We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Peech Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Genesis All-Suite Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$101
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$377
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$164
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$211
US$205
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$251
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Mi Pi CHi(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thaba Eco Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$193
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reef Hotel(Johannesburg)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
467
122
17
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
122
17
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelmelrose archwanderers cricketresident catgarden roomgreat boutiquean oasismain buildingsmall hotelsmall poollong flightstayed for one nightrooms are largeapartheid museumsouthern africatravel agentwonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I spent one night here - and wish it had been longer. This is a wonderful haven, run really well, with good helpful staff and beautifully appointed rooms. Everything about this little haven is delightful and restful. The only down side is that the metal stairway to the room above us was noisy and the person was up and down the stairs late at night and very early in the morning. The meals were delicious and the choice was really good. It is very obvious that there is a lot of love and care that is put into running this Hotel. We were sorry that we could not have had a couple of extra days to enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meredith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words - I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us... I am also interested to hear about the stairs - we've been searching for a while now for a product that will soften foot noise on them but will re-double our efforts! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We came back again - the hotel is clean and more minimalist in design than the similar range The Residence, a lot more restful on the eye and we'd probably stay here again instead. The grounds are extensive and you walk along a path through a garden to get to your room which gives a lovely sense of peaceful space which Jo'burg doesn't always offer...

The bistro is nice, the staff are pleasant - as we noticed last time, there is a slight pressure on you to tip (last time we had two porters carrying our (very light) bags which was unecssary; the breakfast is included in the room rate, but they still print you off a slip, presumably so you can tip the watier which is fine but a bit unusual, particualrly when it's a buffet so you're getting your food yourself and most places just take your room number if you don't have to pay for breakfast). We understand it's more common in SA to tip than at home but we've been to the country a number of times and this is definitely the hotel we've noticed it the most.

We haven't ever used the pool area as it was chilly but looks very nice. It's in a good spot and you can walk to Melrose Arch Mall, and after a while in JHB you do feel like walking! A nice hotel in a nice area and the staff at the front desk were helful in arranging tours and transfers and we'd happily recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Johannesburg. Also do a tour with Kearan from Queenie Tours, he's an interesting guy!

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the upstaird Garden Rooms, they're really lovely and you get your own balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunswick_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I have noted your comment about tipping and will address it promptly. We believe that tipping, whilst common in South Africa, should really be for exceptional service and not everyday tasks and I think we let you down there. I will be on the case to correct this! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We loved our stay at the Peech hotel. We stayed as a quick one night layover after our flight from Atlanta to Johannesburg. We left the next morning for another flight to a game reserve near the Kruger so it was a brief stop. The rooms were very large, the staff were extremely pleasant, and the food at dinner and breakfast was amazing! The beds were also very comfortable. The heated towel rods in the bathroom was a big hit for the wife. The only problem we had was that the hotel is near the Melrose Arch area so its a bit of a drive from the airport if you have an early connection the next day but for us, it was worth the extra time to get there. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the review! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed five days during the business trip to Johannesburg.

Hotel is very clean. Located at the safe and convenient location.

Staff is very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel provides inexpensive taxi. Taxi charge cab be included in the hotel bill.

Don't forget to visit the Office bar in the Greenside area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycrobusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and we look forward to having you to stay again. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Peech after arriving in Johannesburg at that start of a South African holiday. The hotel is stylish and comfortable; the staff friendly and helpful; and the food is excellent. The hotel is a safe bet for anyone wanting a small hotel that's just a little bit different.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank CumbriaTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass them on to the team. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews