We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time at the Peech” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Second time at the Peech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We came back again - the hotel is clean and more minimalist in design than the similar range The Residence, a lot more restful on the eye and we'd probably stay here again instead. The grounds are extensive and you walk along a path through a garden to get to your room which gives a lovely sense of peaceful space which Jo'burg doesn't always offer...

The bistro is nice, the staff are pleasant - as we noticed last time, there is a slight pressure on you to tip (last time we had two porters carrying our (very light) bags which was unecssary; the breakfast is included in the room rate, but they still print you off a slip, presumably so you can tip the watier which is fine but a bit unusual, particualrly when it's a buffet so you're getting your food yourself and most places just take your room number if you don't have to pay for breakfast). We understand it's more common in SA to tip than at home but we've been to the country a number of times and this is definitely the hotel we've noticed it the most.

We haven't ever used the pool area as it was chilly but looks very nice. It's in a good spot and you can walk to Melrose Arch Mall, and after a while in JHB you do feel like walking! A nice hotel in a nice area and the staff at the front desk were helful in arranging tours and transfers and we'd happily recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Johannesburg. Also do a tour with Kearan from Queenie Tours, he's an interesting guy!

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the upstaird Garden Rooms, they're really lovely and you get your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunswick_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have noted your comment about tipping and will address it promptly. We believe that tipping, whilst common in South Africa, should really be for exceptional service and not everyday tasks and I think we let you down there. I will be on the case to correct this! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    105
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
93
280
38
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We loved our stay at the Peech hotel. We stayed as a quick one night layover after our flight from Atlanta to Johannesburg. We left the next morning for another flight to a game reserve near the Kruger so it was a brief stop. The rooms were very large, the staff were extremely pleasant, and the food at dinner and breakfast was amazing! The beds were also very comfortable. The heated towel rods in the bathroom was a big hit for the wife. The only problem we had was that the hotel is near the Melrose Arch area so its a bit of a drive from the airport if you have an early connection the next day but for us, it was worth the extra time to get there. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed five days during the business trip to Johannesburg.

Hotel is very clean. Located at the safe and convenient location.

Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel provides inexpensive taxi. Taxi charge cab be included in the hotel bill.

Don't forget to visit the Office bar in the Greenside area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycrobusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to having you to stay again. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Peech after arriving in Johannesburg at that start of a South African holiday. The hotel is stylish and comfortable; the staff friendly and helpful; and the food is excellent. The hotel is a safe bet for anyone wanting a small hotel that's just a little bit different.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them on to the team. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I have been in the Peech hotel during our last day of our African Honey Moon. The hotel is very nice, cozy and stylish but the must is the hotel restaurant without doubt the best meal of our 2 weeks honey moon! we had dinner there and I wish been there more days to try other dishes from the menu...! great job chef!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgataHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you for your review. Our chefs will be delighted to hear that you appreciated their food! Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in the Peech. We only have superlative compliments for the Peech. No advance payment was required by the boutique hotel. The receptionists and staff are very responsive, accommodating and assisting. They kept our luggage while we were in Kruger and booked all our transport needs. The location is ideal and close to dining areas such as Rosebank, Parktown, etc. and neighbor to a gym complex. The in-house food also surpassed our expectations. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Loved the electric blankets. My tiny complain is that ducks roused us from sleep early in the morning. Over-all, the facilities and service merit good value. We definitely recommend this to visitors looking for an accommodation in South Africa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manjoperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. The 'ducks' are actually 'hadidas', a type of ibis, and they can be noisy at certain times of the year! Apologies. They are native to Joburg and protected but at least do help keep our garden free of snails etc. Kind regards, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have stayed four night here. I've been looked after very well. The surroundings, rooms, food, service is first class in a great setting. Away from the glitzy hotel environment. I loved it and will be saving for the next trip.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balconies for the sun lovers....of the winter sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, James Peech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.9 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Property: The Peech Hotel
Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing