We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amakoekoe Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Shumba Valley Lodge(Johannesburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benvenuto(Randburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra on Main(Randburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
13
14
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
14
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest randstay there againone nightbalcony100mbguesthousemicrowavevenuesecurity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Whats happening with Amakoekoe? The only good aspect about it, and what keeps me going back to them - is the excellent staff.

The owners need to look at improving lumpy bed and smelly rooms. The telephone was not working due to lightning strikes, the water features were full of smelly, stagnant water. This place needs an upgrade so the infrastructure can meet he excellence of the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed for 1 night to attend a dave Matthews band concert at the near by coca cola dome.these guys couldn't do enough for you,they arranged airport transfers and transfers to and from the gig.everybody I met was friendly and helpful.which was great as being from Scotland I was a little bit outside of my comfort zone.
great place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbell p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I spent a weekend at Amakoekoe Guest house. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful-from the security guard to the 3 gentlemen in reception to the amazing chef. My boyfriend proposed to me at Amakoekoe and the staff went out of their way to make it perfect!! The service you receive is amazing! And the guesthouse is beautifully designed. This is a must stay!! We will definately be returning to this gorgeous place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FayeJones0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed overnight in a standard room. The size of the room was adequate, with a kitchenette which was useful. The breakfast was very nice with cereals, fruit etc. buffet style and a freshly cooked hot meal of your choice from a menu. Staff were friendly. The traffic noise was ok at night, but early morning was a bit noisy. I will definitely stay here again, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannesburgPommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed a week for business as staff was very friendly. Great breakfast and the artistic touches by the owners was nice. Close to a major road, noise is not too bad. Clean, would come back again. The owners wife has a shop selling some of her designs. Nice touch and good security. Internet could be better, however this is a South African issue and not the hotels.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews