We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unhappy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amakoekoe Guest House
Ranked #78 of 298 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was there this weekend for a day but the guy at the reception area his not friendly at all hes too whitey i guess,so Mr Koekemoer u not good for a guest house u need to put smile on ur face we dont wanna know how long ur day were,we want to feel welcomed at all the time so please do something with this guy,he needs to change his attitude,and polish his shoes everyday when coming to work,the noise its terrible when guests come to their rooms at night its noisy they talk loud,with high heels and loud music so wasnt happy at all.and whats with all the dogs OMG i couldnt even go to eat because of the treatment so just close this guest house its expensive for nothing,i will NEVER go there again NEVER

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.
We certainly do not mind criticism as this can only help us to improve our service - which we feel is already of a very high standard - but we do mind when the criticism is of a personal or racialistic nature. The fact that the on duty person's shoes were dirty and that he was white has absolutely nothing to do with what Amakoekoe has to offer. Due to the nature of our industry, our staff do work long hours and dusty shoes are sure to follow!
Regarding guests coming into the guest house in high heels - we can hardly prescribe to our guests what type of shoes to wear so we feel this criticism is uncalled for. We do not believe that there was loud music as none of the rooms have radios or music systems. With reference to the dogs - these are two small dogs and we would certainly have removed them had you requested this. We do not understand the statement "because of the treatment" - please be more specific. Please feel free to drop us an email with specific complaints and we will happily follow up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

i spent two days at the guest house, the pros are the location with regards to close proximity to shopping areas and the breakfast was yummy. The cons are definately the dogs in the dining room while we were eating, we asked to have the dogs removed and they could not do so...i love dogs but not in the dining room. service can also be improved. a 3 star for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hlamalani_Phephenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review Amakoekoe Guest Lodge.
We are sorry to hear that there were certain things that was not to your satisfaction. It is a fact that the majority of Guests enjoy having the two doggies around - it makes them feel at home!
However, it is not possible to always please 100% of our Guests 100% of the time!
We know that our service is of the highest standard and would like for you to kindly drop us an email so that we can establish what it was that you did not enjoy about our service - this way, we can try and avoid whatever it was, in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here in a Type B room with another person. Nice place, good variety in breakfast, cordial staff. Only a small concern - the kitchen area is bit small if you plan to stay for long duration. Best rooms are those which have balcony facing the lawns... The morning sunrise is just awesome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Good afternoon and thank you for your positive review!
Unfortunately we were unable to respond sooner due to a technical problem.
In answer to your concern about the kitchen being a bit small, it is to be noted that we are not a self catering establishment and the kitchenette is there purely as a convenience to our Guests. It is not meant for creating big meals, but we are pleased that you enjoyed the rest of what we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Few of us had stayed in a 3-bed room and a 2-bed room. We also saw their 1-bed room. the 1 and 2 bed are ok for upto 2 people (prefer the 1 bed). Good verandah, beautiful lawn and good breakfast.
The 3 bed option is good only for family - not for all working people, mainly since their is just one toilet/bath. Kitchen is quite compact adjacent to the beds - that's one negative. It should have some more space for cooking/cutting etc.
Their prices are a somewhat higher for all the above.
- Prashant Karandikar

Room Tip: prefer 1-bed or 2-bed rooms - single occupancy is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrashantKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review our establishment!
The small kitchenette was added to all rooms as an added convenience to our Guests - as we are not a self catering establishment, it serves purely as a space where you can prepare a pre-cooked meal which can be warmed in the Microwave oven provided or have tea/coffee.
While the single sleepers are preferable to most, the 2/3 sleepers serve as a cost cutting arrangement - especially where big groups are involved. Thanks again! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed in this guest lodge for 2 days and I would definitely go back! Firstly, Estelle was terrific with making the arrangements. I was then picked up from the airport by the driver they had organised and even though my flight landed early, he was there waiting for me!

The guest lodge itself is very nice. I had a terrific room, with it's own little balcony! (It seemed to me like most rooms had this, although I'm not sure!) Entry is via your fingerprint, which is great if you don't want to carry a key/card with you all the time.

Breakfast is fantastic! I had to leave early but made it back by just after 9am, but they were still happy to serve me breakfast even though breakfast hours are actually only until 9am. The next morning, because I had to check out early, they made me a very nice breakfast pack to take along! Supper in the evenings were great as well!

I would go back to Amakoekoe in a heartbeat. If not for everything I just mentioned, then definitely for the cute doggies who greet you each time you walk into the reception area!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilizeBurger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

welcoming , excellent staff who cannot do enough to make your stay simply the best.down they even went out and bought english breakfast tea especially !!!!! (a special touch you dont get everywhere).
excellent staff, good at giving directions, and explaining things to you.
excellent comfortable accomodation. king size bigger than average bed extremely comfortable
cleanliness extremely good
breakfast from fresh fruit to fullcooked egg bacon sausage tomatoe mushrooms, omlettes with anything you would lie in them, scrambled poacheed or boiled eggs to your liking toast cereal yoghurt etc.just an idea of what is offered.
will be going back---- best guesthouse we have ever stayed at .
thankyou fior making our 2 week holiday most enjoyable

Room Tip: luxery accomadation with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank japmax147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

what a fantastic place to stay the staff are very professional and friendly the food was very good we had evening meals there most nights the rooms were very clean and comfortable the staff went out of therway to help in anyway they could i will be going back again we had a late flight and they lett us stay on in the room untill we were ready to leave and sercurity was very good keyless room entry ,using fingerprints to gain entry to your roomwhat can i say a fantastic experiance

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
11.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 66 in Johannesburg
347 reviews
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
11.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#25 of 66 in Johannesburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#35 of 66 in Johannesburg
21 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
783 reviews
9.4 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#27 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakoekoe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakoekoe Guest House

Address: Apple Street | Honeydew, Johannesburg 2040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £46 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amakoekoe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakoekoe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing