We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staffs and beautiful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My friends and I stayed at Liz for few days while in Joburg. It is a beautiful guesthouse with clean and adorable rooms. Each room has everything you would need from outlet plug converters, mosquito plug-ins, various beverages including wines, teas, cooking utensils, cups and plates etc. The rooms and showers were clean and bright. We stayed in blue room which was very quite. Breakfast area is beautiful with wonderful options, so as the pool and garden area. When the weather was nice, I just wanted to sit by the pool and read rather than exploring the city! I was very concerned about safety in Joburg, but where Liz's is located is pretty safe, I walked to church by myself on Sunday morning and I saw people jogging and walking outside.
The staffs are very friendly, Zach, the driver at Liz's was very kind and helpful and his charges were very reasonable, much better than the taxis. Catherine was so kind and when we had to leave very early the last day, she packed all four of us breakfast with sandwich, muffin, apple, yogurt and muesli along with napkin and spoon! If I come back to Joburg, I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in Blue room. Bright and quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear KYPark,
It is great to get your responses to your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation and the general facilities. It was good that the weather was kind although generally Johannesburg has wonderful weather. Like many first -time visitors to Johannesburg, it was a surprise for you to see people walking and jogging in the street. Generally visitors are pleasantly surprised by the safety and security in the kinds of areas which they frequent.
You commented on the packed breakfast that Catherine made for you. I am the first to give the team members credit for all they do ... but this time it was me that packed your brunches!! Anyway I am pleased you enjoyed them.
And if you are ever this way again we hope to see you here at Liz at Lancaster
All the best from us all
Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We found "Liz at Lancaster" on the internet and couldn't have made a better choice for our family reunion and birthday celebration. Accommodations are clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The staff are professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served daily in a lovely dining room overlooking the garden and pool and was freshly prepared and delicious. The property is beautifully maintained and safe and in a very convenient neighborhood for touring Johannesburg. Also walkable to a supermarket and shops and restaurants. Liz provides a binder of useful local information. There is also transport available to and from the airport and to local shops etc for an added fee. Our family occupied Yellow Cottage, Coral Cottage, Garden Cottage and Ochre cottage…all tastefully decorated. Each even has it's own patio with table and chairs and umbrella. We can't wait to go back! I highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Yellow room and Garden cottage are larger, with a separate bedroom. The other accommodations are spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you Jozibel for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster . We felt so privileged to be able to host you all for your Dad's 90th birthday. We loved being on the periphery of all the excitement and sharing in the surprise of the piper playing Harry into breakfast to Scotland the Brave. The general air of celebration was just wonderful. What a milestone. And we are so happy that it all went so well and was such a success. I love your photo of the wine and snacks in the breakfast patio.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next celebration of your Mum's 80th birthday.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Liz at Lancaster guesthouse really takes your mind off the buzz of the city. I stayed at the earthroom and oh my, it was so clean and had everything I could conveniently need! The gardens just took my breath away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0ngiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear BongiM,
We are so pleased that we made your stay in Joburg so pleasant. After the peace and quiet of Kuruman it is a great compliment that you found staying at Liz at Lancaster so tranquil. Currently we have a guest staying from Newcastle, a small town in Kwazulu Natal, and she too has commented what a little oasis of calm and quiet it is here, yet still right in the middle of the urban setting. After our first really good rain of the season the garden is looking even more lush than when you were here. We hope that we will see you again when you are next in Joburg.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved our stay at Liz at Lancaster. Conveniently located with easy access to everything we needed, while being generously decorated and equipped in a way that makes it feel like home - we really did feel like we were coming home when we returned for just one night a week after our first visit. Whether for a business trip or a stop over in Johannesburg, this would be our first choice of accommodation on our return.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms on our two visits - both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipsW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thanks Pips for your feedback on your stays here at Liz at Lancaster. It was good to welcome you back again and to meet your husband. Myself and all the staff at Liz at Lancaster really value our ongoing relationships that we build with repeat guests over the years. Thank you for your ongoing loyalty. I hope that the rest of your travels through the Free State and to Clarence went well and you had a great time tracing roots!
All the best from us all until next time - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The location was convenient and the room very nice. The bed was comfortable and the owner was very welcoming. The room also contains a file with useful information like take away places, taxi services, etc... I have enjoyed my stay and will definitely not hesitate to stay there again.




  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charli86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you Charli86 for giving feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and will come back to stay again. You mention some of the most important thing about a good stay - good quality beds, a warm welcome, convenient location, useful local information and 5 out of 5 for cleanliness. So we're delighted that we complied with all these aspects! Thanks again for your review - we really appreciate your feedback.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing place to have as a home away from home. I have used Liz at Lancaster as my base in Johannesburg over the past 5 years and truly feel very welcome every time I arrive no matter what time of the day or night that has been, it is rather like returning home, with everyone being pleased to see you after a long time away. The rooms are warm, comfortable and superbly appointed with all you may need for self catering and the included breakfast is both attractively presented and delicious. The staff are wonderful, both thoughtful and caring, with nothing being too much trouble. All this set in beautiful gardens full of birdsong complete with a pool and only a short drive away from the bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

We always love seeing you and your Mum when you are here in Joburg. One of the nicest things about our business is having guests come back to stay with us on a regular basis. We all enjoy that ongoing contact and continuity this gives. In your case,apart from catching up with you and your life, it is just so wonderful to see how well your Mum is doing after all her health issues and medical treatment.
The garden is a paradise for the birds at the moment. After our first brief rains of the season early this week (in a very dramatic lashing electric storm), it seems that summer is well and truly here. With the last of the spring flowers and the lush greenness of early summer, it is all looking lovely.
Thank you as always for coming to stay and we look forward to your next visit - hopefully purely leisure with no medical reasons!
From us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Zac, Catherine, and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This if one of the best B&B's/small hotels that we have ever stayed in. The room (Blue Room) was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was very well equipped (for self catering if wanted). Every little detail has been thought of - from torches, LED lights beside the bed and in the bathroom, travel plugs, mosquito repellant (not needed) The staff were friendly and kind and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. Liz herself was welcoming and full of interesting information about Johannesburg. The room guide was a travel brochure in its own right and very helpful. Well worth reading from cover to cover. The Breakfast Room looked out onto the garden which is beautifully maintained and very colourful. Plenty of birds to watch on the bird table. Our breakfast came freshly cooked by Zac and piping hot - a real treat. We couldn't fault the service. When we return to J'burg to visit our daughter we shall certainly be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room (which I understand is the smallest) but it was really great. It is tuck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Ann thank you very much for your considered and detailed feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. We so enjoyed meeting you both and are delighted that you had such a good stay here. We always get a little nervous when guests write that it's one of the best B&Bs they have stayed in, as South Africa has a very high standard of guesthouse accommodation. So there are lots of B&BS and guesthouses out there that have been custom-built and which have way more luxurious finishes than Liz at Lancaster. But all our guests comment on the wonderful staff and how nothing is too much trouble as well as how every small detail has been thought of to make their stay easy, comfortable and really memorable. So we're delighted that you felt this way too.
Our bird table has been the site of much activity with early summer nesting. We are about to look for a barbet nesting box as I heard and then saw a Crested Barbet pecking at a tree trunk - trying to make a hole for its nest (?). Lots more pecking unless we provide a ready-made home!
We look forward to seeing you again when you are next here seeing your daughter.
All the best to you both from all of us at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
1.3 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 66 in Johannesburg
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 298 in Johannesburg
213 reviews
3.5 mi away
84 on Fourth Guest House
84 on Fourth Guest House
#5 of 298 in Johannesburg
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing