We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amakoekoe Guest House
Ranked #133 of 301 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Amakoekoe takes great care to provide a superb experience. The owners are caring and willing to make your stay a memerable one. Great care is taken on the details. The staff are well trained and welcoming

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Besides the fact that I paid the full amount charged before I left Cape Town, instructing my bank to send proof of payment to recipient, I was given an account o n my last day for R3460.00. After I kicked up a row the amount owed w as dropped to R132.00, which was correct,as I had two guests for breakfast once.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Johannes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Whats happening with Amakoekoe? The only good aspect about it, and what keeps me going back to them - is the excellent staff.

The owners need to look at improving lumpy bed and smelly rooms. The telephone was not working due to lightning strikes, the water features were full of smelly, stagnant water. This place needs an upgrade so the infrastructure can meet he excellence of the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed for 1 night to attend a dave Matthews band concert at the near by coca cola dome.these guys couldn't do enough for you,they arranged airport transfers and transfers to and from the gig.everybody I met was friendly and helpful.which was great as being from Scotland I was a little bit outside of my comfort zone.
great place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campbell p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I spent a weekend at Amakoekoe Guest house. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful-from the security guard to the 3 gentlemen in reception to the amazing chef. My boyfriend proposed to me at Amakoekoe and the staff went out of their way to make it perfect!! The service you receive is amazing! And the guesthouse is beautifully designed. This is a must stay!! We will definately be returning to this gorgeous place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FayeJones0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed overnight in a standard room. The size of the room was adequate, with a kitchenette which was useful. The breakfast was very nice with cereals, fruit etc. buffet style and a freshly cooked hot meal of your choice from a menu. Staff were friendly. The traffic noise was ok at night, but early morning was a bit noisy. I will definitely stay here again, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannesburgPommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed a week for business as staff was very friendly. Great breakfast and the artistic touches by the owners was nice. Close to a major road, noise is not too bad. Clean, would come back again. The owners wife has a shop selling some of her designs. Nice touch and good security. Internet could be better, however this is a South African issue and not the hotels.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
8.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
11.5 mi away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#11 of 67 in Johannesburg
349 reviews
13.4 mi away
No photo provided
Guesthouse Macauly
#161 of 301 in Johannesburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Marathon Lodge
Marathon Lodge
#54 of 124 in Johannesburg
4 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
448 reviews
11.5 mi away
AirportInn & Suites Isando
AirportInn & Suites Isando
#34 of 67 in Johannesburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakoekoe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakoekoe Guest House

Address: Apple Street | Honeydew, Johannesburg 2040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range: £50 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amakoekoe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakoekoe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing