa and they have a good feel from the start. We're very pleased that it all worked out so well and that it was such a good starting point for you. We really enjoyed meeting you both and were only sorry that you got a bit lost from the airport. But you seemed to take this all in your stride and were completely laid back about it - a wonderful gift when traveling to foreign places. I passed on your compliment to Zac about his omelette and he was delighted .. big beam! So pleased too that you had a good three week holiday in SA. We love it when visitors love our country. So hopefully with family here in Joburg you'll be back and we'll see you again. All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine, Thandie, Rose and Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

I really cannot say enough about Liz's. It was such a treat for us- from the gorgeous and comfy rooms, the hand-crafted toiletries and amenities, the incredible breakfast, and the helpful and generous staff. I really didn't want to leave. It's so cozy, it almost feels like being at home. But I would trade home any day for staying at Liz's. She's thought of absolutely everything. All of the little details are thought of- from heated floors, breakfast served in room by request, fresh milk in your fridge for your coffee (Liz's special blend), and even an entire book on anything and everything you ever wanted to know about or do in Jo'burg. Liz, Zac, and Catherine were so helpful and friendly. And for the price, you really cannot beat it. I will stay here every single time I come to Jo'burg. In fact, I would stay at Liz's over any big hotel in any city. Truly a special place. You can feel the love and joy that Liz and her team pour into it and into making your stay comfortable and easy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adleec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you so much for your really positive feedback. 'One of the best places I have ever stayed at' is indeed wonderful praise. You write about the details that we have considered and how you would choose us over a hotel. While many travelers prefer the anonymity of a hotel as well as having access to facilities like a spa/gym, restaurants, bars, 24 hour room service, etc., many, like you, prefer all that a good guesthouse has to offer. What our guests really seem to enjoy and appreciate is the personal service and attention to detail; having access to myself as concierge with good local knowledge; the individuality, character and personal style; all the extras that are included in the rate; and the really reasonably priced add-ons like laundry, telephone, transport etc. I passed on your feedback to Zac and Catherine who send big appreciative smiles to you! So thanks again for taking the time and trouble to write of your stay here
All the best from the team at Liz at Lancaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

is the best word to describe Liz at Lancaster!

Staying at Liz's is like snuggling into a very private, cozy cocoon, where you feel pampered and well taken care of. Every single little detail has been immaculately thought out to make the visitor feel comfortable and informed as possible.
The staff is excellent, the breakfast is yummy...yogurt, muesli, fresh fruit cocktail, juice, amazing bread for toast, eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, french press coffee...
The rooms are spacious, wonderfully decorated, super comfortable beds, fluffy robes and towels, toiletries. They're also self catering, including all you eat rusks. Sorry, Liz...we emptied the canister for our trip home...can we get your recipe?
The hardest part is... you never want to leave!! I nearly cried when Zac packed our bags into the red van for our final trip to the airport.
Liz at Lancaster is truly a special place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you so much Angela for your glowing review of your time here at Liz at Lancaster. We so enjoyed having you both to stay and hearing all about your travels in the neighbouring countries. Amazing adventures! We're so pleased that all our various efforts to think of every detail to make our guests stay comfortable and special, succeed. As for the rusks - they are delicious! Made a batch last night and the smells that waft from the oven as they are baking and then drying out, is just not good for calorie consumption !! I will send you the recipe with pleasure. Thanks again for coming to stay. All the best from the team at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I was on assignment for 6 months and this was my first trip to Johannesburg, Liz definitely made my stay feel like home. Will definitely stay at the cottage again when I'm back. A+++++ service!

Wasn't able to try the breakfast the whole time since I had Fournos in my office building. My 6 month assignment felt like I was on vacation everytime I would come home from work.

Will definitely recommend to friends and family who are travelling to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

We MISS you Alfred! The cottage seems so empty without various bike equipment around ! We are just very pleased that we could provide a base for you during your first visit to South Africa and one that felt like home. We so enjoyed having you to stay although, because you didn't have breakfasts here, I felt we saw so little of you. Was really good to meet your family: brother, wife and daughter as well too, as the various friends who were able to stay with you. Despite your longish break back home over Christmas, 6 months is a long time to be away from home. Thanks again Alfred for taking the time and trouble to write about your stay here and all the best to the family.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

To Liz and her team (Elaine, Zack, Catherine and Tandi) thanks you for a special week at your guest house. All the little things that needed to come together to make our stay easier, just happened. Liz at Lancaster was like staying with family, only better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you Pete for posting your feedback of your stay at Liz at Lancaster. We so enjoyed meeting you both and are delighted that you had a good time here. One of the many advantages of this work is meeting interesting and special people from all over the world and you were 2 of them. Thank you. We hope to see you back if you visit South Africa again.
All the best Liz and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We needed a rest for a few days before continuing on with our Shongololo Train journey. Our travel agent was unsure as to where we should stay in Johannesburg.
Google and Tripadvisor helped us find Liz at Lancaster. What a gem! A peaceful stay in the Blue Room with all the little "extras" travellers need. A wonderful breakfast to start the day,Zac to drive us around and bring us back to a lovely clean,comfortable unit after a busy day.
Self caterers would be extremely happy with the crockery and utensils supplied in the room and then only a short walk up the street to the supermarket for supplies.
If you don't want to self cater then there is a cafe within a short walking distance....enjoyable meals reasonably priced.
We had our washing and ironing done by Liz's staff and all returned to us the same day....this makes for a better holiday.
Our travel agent has now been given a card for "Liz at Lancaster" to help future tourists needing accommodation in Johannesburg.
Liz at Lancaster is recommended to those needing accommodation for a short stopover (Zac will pick you up at the airport by arrangement) or for a longer stay.

2 Aussie Travellers

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Judy - thanks for taking the time, whilst waiting for Shongololo express to collect you here at Liz at Lancaster, to write about your stay here at the Guesthouse. 'Fresh in the memory' is always good! We so enjoyed meeting you both and hearing about your travels on the Shongololo express which, as you know, I'd never heard of. What a great way to see the country. I have the info booklet you gave me and will post a blog shortly. Thanks too for taking back brochures to your travel agent in Albury .. hopefully we'll see plenty more Aussies this way in the future. Thank you for all the detail about what made your stay here special and about the facilities available around Liz at Lancaster. I hope you have settled back home and are enjoying wonderful memories of your special trip to South Africa.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Zac, Catherine, Thandie and Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stayed for two weeks while on business in Johannesburg and felt that I was very well taken care of. The accommodation is comfortable and commodious; the bathroom well-designed and ecologically sensible; the decor enjoyably individual; and the freshly-prepared breakfasts delicious - all this in beautiful garden surroundings and, most surprisingly, almost absolute silence! The staff clearly enjoy working at Liz at Lancaster and are always most helpful. And the amenities in the rooms provide for every need.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you Michael for taking the time and trouble to write about your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us - we certainly enjoyed having you here. Good too that you enjoyed the peace and quiet. Guests are continually amazed at just how quiet it is here despite being in a big city and in such a centrally located suburb. Because there is no night life in the immediate vicinity and because Craighall Park does not have very high density living (at 1/2 an acre the properties are larger than in many suburban areas), it means that the evenings and nights are generally very still and quiet. So we hope that to welcome you back on your next trip.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
810 reviews
2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
387 reviews
3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
216 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 305 in Johannesburg
223 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
#7 of 305 in Johannesburg
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £61 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing