We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$376
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
361
23
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
23
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearth roomthe blue roomcraighall parkgarden cottagebreakfast patiosouth africahomemade rusksguest houseprivate patiowell equipped kitchenetteevery morninghome away from homeself cateringattention to detailunderfloor heatingelectric blanketsfresh fruit salad
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Liz is a perfectionist. Her goal is to ensure all her guests have the most enjoyable stay ever. We stayed in the "Earth Room" with private gated courtyard. Absolutely nothing is overlooked. I guarantee that if you need something, it will be in your room somewhere. The food was beautiful and the grounds are filled with spectacular gardens and plants and a pool. We only had a short stay but were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed our time there. Liz is also a font of local knowledge and can assist with directions and ideas on how to get around or what to see & do. I f there were more places like this, it would make travelling so much more stress free. To top it off, Liz is a lovely person as well. Great job Liz.


Pros: Clean, comfortable, complete, safe. Good food.
Cons: Nothing

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Wow Graeme T. thank you for all that positive feedback. I have tried as much as possible here at Liz at Lancaster to do things as I would like when I travel - comfy beds and quiet rooms an essential; own private outdoor space; clean goes without saying; unobtrusive but caring personal service; providing all those small conveniences like the correct plugs, real coffee, good reading lamps, a sewing kit if necessary, etc.; 'in the know' local information; and yes I am a perfectionist! But the backbone of the business is the staff- Catherine, Zac and Thandie are as concerned as I am about guests' needs and this is what makes the guesthouse what it is. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and are only so sorry that it was so short. All the best from us all here at Liz at Lancaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I, with our 21-year old son, spent a weekend with Liz at Lancaster. We stayed in the Coral Room and our every need was met. Just to understand the level of commitment, Liz had emailed me to let me know that she would be away the weekend of our stay but had arranged for Lindsay to welcome us. Lindsay is a former Bed & Breakfast owner who was very professional in every way. She and Catherine were so very kind in making us feel "at home". Liz's guesthouse is absolutely beautiful and the rooms all appear to be very private with their own patios/gardens. Upon our arrival, the kitchen was stocked with many beverages and snacks. Liz has put together an amazing notebook to answer any question you could possible have about the area, restaurants, places to go, travel needs, etc. The breakfasts were prepared by Catherine upon our request, freshly made and beautifully presented in a lovely breakfast room. Our beds were wonderful and the room very quiet. We heard no one but the birds chirping in the early morning! The bathroom was a very good size with a great hot shower and lovely body wash supplies. As others have mentioned, Zac is available to drive you, which took the pressure off of us for getting to the airport on time on our last day. I highly recommend Liz at Lancaster and wish we could have stayed longer. It is truly as represented on her website, and all the excellent reviews she gets are well deserved. If I ever am back in Johannesburg, I will stay with Liz again! Thank you for such a lovely weekend. It was a great way to end our 2-week travels in South Africa.

Room Tip: Since we were 3 adults traveling together, we stayed in the Coral Room which is a studio flatlet. It was a perfect accommodation with a queen bed and a fold out queen sofa. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tramd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

What comprehensive and positive feedback about your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. I was really sorry to have missed meeting you while I was away, but am so delighted that Lindsay stepped into my shoes and ran everything so well and that you had a great stay. Catherine was very pleased to get your feedback on her service. We get so many comments about her caring, efficient yet unobtrusive service. We too are sorry that you did not stay longer in Joburg - there is so much to see and do in and guests so often say at the end of their stay that they wished they had had longer here. Thank you tramD5 for your detailed feedback - it is always so important for us to get feedback both on what we are doing right as well as those things that need attention or rethinking.
All the best from all at Liz at Lancaster - Lindsay, Catherine, Zac, Thandie and last but not least Liz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have been staying chez Liz for years and stand by my previous review, a whole-hearted endorsement. This year I would like to add mention of a remarkable kindness. Liz actually took the trouble to research outdoor restaurants open in the Gauteng area during the holidays that have playgrounds attached to them. There were not many, but she found them and so we were able to ensure that everyone was happy: two adults and one small child were able to bring in the new year with a certain amount of joy, appropriate to our respective needs. Bravo, Liz!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Just as you enjoy returning to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, so we enjoy it when familiar faces keep returning. So thank you Boston Pilgrim for being such a loyal guest and we are only too delighted that we found somewhere for you to go with a little person needing to be entertained and kept busy. Although with Johannesburg emptying over the Christmas and New Year holiday period, it means that many places take the opportunity to close and have their break, it has its upsides as you can get into places easily. So I was pleased that we found somewhere suitable that was open for business and enabled you and your friend to spend some time together. Thank you once again for coming back to stay, and for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your repeat experience of our service here at Liz at Lancaster. We look forward to seeing you when you are next this way again.
From us all at Liz at Lancaster : Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

First stayed with Liz at Lancaster about seven years ago, and when we decided to visit Joburg again there was no question of where we would stay.
Liz at Lancaster Guest House is an absolute gem! The accommodation is bright, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We spent our two week holiday in a studio flatlet, very comfortable, well equipped and spacious, it was a 'home from home' not a 'hotel room'. Breakfast every morning was a delight, freshly prepared fruit followed by a breakfast of your choice cooked to order (and very well cooked too), in fact whatever your breakfast preference, Liz and her staff would ensure you were catered for.
I have to mention Zac whose services we made use of most days, driving us to various places of interest, sometimes long distances, but always with a smile and nothing was ever too much trouble,and an excellent driver. Thandi, Catherine and Rose who also work for Liz, friendly, hardworking and always cheerful - thank for your services too.
Liz, a mine of information on where to go, what to do, a great help when it came to organising everything we wanted to do into two weeks, her advice is invaluable.
I could write for ever but still not convey how wonderful Liz at Lancaster is. All I can say is stay there and find out for yourself - I can guarantee you will not be disappointed.
To Liz and her staff, thank you for making our holiday so amazing - we will be back. xx

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Cathy,
We were so delighted to read your glowing feedback on your stay here at Liz at Lancaster. As much as you both enjoyed staying here we enjoyed hosting you again. We're so pleased that all your wonderful excursions worked so well - both those with Zac as well of course as your memorable Pilanesberg experience. You certainly had an exciting time and made the most of your two weeks here in Joburg. It was just too bad that you hit the worst two weeks of weather in many years when there was such unpecedented rainfall. But it didn't seem to let it deter you from doing lots of exciting things and exploring Joburg and surrounds and all there is on offer. Zac, Catherine, Thandi and Rose were delighted to get your feedback on their service and send you big smiles! Thank you once again for coming to stay and we're delighted to hear you will be back!
From Liz and us all at Liz at Lancaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Once in a while you stumble across a master of their craft. At LAL we were delightfully surprised and enjoyed every bit of our stay - from arrival to the charming room, the every detail seen to, the great breakfast, complete privacy and professionalism of the staff. And Liz you make it look so effortless. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Johan,
It is always good when we get such positive feedback from local South Africans who have travelled extensively around the country and have lots to compare to. Thank you for the feedback on our service levels - we pride ourselves on personal service which is both unobtrusive and caring. And we're delighted all the attention to detail made your stay more pleasant and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon when you are back in Johannesburg.
All the best from us all: Liz, Catherine, Zac and Thandie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews