We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

From the first friendly welcome, to the final goodbye 12 days later, I could find absolutely no fault. The staff are friendly and helpful, there when you need them, but not in your face. The room is warm and comfy and well equipped, the breakfast is superb. It is very useful to have the services of Zac to ferry one around at an extremely reasonable cost. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KualaLumpurDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank KualaLumpurDana for taking the time and trouble to share your experience of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We certainly enjoyed meeting you and are delighted that all went smoothly and that your stay here was so comfortable. We are very very lucky with the team that we have here - they certainly do go the extra mile and with such genuine concern, warmth and caring. And yes, Zac's driving services are a wonderful value-added for guests who don't have their own transport. You were lucky to have warmish weather when you were here. The temperature today is expected to reach a max of 17 whereas last week we had temps daily of between 22 and 24. Guests loved the log fire at breakfast this morning. But this is hopefully our last cold winter snap before spring and summer weather!
We hope that if and when you are back in South Africa and Joburg again, you will come and stay.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Zac, Catherine, Thandie and Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here on the tail end of our trip to South Africa. It was a very welcoming haven in a city which we were at first, a little apprehensive of. Although we had a lot of requests of him, Zac was very willing to help us (driving to and fro) which we were very appreciative of. The breakfasts were very good and served in front of a warm fire.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamishWinstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you Hamish for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We're delighted that you enjoyed the peace and quiet in this busy city. You are one of many guests who has commented on how secluded and quiet it is here, despite the fact that it is so close to major business and leisure hubs and to main arterial roadways such as Jan Smuts. We're pleased that Zac's driving was such a help during your stay. If ever you are here this way again (which is a big ask given that Singapore is so far away) we hope to welcome you back.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine, and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My 10 year old son and I loved everything about L@L.
Our room was so comfortable and well-equipped we hardly wanted to go out, the breakfasts were first class (cosy fire and friendly dog and cat much appreciated), and the location was ideal. We walked to the nearby pizza restaurant (5 minutes) twice, it was so good. (Nico's?)
Zac met us at the airport when we arrived, very reassuring as it was at night, and he also took us to Soccer City for the Stadium tour. It was far nicer to be assisted by someone so reliable and friendly than to hire a car. Our laundry was immaculately done by Thandi.
Our only regret was that it was winter and we couldn't try out the beautiful pool, but we will definitely be back! Thanks also to Liz for advice on the Gautrain, and help arranging the stadium tour which I would definitely recommend - only R80 for the two of us and we had the guide to ourselves as it was a quiet time of year. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We are so delighted that all worked out so well for you while here in Joburg. I'm so pleased to hear that the Soccer City tour was a success and that Kieren enjoyed it. We all think back to those heady days of the World Cup and walking into that full stadium. What an energy there was! Back to the present: we still have to visit the pizza restaurant down the road. Being new, we haven't had a chance to go yet, but I think a Liz at Lancaster outing is beckoning. It is so convenient to have a good casual family neighbourhood restaurant at the end of the block - a 3 minute walk away. It will also be wonderful on warm summer evenings being able to sit out on that lovely deck they have built. Although Casalotti's behind the garage make excellent take-away pizzas, it is hardly a place to enjoy a casual relaxed meal at the end of the day.
Zac and Thandie were delighted with your feedback. Thanks again Megan for taking time to write about your stay at Liz at Lancaster and we look forward to seeing you back again when you are next in South Africa.
With all the best from us all - Liz, Zac, Thandie and Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Enjoyed every moment of our stay! Rooms were lovely and well equipped. Very handy to have a SPAR grocery store just down the road. Liz, Zac and all the other staff were very helpful. Oh, and my daughter loved playing with the cat and dog every morning after the yummy breakfast in front of the fire.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaG9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you Tina for taking the time to write about your stay here at Liz at Lancaster, particularly as you are still (I think?) in the middle of your exciting trip around Southern Africa. We are delighted that we could give you a good introduction to South Africa and to Joburg and that you had a pleasant balance between busy days sight-seeing and time relaxing at 'home' . With the Spar grocery store a convenient 3 minute walk away at the end of the block it makes it so easy to buy goodies to prepare light meals - although still a bit cold to take full advantage of al fresco in your little courtyard. I'd love to hear more about the rest of your trip as you had such an exciting itinerary planned.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine and Thandie; and a tail wag from Marley and a purr from Thelma!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have been to Liz at Lancaster previously, during business trips to Johannesburg. All of my visits have been wonderful -- the rooms are quiet, safe, and comfortable. The food is perfect (I like to say its the best breakfast in Johannesburg). And each and every one of the staff members are friendly, kind, knowledgeable, and helpful. Given how great my previous visits were, I decided to bring my children for a visit to South Africa - any concerns I may have had about crime previously have disappeared because of the security and comfort of this place. My husband and our two kids (ages 9 and 11) stayed very comfortably in one of the rooms. My kids loved the food, and we enjoyed walking around the neighborhood, and visiting other sites in the city. I literally cannot recommend this guesthouse highly enough. Come here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Kim it was, as always, wonderful to welcome you back to Liz at Lancaster. And even better to at last meet the rest of your family. You managed to do such exciting things whilst here and I just loved hearing your children's responses to some of the things they experienced. We love it that you think that our breakfasts (simple as they are) are the best in Johannesburg! Zac and Catherine do make the most fabulous omelettes and I think your children were sold on the chocolate croissants - lots of croissant and lots of chocolate! With such a small establishment we can't really offer a huge choice daily (although there is lots on offer if ordered the day before) and a lot of guests comment on how they prefer this smaller selection of options made to order, rather a buffet style breakfast with food that has been sitting out for some time.
So thank you from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine, Thandie, Rose and Alick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

What better way to start of a 6week stay in South Africa, with Liz and her team as our first point of contact!!!! Could not have asked for nicer people. They are great ambassadors for this beautiful country.
We were warned about the high crime rate, but thankfully are back in London safe and sound. Never felt threatened or intimidated, in fact with all the the security presence, we felt pretty safe compared to other cities.
Location was superb with loads of possibility to walk to the supermarkets, and very good restaurants, during the day.Quality of food in South Africa is superb, and cheaper than European prices. Thoroughly enjoyed every meal out. "The Butcher Shop" in Sandton was where Zac suggested for a celebration.Good job!!! and worth every penny.
The reviews for the guesthouse are true to their word, this is what sold us the accomodation and the deciding factor was Zac, the reliable and forever smiling, driver.
We must mention Thandie, Catherine , Rose, Alex and Marley( adorable dog). All of them contributed to our stay being comfortable and relaxing, and we miss them all very much.
Already finding an excuse to return to Johannesburg, next year.
Thank you Liz , for all your guidance and the excursion trips you kindly arranged for us. Enjoyed the whole experience.
Till next time, cheers!!!!

Room Tip: Ochre room, was a good size, lovely and warm on the occassional cold night, and flooded with natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette_hockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you Bernadette for you wonderful review of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We so enjoyed meeting you and your daughter and having you both to stay. We love that you felt so safe and secure, that you found the area so convenient and that you enjoyed the restaurants here in Joburg. We get a lot of positive feedback about the quality of restaurants in South Africa generally and are lucky to have so many good ones close by. Zac was delighted to be able to drive Carinna to work everyday and to take you shopping and out in the evening. It does make it all so easy if you don't have a car as he knows Joburg so well. Please come back and visit us with your husband, and Carinna good luck with your PhD at Oxford. Hopefully we will see you both again.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Zac, Catherine, Thandie, Rose and Alick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed with Liz for three nights and it could not have been better. We stayed in one of the cottages which was huge, (actually larger than my apartment in the states) and extremely comfortable. The living room was great, the bedroom was big with an extremely comfortable bed, especially nice with the electric blankets, which my girlfriend absolutely loved. The property is very nice, and everyone that works there was great. Every morning there was a fire bruning in the breakfast room, and breakfast every morning was a great way to begin the day.

Liz has compiIed a book that is in each room which is packed full of tourist information which we used daily for restaurant recommedations, as well a city tours and the recommendations were great everytime.

We would like to especially thank Zac, from the moment he picked us up at the train station to the moment he dropped us off at the airport he was awesome, even going so far as to taking taking us with our luggage all the way in to the airline ticketing desk. In addtion he took us to the Cradle of Humankind as well as the Lion & Rhino Preserve, spending the whole day with us, it was like having a private tour guide, he even recommended a restaurant one night, which was great.

Liz at Lancaster was a highlight of our three weeks in South Africa.

Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Joel thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay with us at Liz at Lancaster. We really enjoyed meeting you both and were delighted that you enjoyed your time in Joburg and here with us. Zac was particularly pleased with your feedback responding with that incredible face-breaking smile of his! He is such an asset to our team at Liz at Lancaster in so many ways - convenience of on-site transport at very reasonable rates, option of personalized guiding, and such a special gentle warm person to boot. Good that you enjoyed all the special additional conveniences of electric blankets, log fire at breakfast time, our information booklet, etc. To say that your stay here was the highlight of your time in South Africa is really high praise. Thank you! I know SA is a long way from the US but if ever you are this way again, we hope you will come and stay.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.3 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#10 of 66 in Johannesburg
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 66 in Johannesburg
343 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 298 in Johannesburg
207 reviews
3.5 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#3 of 298 in Johannesburg
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £59 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing