We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 305 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Traveling alone with my 20 year old daughter first time to Africa’s Jo'burg for the first time was expected to be a bid challenging. Staying with Liz was like staying with Family. She and her staff fulfilled every need we may have to make our stay in Jo'burg comfortable. Liz's services make us comfortable to travel within the city, and sightseeing Jo'burg. We had our 5 nights stay there filled with activities everyday. Zak conveniently was available to drive us to any destination on our agenda, including restaurant, shopping, and airport transfers. Liz’s rooms and beds were comfortable like home away from home, plus her full breakfast top it all. We Love Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEDAPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2009

As final stop during my holidays in SA, we decided to stay at Liz's in johannesburg.
I think it was one of the best decisions made for our planning.

From first instant we stepped out of our car we were received by a warmth smile from Zac and Liz. Our room (Ochre room) was so cozy and impecable, big bed -so comfortable-, TV, kitchen, minibar, wireless network, pool...
From this location you have many amenities, malls, great restaurants around and sightseeing.

It was very useful to have the big binder from Liz with all type of informations, turistic, business, maps, attractions brochures, markets, etc... all was in there.. but we still had some extra questions which Caroline was very kind to answer.

Breakfast.... was delicious, and even it was not buffet, you get many options and no hunger was left.

I live in Germany and heard that Joburg is a very dangerous city, but in that area I didnt feel like that.

For sure I am coming back to Liz when visiting Joburg, and of course SA, I missed still lots of things to see...

Cheers!
Mario

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed at liz@lancaster in early september 2009 (2 stays over 5 nights) ..it is certainly a nice (and safe) place and is in a nice leafy suburb in johannesburg... The rooms are great and clean.. We did have issues with the shower but we rectified that ourselves... The staff -catherine and zac - are terriffic... The only downside to our stay was the attitude of the owner.. we found liz (the owner) to be alittle prickly and hard to deal with at times during our stay.. When you are paying good money to stay somewhere this is certainly not what the guest is looking for... and we did not appreciate this attutude at all..!! - I also gunuinely feel that liz doesnt really 'prefer' having kids stay at her guesthouse and prefers the business / couple type of guest. Maybe we just caught liz at a bad time..??
The brekky was fantastic..but the pool was to un-usable (full of leaves and so on) . Make sure you have a good look at the guest houses in jo-burg on offer here on T/A. we found others that were better... feel free to email me if you require more details..

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizatLancaster, Owner at Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2009

As the owner of Liz at Lancaster it is obviously uncomfortable for me to ‘own up’ to the one who was ‘prickly and hard to deal with’. Firstly a thank you to Kingrox for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. This is always appreciated. And yes it is a fair review, I was prickly and distant in early September. The reasons why are of no consequence as, in the hospitality industry, more so than any other industry, any personal difficulties and worries are not, and should not, in any way affect the client/guest. Re the state of the swimming pool, I have been battling with rectifying all sorts of major glitches. Over the last month I have invested in a new automatic pool cleaner and had a leaf catcher installed which required structural alteration to the pool wall and paving. It was a major problem that I was only too aware of and I think it is only finally coming right now after at least 6 weeks. (I hold thumbs.) While I could not have done more about rectifying the problem, my error was that I obviously did not explain to all guests that I was aware of it and attending to it. My apologies for that. Thank you again Kingrox for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Liz at Lancaster is truly a haven in the city, in the garden suburbs abutting upmarket Rosebank and Hydepark. The accommodation is spacious, inviting and restful. I stayed in the Earth room where I enjoyed the lovely morning sun streaming into my room, the sounds of the birds (difficult to believe one is in the heart of a big City), the breakfast patio overlooking the garden and the peace and tranquillity . What I particularly liked was the privacy and independence and yet if ever I needed anything the staff could not have been more helpful and kind. I went down the road to the Corner Cafe for supper where I had an outstanding meal and also loved the Rooftop Market where I overbought hopelessly. I loved the experience and will certainly plan to be back. All this is offered at really low rates, (probably a third of the price of a Rosebank hotel), and includes all the mod cons (like internet connection) plus gracious hosptality and a hearty breakfast.
A rare find and no-brainer!!

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
Thank caroltToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This guesthouse provides luxury beyond expectation for guesthouses. The rooms have all the facilities of a 5-star hotel. And yet Liz and her staff give such a personal service I felt that I was a guest in her home. Added to this the gardens are superb and peaceful. A real treat as I had tried often to get a booking. It's well worth while.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaGoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

I have stayed at Liz at Lancaster twice - for extended stays - and am so impressed that I will return each and every time I visit Johannesburg (annually). Liz, Zac, and the rest of the staff have created a unique and inviting space that is ideal for work, vacation, relaxation - or all of those things combined. The B&B is centrally located, and the staff is willing to help visitors get to wherever they need to go. The rooms are comfortable, beautiful, and secure - I travel alone as a single woman and feel absolutely, positively safe at Liz's. The breakfasts are divine (be sure to try one of Zac's special omelets in the morning). And the cost is incredibly reasonable. One couldnt ask for anything more. I have recommended Liz at Lancaster to all of my colleagues who travel to Johannesburg, and Ill be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtHistorianKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Liz at Lancaster - well done!! . I've stayed in dozens of guesthouses in South Africa, and none comes close to Liz's BnB. Your every whim is catered for. Its spacious, tasteful, comfortable and comes with such attention to detail!! And its so well priced for what you are getting too. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a BnB to stay in in Johannesburg. Its easy to get anywhere from Liz's. They even picked me up from the airport!!! Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewAlexander1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
810 reviews
2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
387 reviews
3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clico Boutique Hotel
Clico Boutique Hotel
#9 of 67 in Johannesburg
216 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 305 in Johannesburg
223 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
#7 of 305 in Johannesburg
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse

Address: 79 Lancaster Avenue | Craighall Park, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £61 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first guesthouses to open in the Rosebank Region some 19 years ago, Liz at Lancaster has built a strong reputation based on excellent personal service, great comfort, convenient location, seclusion and privacy. Given recognition for this in 2011 with an AA Accommodation Award for ‘People who go the extra mile’, an AA Accommodation in 2012 for 'Traveller's best value', Liz at Lancaster was also voted a finalist three years in a row in the AA 2010, 2011 & 2012 Accommodation Awards. We are included in Greenwood Guides Handpicked Accommodation. But perhaps most telling of all are our guest comments: ‘We loved the peace and privacy – we didn’t even know there were other guests here.’ ‘Craighall Park is such a central location – under 10 minutes from Rosebank and Melrose Arch and less than 15 minutes to Sandton Central. Even Parktown and Joburg Central are easily accessible – it took us 12 minutes to Wits.’ ‘Superb service and such comfortable spacious rooms’. ‘The on-site transport was a real added bonus.’ ‘Your Joburg information booklet in our room was amazingly helpful and useful.’ It is a mere 12 minute ride from O.R Tambio International Airport to the Rosebank Gautrain Station which is only 3.5 km from Liz at Lancaster. You can either pick up your rental car when you arrive at the station, or phone us for a transfer – a real added convenience. With 7 very private individual units all with separate entrances and kitchenettes offering self-catering options, Liz at Lancaster is ideal for long stays whether for business travelers or for those relocating. Rates drop for weekly and monthly stays. There are 2 standard spacious double rooms (25 & 30 m²), 3 studio flatlets (55 m²), and 2 one-bedroom cottages (80 m²) each with separate living/dining room and open plan kitchen. All lead onto their own enclosed courtyards where you can enjoy your privacy on a warm Highveld summer evening while sipping at a sundowner from your mini-bar. During our chilly Jozi winter months you will be warmly snug with under-carpet heating and electric blankets. All units have shower and bath, ample well-lit work areas/dining tables, separate sitting area, broadband WiFi connection, flat screen TVs and DSTV with own decoders (25 channels), overhead fans, convenient luxuries like hairdryers, toweling gowns, radio clock alarms, luxurious cotton percale linen, a house branded range of natural toiletries and on-the-house E-spring filtered water. Delicious breakfasts are served to order on the breakfast patio which opens out onto the garden in summer and is warmed by a roaring log fire in winter. There is ample secure off-street undercover parking. We offer a same day laundry service and on-site transport at very reasonable rates. All credit cards including Diners and American Express are accepted. Liz and two staff live on site and are always at the other end of the internal intercoms. As Liz taught Art History and Heritage at Wits University for 25 years, she keeps abreast with cultural events and has quite an extensive library. A further bonus of staying at Liz at Lancaster is the convenience of the neighbourhood shops at the end of the block: a 7-7 grocery store, a chemist, restaurant, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Liz at Lancaster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing