We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$104
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg(Johannesburg)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$377
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$185
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$253
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$217
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
359
22
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
22
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearth roomthe blue roomb bcraighall parkgarden cottagebreakfast patiosouth africahomemade rusksguest houseprivate patiowell equipped kitchenetteevery morninghome away from homeself cateringattention to detailunderfloor heatingelectric blankets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Liz at Lancaster prior to joining a safari group. It is the perfect place to use as a base to explore Johannesburg. Liz and the staff are delightful and assisted us with choosing the things to see on our limited time budget. We were met at OR Tambo airport by the staff driver and transported to the Guesthouse after a long flight from the USA. We walked into a beautiful room ideally suited for a traveling couple. It was clean, spacious and very inviting. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the grounds are beautiful with a pool surrounded by blooming flowers. After a day spent seeing the sights, Liz at Lancaster is a perfect spot to return, relax and prepare for the next day's activities. I was so happy we chose not to stay in a hotel. The personal service offered by Liz and her staff made the stay very enjoyable. Our daughter had contacted Liz to arrange a gift basket for us and Liz personally selected the wine and South African food delicacies which were fantastic. Safety was never an issue and the neighborhood is pretty. Their location is convenient to the airport and the major tourist attractions. Liz arranged a Soweto tour for us with a local guide who picked us up from the Guesthouse. Liz at Lancaster is a perfect introduction to Johannesburg and I hope to return soon to enjoy their hospitality. Liz is responsive to emails so don't hesitate discuss your trip with her prior to your arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear DKR1234,
You have gone to such lengths to describe all aspects of your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. Thank you so much for such considered and positive responses. It is helpful both for us as 'hosts' to know what we are doing right and for fellow travellers to get a sense of the ethos and service levels here at Liz at Lancaster - and of course to reassure first-time travellers to Johannesburg about safety issues. We are delighted that you chose to stay here rather than a larger more anonymous hotel establishment and that all went well and that you enjoyed your stay in Joburg. Delighted too that you enjoyed your gift pack of South African goodies from your daughter.
All the best to you both from us all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My friends and I stayed at Liz for few days while in Joburg. It is a beautiful guesthouse with clean and adorable rooms. Each room has everything you would need from outlet plug converters, mosquito plug-ins, various beverages including wines, teas, cooking utensils, cups and plates etc. The rooms and showers were clean and bright. We stayed in blue room which was very quite. Breakfast area is beautiful with wonderful options, so as the pool and garden area. When the weather was nice, I just wanted to sit by the pool and read rather than exploring the city! I was very concerned about safety in Joburg, but where Liz's is located is pretty safe, I walked to church by myself on Sunday morning and I saw people jogging and walking outside.
The staffs are very friendly, Zach, the driver at Liz's was very kind and helpful and his charges were very reasonable, much better than the taxis. Catherine was so kind and when we had to leave very early the last day, she packed all four of us breakfast with sandwich, muffin, apple, yogurt and muesli along with napkin and spoon! If I come back to Joburg, I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Stayed in Blue room. Bright and quite!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear KYPark,
It is great to get your responses to your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the accommodation and the general facilities. It was good that the weather was kind although generally Johannesburg has wonderful weather. Like many first -time visitors to Johannesburg, it was a surprise for you to see people walking and jogging in the street. Generally visitors are pleasantly surprised by the safety and security in the kinds of areas which they frequent.
You commented on the packed breakfast that Catherine made for you. I am the first to give the team members credit for all they do ... but this time it was me that packed your brunches!! Anyway I am pleased you enjoyed them.
And if you are ever this way again we hope to see you here at Liz at Lancaster
All the best from us all
Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We found "Liz at Lancaster" on the internet and couldn't have made a better choice for our family reunion and birthday celebration. Accommodations are clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The staff are professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served daily in a lovely dining room overlooking the garden and pool and was freshly prepared and delicious. The property is beautifully maintained and safe and in a very convenient neighborhood for touring Johannesburg. Also walkable to a supermarket and shops and restaurants. Liz provides a binder of useful local information. There is also transport available to and from the airport and to local shops etc for an added fee. Our family occupied Yellow Cottage, Coral Cottage, Garden Cottage and Ochre cottage…all tastefully decorated. Each even has it's own patio with table and chairs and umbrella. We can't wait to go back! I highly recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Yellow room and Garden cottage are larger, with a separate bedroom. The other accommodations are spacious studio style, but roomy and light and comfortable. All rooms are quiet and safe.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jozibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you Jozibel for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster . We felt so privileged to be able to host you all for your Dad's 90th birthday. We loved being on the periphery of all the excitement and sharing in the surprise of the piper playing Harry into breakfast to Scotland the Brave. The general air of celebration was just wonderful. What a milestone. And we are so happy that it all went so well and was such a success. I love your photo of the wine and snacks in the breakfast patio.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next celebration of your Mum's 80th birthday.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Liz at Lancaster guesthouse really takes your mind off the buzz of the city. I stayed at the earthroom and oh my, it was so clean and had everything I could conveniently need! The gardens just took my breath away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0ngiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear BongiM,
We are so pleased that we made your stay in Joburg so pleasant. After the peace and quiet of Kuruman it is a great compliment that you found staying at Liz at Lancaster so tranquil. Currently we have a guest staying from Newcastle, a small town in Kwazulu Natal, and she too has commented what a little oasis of calm and quiet it is here, yet still right in the middle of the urban setting. After our first really good rain of the season the garden is looking even more lush than when you were here. We hope that we will see you again when you are next in Joburg.
All the best from us all at Liz at Lancaster: Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved our stay at Liz at Lancaster. Conveniently located with easy access to everything we needed, while being generously decorated and equipped in a way that makes it feel like home - we really did feel like we were coming home when we returned for just one night a week after our first visit. Whether for a business trip or a stop over in Johannesburg, this would be our first choice of accommodation on our return.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms on our two visits - both were excellent
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipsW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thanks Pips for your feedback on your stays here at Liz at Lancaster. It was good to welcome you back again and to meet your husband. Myself and all the staff at Liz at Lancaster really value our ongoing relationships that we build with repeat guests over the years. Thank you for your ongoing loyalty. I hope that the rest of your travels through the Free State and to Clarence went well and you had a great time tracing roots!
All the best from us all until next time - Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews