We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever.”
Review of The Peech Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peech Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just spent two night, on my way back to America. Lovely people made my stay really nice. Great location, I felt safe and was very pleased with the excellent service. Property is clean and well landscaped. I loved the heated towels and beds. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roimasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted you rated us so highly! Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Looking for somewhere that's small, quiet and safe that is also big on service and with great facilities, then the Peech Hotel is just what you need. From the warm welcome to excellent ongoing service this boutique hotel is definitely on our recommend list

Room Tip: If stairs, only one floor, are aproblem request a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennyray09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review which I'll be sure to pass on to the team. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A lovely boutique hotel set in a lush garden and each ground floor room has its own small courtyard. The rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable with a good size ensuite bathroom. It may not be 5 star but it was very quiet and felt like a home away from home. I can not speak highly enough about the staff, every member was smiling and welcoming and could not do enough for us. The hotel was very close to a park with a playground and it was nice to be able to go for a walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulsa60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I will be sure to share it with all our staff here. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent one night at the Peech Hotel. Very clean room. Terrific boutique hotel in very safe area of Johannesburg. Really cute and clean. Food was great. The staff was very nice. Reasonably close to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hank369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stay here if you don't mind: (1) having to drag your own luggage outdoors through a downpour and upstairs to your second-story room; (2) having to teach the bartender to make a Martini; (3) not getting your laundry back on time; (4) hideously slow internet connection; (5) a wall-mounted TV screen so far from the bed that you need binoculars and hearing aids to view and hear it; and (6) a coldly modern interior decor that utterly (and absurdly) contradicts the property's historical origins.

Room Tip: Make it as close to the lobby as possible. Or pack rain gear and a big umbrella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

I am deeply saddened to read your review and hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. My team and I have been through your comments in detail and clearly we have much to learn from. If we have identified your booking correctly, you were part of a group of six rooms checking in together from N America & I'd like to respond to your comments in detail. 1) as a small hotel check-ins of large groups can sometimes mean your luggage later to your room (if our staff are assisting other guests and especially if its raining as this slows us down). Security is good at the hotel and the fact that your luggage was at reception means we were planning to get it to your room shortly. 2) and 3) both issues we need to learn from and do additional training on - my apologies to you as we fell short here and are going to re-train cocktail making. 4) internet in South Africa can be erratic and I know we've had problems in the last two weeks. We do have a dedicated fibre line coming to the hotel in the coming month but until then our hands are tied to using the state provided tadsl phone lines. 5) and 6) I am sorry that you did not like the design of the rooms. In the ten years of operation we've not had another comment or complaint of this sort but I respect your different viewpoint on our design and sorry that you did not like it. We will endeavour to improve and learn from your comments and I am sorry that The Peech did not live up to your expectations. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed at the Peech Hotel for one night in March 2014. The Peech Hotel in my opinion is one of the premier hotels in Johannesburg. One can stay at other hotels in the Sandton/Rosebank area like the Radisson, Hyatt or Hilton, but what distinguishes the Peech Hotel from these hotel chains is its tranquillity and boutique feel. The Peech Hotel is very quiet. It's like a home away from home. The rooms overlook a beautiful garden and the swimming pool. The staff are very friendly. And I have to commend the breakfast which is included in the room rate. The breakfast consists of fresh fruit, cereals, muffins, croissants, fruit juice, tea and coffee, followed by the hot breakfast menu, where one can order omelettes, a full English breakfast, etc (which is not an additional extra and is included in your accommodation - great value!). I would recommend the Peech Hotel to any traveller spending a few nights in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7. It was a great room. Clean, neat and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weelz1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed us and will be sure to pass your comments on to everyone here. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

we had two good nights here the staff very helpfull arranged a half day tour of jo burg and sowetto the driver Kieran was very knowledgeable we enjoyed it We had an evening meal here on our first night as we were tired from travelling the food was not the best we left most of it

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Owner at The Peech Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you had a good stay. I will also look into the meal you had on your first night. Kind regards, James Peech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Johannesburg
766 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
1.2 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 66 in Johannesburg
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.3 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 66 in Johannesburg
624 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 66 in Johannesburg
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peech Hotel

Address: 61 North Street | Melrose, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range: £143 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the suburb of Melrose, a short stroll from the hustle and bustle of the city, The Peech is an eco-chic boutique hotel with sixteen bedrooms spread across a lush garden and a bistro restaurant. The hotel blends an awareness for the environment and the community with chic surroundings, fresh food and smart design. It has been described as "Contemporary, edgy and Afrocentric" by Conde Nast Traveller and nominated as South Africa's Leading Boutique Hotel for the last five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Peech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peech Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing