We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Amakoekoe Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amakoekoe Guest House
Ranked #92 of 295 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed overnight in a standard room. The size of the room was adequate, with a kitchenette which was useful. The breakfast was very nice with cereals, fruit etc. buffet style and a freshly cooked hot meal of your choice from a menu. Staff were friendly. The traffic noise was ok at night, but early morning was a bit noisy. I will definitely stay here again, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesburgPommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
8
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week for business as staff was very friendly. Great breakfast and the artistic touches by the owners was nice. Close to a major road, noise is not too bad. Clean, would come back again. The owners wife has a shop selling some of her designs. Nice touch and good security. Internet could be better, however this is a South African issue and not the hotels.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis Trichardt, Limpopo, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very good accommodation in the center of a large city. It is really neat, clean and fantastic staff. Good value for money all round.
near to all the business i had to to and easily accessible. good security control.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here en route to Madikwe game reserve and although quite close to a major road the noise was not an issue overnight. The room had a small kitchenette which was useful and overall the accommodation was very good. Staff were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Food was good with an excellent choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg,North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was there this weekend for a day but the guy at the reception area his not friendly at all hes too whitey i guess,so Mr Koekemoer u not good for a guest house u need to put smile on ur face we dont wanna know how long ur day were,we want to feel welcomed at all the time so please do something with this guy,he needs to change his attitude,and polish his shoes everyday when coming to work,the noise its terrible when guests come to their rooms at night its noisy they talk loud,with high heels and loud music so wasnt happy at all.and whats with all the dogs OMG i couldnt even go to eat because of the treatment so just close this guest house its expensive for nothing,i will NEVER go there again NEVER

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment.
We certainly do not mind criticism as this can only help us to improve our service - which we feel is already of a very high standard - but we do mind when the criticism is of a personal or racialistic nature. The fact that the on duty person's shoes were dirty and that he was white has absolutely nothing to do with what Amakoekoe has to offer. Due to the nature of our industry, our staff do work long hours and dusty shoes are sure to follow!
Regarding guests coming into the guest house in high heels - we can hardly prescribe to our guests what type of shoes to wear so we feel this criticism is uncalled for. We do not believe that there was loud music as none of the rooms have radios or music systems. With reference to the dogs - these are two small dogs and we would certainly have removed them had you requested this. We do not understand the statement "because of the treatment" - please be more specific. Please feel free to drop us an email with specific complaints and we will happily follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

i spent two days at the guest house, the pros are the location with regards to close proximity to shopping areas and the breakfast was yummy. The cons are definately the dogs in the dining room while we were eating, we asked to have the dogs removed and they could not do so...i love dogs but not in the dining room. service can also be improved. a 3 star for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlamalani_Phephenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review Amakoekoe Guest Lodge.
We are sorry to hear that there were certain things that was not to your satisfaction. It is a fact that the majority of Guests enjoy having the two doggies around - it makes them feel at home!
However, it is not possible to always please 100% of our Guests 100% of the time!
We know that our service is of the highest standard and would like for you to kindly drop us an email so that we can establish what it was that you did not enjoy about our service - this way, we can try and avoid whatever it was, in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here in a Type B room with another person. Nice place, good variety in breakfast, cordial staff. Only a small concern - the kitchen area is bit small if you plan to stay for long duration. Best rooms are those which have balcony facing the lawns... The morning sunrise is just awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ubtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amakoekoe, Front Office Manager at Amakoekoe Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your positive review!
Unfortunately we were unable to respond sooner due to a technical problem.
In answer to your concern about the kitchen being a bit small, it is to be noted that we are not a self catering establishment and the kitchenette is there purely as a convenience to our Guests. It is not meant for creating big meals, but we are pleased that you enjoyed the rest of what we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johannesburg
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Whara-Whara Guesthouse
#9 of 55 in Randburg
12 reviews
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
11.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 68 in Johannesburg
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
727 reviews
17.0 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#47 of 68 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
8.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakoekoe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakoekoe Guest House

Property: Amakoekoe Guest House
Address: Apple Street | Honeydew, Johannesburg 2040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 295 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amakoekoe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakoekoe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing